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Advertisement – Print, Digital & Social media

Advertisement – Print, Digital & Social media. Anjali Ashtekar. Silicon India . Digital media - 7 million viewers. = 7,000,000 page views all over the world Here are the calculations: $5 CPM = $5 is cost per 1000 impressions for ad size of Ad size is 336x280

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Advertisement – Print, Digital & Social media

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  1. Advertisement – Print, Digital & Social media Anjali Ashtekar

  2. Silicon India • Digital media - 7 million viewers. = 7,000,000 page views all over the world • Here are the calculations: $5 CPM = $5 is cost per 1000 impressions for ad size of Ad size is 336x280 • multiple appearances at blogs in technology/entrepreneurship/business to capture attention can add value • The number of unique visitors in US are 137,784 on monthly basis with 431,694 page views leading to 3 pages/visit • The number of unique visitors in California are 24,453 with 66,907 page views leading to 2.7 pages/visit on an average showing moderately good engagement • Total cost for California for a month with putting a text ad in the siliconindia daily newsletter $500 • 2 monthly advertisement inside the magazine, one full page in length – 8.5*280 size costing $0 • These will be for the months of issues coming out in the month of April and May. • The viewers for April issue can book their calenders well in advance, and get early bird discount. • The viewers in the month of May can get a reminder of Tiecon and can register for Tiecon in the last few days. So May issue will attract people who tend to push event registration last minute. • Newsletter included for the month All in exchange of booth and logo on website, access to distribute magazine at boothwith total of $500 for appearances on digital media for a month, 2 full page inside print ads and newsletter inclusion

  3. India West • Digital Media • 165,000 monthly unique visitors overall = 165,000/4.5=36,666 avg weekly unique visitors. • 85% of readership is in California- DMA is moderately targettedleading to 31,166 avg unique visitors in California • Unit Sizes: 336 *280, 468*60, 728*90, 160*600. Placements: 3-4, Unit Sz: 336 x 280; 160 x 600; 468 x 60 on main news, Sections: News – Business & Technology, Calendar/Events. Rate for all placements: $400/month. • Ad placement: In the technology section and business section, there are likely to be maximum clickthroughs • Print Media • Weekly edition • 25000 print edition weekly on Fridays, 10,000 e-editions per week • Circulation: Retail stores, grocery, Indian businesses, restaurants, libraries, religious institutions, and the people who subscribe. Idea is people read inside page in wait line • Proposal: Full page color ad: $600 for inside page. People are likely to go in for inside page • Alternative1: Full Page, B&W - $400 • Alternative2: Half Page, color - $300; Half Page, B&W - $240 Proposal: $400 full page inside ad B/W such 3 runs: $1200, and $400 for a full month of April = $1600 and in exchange of booth. Last year we spent $800 for 2 full page print ads

  4. Discover Silicon Valley • Distribution: Visitor market – Campbell, cupertino, Half Moon Bay, Los Altos, Los Gatos, Menlo Park, Milpitas, Morgan Hill, Mountain View, Palo Alto, Redwood Shores, San Jose, Santa Clara, Saratoga, Sunnyvale • Corporate Market: Adobe, EBay, Google, HP, Hitachi, Intel, Sony, Symantec, McAfee, IBM • Readership : 30k, but these readers can give maximum conversions since the DMA (designated market area) is fairly concentrated on people we want to target. • People who live a very active lifestyle and are interested in doing new things like attending events that involves innovativeness, entrepreneurship, and several other things read this magazine, so we target this market segment. Ad spending: $1500/30,000readers = 5 cents per reader. • Proposal: $1500 for front page and inside page of editorial or advertisement for May; and $575 for inside full page for April issue: all color. Designing the front cover with our art and approval at no cost. All in exchange with a booth.

  5. Mercury News – Silicon Beat - Proposed • For ad size of 300*250 = 2 or 3 inches by 2 or 3 inches ad size for a 1 week = $2,450 under silicon beat for gadgets. • For Digital mediathere are 40,million unique visitors per month i.e.10 million unique visitors per week, equivalent to 10 million impressions per week for $2450 so 0.02 cents per impression. • Rate is $60 pci. Front page - 2 inches bottom part of entire page has rate of $1500 for Sunday. We can take Sunday to gain maximum traction • For Sunday 700,000 is readership, and circulation is 300,000for San Jose Mercury News. • $1500/700,000 readers = 0.2 cents per reader. Total Cost : $2450 on digital media for a week + $1500 = $3950 Alternative: $2500 for digital media - total budget for email campaign 50,000+ emails, local sponsorship position, targeted internet and mobile display banners, and a sponsored Facebook Post before Friday Feb 28th. This package does not give convincing ROI. .

