seven deadly sins n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
Seven Deadly Sins PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
Seven Deadly Sins

Seven Deadly Sins

222 Views Download Presentation
Download Presentation

Seven Deadly Sins

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. Seven Deadly Sins

  2. Self-Destructive Behaviors • A "sin" in the context of Thomas of Aquinas, can be defined as "something human beings do which causes them to be unreasonable and unhappy." • Another way to define "sin" is Sin is an offense against reason, truth, and right conscience; it is failure in genuine love for God and neighbor caused by a perverse attachment to certain goods. It wounds the nature of man and injures human solidarity. It has been defined as "an utterance, a deed, or a desire contrary to the eternal law."

  3. The Seven Deadly Sins A painting by Hieronymus Bosch • c.1485 (50 Kb); Prado, Madrid • depicts scenes of worldly transgressions • The circular layout with god in the center represents gods all seeing eye - No sin goes unnoticed. • In the corners of the image appear the "Four Last Things" mentioned in late medieval spiritual handbooks: Deathbed, the Last Judgment, Heaven, and Hell, all of which are favorite themes of separate Bosch panels. (The next slide is a clearer picture of Bosch’s famous work.)

  4. Pope Gregory the Great •  Pope Gregory the Great revived the idea of "The Seven Deadly Sins" in the sixth century. • He listed the spiritual offenses with Pride being the first and gravest of the seven because it can lead to the other six. • The seven deadly sins are usually committed against one's self and can destroy a person's physical and spiritual health.

  5. Capital Vices During the 13th century, the Roman Catholic Church incorporated these sins into its teaching. The church called them "capital vices" that can lead to sin. Literature such as Geoffrey Chaucer's "Canterbury Tales" and various paintings have illustrated the seven deadly sins.

  6. PRIDE/Vanity(a desire to be important or attractive to others) • A person thinks he/she already "knows it all" and "has it all". • Pride is a sin when it is in excess because it prevents one from growing and evolving, and from accepting oneself and others fairly and realistically.

  7. In Greek mythology, Narcissus was an extremely beautiful young man who was obsessed with his own beauty. When he saw his face in the water, he fell in love with it and could not stop looking at the reflection. He gradually turned into a flower, now commonly known as Narcissus. Vanity:the Narcissus myth

  8. Vanity:the Narcissus myth • In another version of the myth, Narcissus drowns after trying to kiss his own reflection. • Narcissismis a term meaning “excessive self love.”

  9. 2. GREED/AVARICE(a desire to possess more than one has need or use for.) • One allows material items control his/her sense of contentment. • People under the influence of greed want more and more and are never satisfied.

  10. 3. ENVY (resentment of others for their possessions; jealous competitiveness.) • Those suffering from envy wish they were someone else because of the qualities and/or possessions a person has. • Instead of honoring what they do have, they dishonor the gift of life they were given by being dissatisfied with it.

  11. One becomes angry at someone or something to the point that one loses control over actions and words. rage, fury, ire, wrath, resentment, indignation, offense, rant, temper, seethe, livid, annoyance, antagonism, rile… 4. ANGER (Uncontrollable feelings of resentment, revenge or even denial, it is also known as Wrath.) “Anger and intolerance are the twin enemies of correct understanding.” --Mahatma Gandhi

  12. 5. Lust Sexual desires that disrespect the dignity of self and others • Sufferers of lust may have a strong sexual attraction towards a person and can't get him/her out of their minds.

  13. 6.GLUTTONY eating for pleasure; overindulgence in food, drink or intoxicants • Instead of being satisfied with what one has, he/she wants more, more, more. • The chief error about Gluttony is to think it only pertains to food. Some people can't have enough toys, television, entertainment, sex, or company. • It is about an excess of anything.

  14. 7. SLOTH (laziness or idleness) • Slothful people occasionally do something, but they only do it haphazardly -- only enough to get it done. • Instead of giving life their best, they give much less than their best.

  15. “True happiness is not found in riches or wellbeing, in human fame or power, or in any human achievement—however beneficial it may be—such as science, technology, and art, or indeed in any creature, but in God alone, the source of every good and of all love” - Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1723 -

  16. Seven Deadly Sins End of presentation