seven deadly sins n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
Seven Deadly Sins PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
Seven Deadly Sins

Seven Deadly Sins

997 Views Download Presentation
Download Presentation

Seven Deadly Sins

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. Seven Deadly Sins

  2. The 7 deadly sins are the most objectionable vices (evil, degrading, and/or immoral habits or practices) used in early Catholic teachings.

  3. The 7 deadly sins were used to educate and instruct followers concerning fallen man's tendency to sin.

  4. The Catholic Church divides sin into two principal categories: • "venial” sins • “mortal” sins

  5. Venial sins are relatively minor sins that can be forgiven through sacraments of the church.

  6. Mortal sins can destroy a life of grace and create the threat of eternal damnation.

  7. Lust(or lechery) is excessive thoughts or desires of a sexual nature.

  8. Giving in to lust can lead to sexual or sociological compulsions and/or transgressions including sexual addiction, fornication, adultery, bestiality, rape, perversion, and incest.

  9. Gluttony is the over-indulgence and over-consumption of anything to the point of waste.

  10. Gluttony can also include an obsessive anticipation of meals and the constant eating of delicacies and excessively costly foods.

  11. Greed (or avarice), too, is a sin of excess. However, greed is applied to the acquisition of wealth.

  12. More than the other sins, the definition of sloth has changed considerably since its original inclusion among the seven deadly sins.

  13. Sloth was first called the sin of sadness or despair, the latter viewed as a refusal to enjoy the goodness of God and the world God created.

  14. The modern view of sloth is that it represents the failure to utilize one's talents and gifts.

  15. Wrath (rage) is uncontrolled feelings of hatred and anger, e.g., • denial of the truth • impatience with the law • the desire to seek revenge • wishing to do evil or harm to others

  16. In its original form, the sin of wrath also encompassed anger pointed internally rather than externally. Thus suicide was deemed as the ultimate expression of wrath directed inwardly--a final rejection of God's gifts.

  17. Envy is an insatiable desire. Those who commit envy resent that another person has something they perceive themselves as lacking, and they wish the other person to be deprived of it.

  18. Pride (vanity) is considered the original and most serious of the 7 deadly sins, and the ultimate source from which the others arise.

  19. Pride is a desire to be more important or attractive than others, failing to give compliments to others, and excessive love of self.

  20. In the story of Lucifer, pride (his desire to compete with God) caused his fall from Heaven and his transformation into Satan.

  21. “What’s Your Sin?” Google “seven deadly sins quiz.” See how you measure up today!