  6. Mercury News - Finalized • 225,000 Ad Taxi Audience Extension Network & Mercurynews.comfor 3 weeks- 1st week of April, 3rd week of April and 4th week of April : 300x250 & 728x90 & 160x600 : Interests: Technology; Geo: SF DMA, suggested impressions are 225,000 • SV.com: 3 weeks- same as above : Ad sizes 300x250 & 728x90 : Positioning and targeting is Run of Site , suggested impressions are 25,000 • SV.com: 1 day : 300x600 in Tech Page Fixed Position Sponsorship • Custom Email Blast : 1 Email Drop : 600px Wide : interest Targets: IT Professionals, Entrepreneurs, DEMO targets: College degree, ages 20+, GEO targets: Sf DMA : 50,000 – open rate is high • Total impressions: 300,000  CPM is $10 for total cost of $2995 but CTR is high for high open rate of emails • Total cost: $2995

  7. Silicon Valley News • Total 2013 households subscribed are 186,983 households with median household income of 97000, out of which percentage of population that is age 25+ and college grads are 56%. So the conversion rate is likely from around 90,000 households, that is impressive. • DMA (Designated Market Area) is moderately targetted • For a half page B/W advertisement, you get from second chart 28.5 points, which will be calculated by $11pci from column B of 1st chart resulting in around 300. For such two half page advertisements in the months of April and May it would be around $600. For colored add $100. So the total of $800 for two half page news once for the month of April to people who mark calenders well in advance and go for early bird discounts and for month of May for people who decide about Tiecon last minute. Here you spend $400/90,000households = 0.4 cents per household twice. • Total Cost: $800 for April and May half pg color ads on inside pages. This print media is considered high priority last year.

  8. Silicon Valley Business Journal • ¼ (one quarter) square page full page color ads for event promo purposes. Sizes:4.875*6.75”. Insertion Dates: 18thApril 14, 2nd May 14. • 30days event listings on Siliconvalleybusinessjournal.com in events section • 10 subscriptions to TiE Silicon Valley board or VIP members- names provided by 18th April 14 • 1 week of daily email update- upper text, insertion date: 14th April 2014 • Total Value: $10,858 • Total Cost: $2000 • Acknowledgement as a media sponsor – logo on all (print and digital) promotional materials of TiE noting Biz journal as a TiESV media sponsor • Booth at TiEcon and media partnership • 2 emails noting a subscription offer • Event access for 2 people to all networking events, RSVP requested • Requisite: Ad files are due Friday prior to run date – around 1st of April

  9. Los Gatos Weekly- times • Targets 80,000 readers with 40,000 in circulation but the substance covered by the newpapaer is mostly on education, business, sports and city government coverage. So I would keep advertising here as a low priority. If needs to be covered, it could be under business section, a very small ad - describing Tiecon one liner, venue since people want to see and understand proximity to location, and tracks as text. Speaker names could be optional. Hence following proposal can be taken into account. 1/6 Option black and white total: $1459 Print: 12 1/6 page ads Magazine: 1 1/4 page Image ad Digital: 2 of the following 31,250 Smartphone app impressions 35,000 Yahoo! geo 125,000 Facebook targeted impressions black and white total: $1,459 page ads* page Image ad of the following 31,250 Smartphone app impressions Yahoo! geo-targeted impressions Facebook targeted impressions Total impressions = 31,250 + 35,000 + 125,000 = 159,750 Total cost = $1459 Cost per impression = 0.91 cents ~ 1 cent per impression

  10. Santa Clara Weekly – No Cost • 40,000 of santaclarianson weekly basis, 92% of Santa Clarians. My calculation for age group 18 to 65: 80,000/1191024 = 0.06% of total target • For such a small percentage of target, advertisement of $1600 is way too expensive • Proposal: Newspaper claims to cover 92% of santaclarians, but I could not get factual data supporting the same. Did not find a specific place where we can display an advertisement that can be useful. I would suggest to go for an article about Tie Silicon valley and that can include Tiecon. Readership standpoint the user base might be good, but conversion might not be high, since it totally depends on kind of people media attracts. • It can be used to create awareness. People reading this newspaper, would like to read more about what's happening new in Tie as a part of news so editorial is more appropriate in this case as opposed to placing an advertisement.

  11. SF Gate/SF Chronicle • Schedule: 2 weeks • Ad unit: Square and Leaderboard – see sample ad units attached • Placements: FixedSQUARE or LEADERBOARD – mainBusiness page • Cross platform Squares – desktop & mobile – run of network • Impressions: 170,000 impressions all linkable to Tie URL • Total Cost: $2,000 for digital media • Analysis: $2000/170,000 RELEVANT impressions = 1.2 centsiscost per impression. And DMA isexactsame area thatwewouldlike to target. DMA isperfect, so ad dollarsspentwould be worthit. • Maximum relevant readers. Conversion rate can be maximized by placing a single 5cm by 5cm advertisement on top right corner of the front page. It can give a single liner about Tiecon. Tracks can be covered with photographs/icons, the names of speakers, and venue, and date, it can optionally have specific website address. • Print Advertisement: Ad size: 9.75” wide x 2.79” deep (full strip at the bottom of the section front page) Mon, Tue, Wed or Sat = $1500 per ad OR Thu, Fri, Sun = $2900 per ad. Frequencydiscountsapply to 4 ads or more.

  12. The Santa Clara, University of Santa Clara • No online advertisement is available at this point • As the name suggests, it moderately targets the market • Some basic information on rate: Rate is around $1500 for full page ad to business card size for $90. 10% added for color. • Proposal: 1/4 Page, since students are still likely to read it. At that age they are likely to register it and discuss among friends to create a buzz • Size 3 cols. x 8 in. • Putting numberstogether: 5.96 in. x 8 in. Whichis$500 for B/W and $550 for color ad one time appearance, I wouldreccomend to negotiatepositively for saturdays or Sundays • Total Cost: $ 550 for single appearance.

  13. India Currents • Standard rates: Full page b/w is 1080 and full page color is 1380, half page b/w is 590, half page color is 730, 1/3rd page is 450. • Discounted rates: full page color 910, b/w 714, half page color 476, half page black and white 392. 1/3rd page 294 which is only b/w • Proposal: Discounted non-profilt rates: Full page color $574, full page B&W $448 with the artwork size of 7.5” width *9.75” height. A pdf with minimum of 300 dpi should work best

  14. PA Daily Post • Subscription base : 60,000 + local readers everyday. 60,000 + local readers everyday. Total coverage area includes: Palo Alto, Atherton, Belmont, Burlingame, Hillsborough, Los Altos, Menlo Park, Mountain View, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Carlos, San Mateo, Stanford and Woodside. The heaviest distribution will be found in the Palo Alto and Menlo Park areas. • Proposal- Print Media: Quarter Page Size = 3 columns x 7.5" = 22.5 total column inches $8.5 per column inch $191.25 cost per day x 3 days= $873.75 total cost for a quarter page for 3-days which is color. $191.25/60,000 readers = 0.3 cents per reader for single appearance • Total Cost : $837.75 per day such three days

  15. Los Altos Town Crier • Circulation: Weekly circulation of 16500 • Subscription: Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Selected areas of mountain view, = These people are wealthy and are more likely to buy the tickets for the event so higher conversion. • Proposal- Print Media: 3 x 4 = width 5.875 (5-7/8) x height 4” = 12” x $16.20 = $194.40 = 12” x $14.00 x 4 Weeks = $672 ($168 ea) which leads to $672/16500 readers = 4 cents per reader for 4 weeks • Total Cost: $672 for 4 weeks

  16. Total Cost – $13,429

  17. Times of India(TBD) • Total Page views across USA : 80M • Total unique visitors across USA : 5M • Total mobile impressions across Android, iPhone, iPad, and WAP : 25M • For advertisement of 300*250 and 728*90 CPI is $5 • For advertisement of 300*600 and home page inventory CPI is $6 • Even if you target for a week, it seems way too expensive, exceeding cost of total budget.

  18. Techcrunch

  19. Techcrunch: Leaderboard on desktop

  20. Techcrunch: Leaderboard on tablet and cell phone

  21. Leaderboard Advertisement rates • 728x90 Leaderboard @ $14.50 CPM (above the fold, next to TC logo) • For $14.50 CPM, with the budget of $5000, it would lead to 0.3 Million impressions

  22. 125*125 size advertisements at bottom right

  23. Comparison of various options

  24. 125*125 advertisement Price structure • The 125x125 tile advertisement serves an estimated 20 million impressions per month. According to TechCrunch they get 12+ million unique visitors per month and 35+ million page views per month • Pricing structure: $5k / week, $9k /two weeks, $15k / month. • For the advertisement lasting for a week, it would attract approximately 35+ million page views so 35M/4.5 = 7.77 Million impressions. • So CPM is $0.64 or 64 cents125*125 • Advertisement is mainly meant for events such as ours, and for product placements. • This can be scheduled somewhere in the middle of April to gain maximum click throughs and sales conversions

  25. Total Cost – $13,429

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