road to freedom and responsibility n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
ROAD TO FREEDOM… and Responsibility PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
ROAD TO FREEDOM… and Responsibility

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 52

ROAD TO FREEDOM… and Responsibility - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

Chapter’s 1 and 2. ROAD TO FREEDOM… and Responsibility. Handing over the keys is exciting and scary. Drastic switch – from passenger in school bus or parent-driven vehicle to driver of a vehicle overnight Concerns about your child’s safety as a driver and passenger in another teen’s car.

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'ROAD TO FREEDOM… and Responsibility' - durin

Download Now An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
handing over the keys is exciting and scary
Handing over the keys is exciting and scary
  • Drastic switch – from passenger in school bus or parent-driven vehicle to driver of a vehicle overnight
  • Concerns about your child’s safety as a driver and passenger in another teen’s car

Is this how you felt when your child started driving?2010 Subaru commercial


Motor vehicle crashes are the #1 killer of teens

2009 Leading cause of death in New Jersey, ages 16-17





































Teens have the highest crash rates

Driver crash rates by age*

*per 1,000 licensed drivers


Teens have the highest crash rates

Driver crash rates per million miles traveled

A.F. Williams, Journal of Safety Research (2003)

many strategies exist to reduce crashes
Many strategies exist to reduce crashes

Driver education

Peer-to-peer programs

Vehicle decals

Parent programs

Police enforcement

BUT… Graduated Driving Licensing (GDL) is a proven prevention tool.

maximize experience minimize risk
Maximize experience, Minimize risk

New Jersey’s Graduated Driver Licensing Program

3-stage system reduces fatal crashes & saves lives

  • Stage 1 – Permit (min. age 16, requires 6hrs driver training)
    • Supervised driving minimum of 6 months
    • Practice at nighttime, in inclement weather, on all types of roads
  • Stage 2 – Probationary License (min. age 17)
  • Unsupervised driving minimum of 12 months
  • Limit of 1 passenger, off the road btwn 11 pm-5 am, no hand-held or hands-free cell phones, seat belts required for everyone
  • Stage 3 – Basic License (min. age 18)
    • No restrictions, fully licensed, but must return to MVC to obtain
gdl decal
GDL Decal

Aids with enforcement of the GDL requirements’

Not a new concept, used in many countries around the world with no negative impact on safety


Teen crashes


Some GDL

Strong GDL

GDL reduces all teen crashes by 20 – 40%

The best GDL systems save the most lives

  • Entire system includes:
  • Law components
  • Enforcement
  • Parent involvement
  • Social and community norms
  • Teens
passengers are dangerous distractions
Passengers are dangerous distractions









Crashes per 1,000 trips

Driver Age 16-17

Driver Age 18-19

Driver Age 30-59

driving at night increases risk and danger
Driving at night increases risk and danger



Fatal weekday crashes by hour, drivers aged 15-18

University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute





9 p.m. – 10 p.m.

2 a.m. – 3 a.m.

1 a.m. – 2 a.m.

3 a.m. – 4 a.m.

4 a.m. – 5 a.m.

5 a.m. – 6 a.m.

Midnight – 1 a.m.

10 p.m. – 11 p.m.

11 p.m. – midnight.

gdl focuses on first 6 12 months and 1 000 miles
GDL focuses on first 6 - 12 months and 1,000 miles

Novice drivers’ risk begins to drop with experience


Crashes per 10,000 learner/novice drivers















Months of licensure

framing the issue not just for bad kids
Framing the issue: Not just for “bad” kids
  • Strong GDL isn’t a punishment
  • Your experience with driving is minimal, whether
  • or not he/she is a “good” kid
  • Crashes aren’t restricted to “bad” kids or reckless drivers
  • Not about the teen’s personality, GPA, reaction time,
  • responsibility level

All teens are subject to the same underlying risks


Framing the issue: Public safety

Victim role in teen driver (15-17) fatal crashes

U.S., 1998-2007





graduate driver license program
  • In 2001, New Jersey sought to enhance driver preparation and safety by implementing a multi-stage driver licensing system. Known as the Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program.
why the gdl law
Why the GDL law??
  • Studies show that a young driver's risk of being involved in a car crash is highest within his/her first 12-24 months of driving.
  • An average of 6,000 teens die in car crashes nationally each year.
  • An additional 300,000 teens sustain injuries in crashes; many of those injuries are serious and often life-altering.
  • Car crashes are the leading cause of brain injury in teens.
  • By delaying full driving privileges so that teens can gain driving experience under low-risk conditions, comprehensive GDL programs can reduce these deaths and injuries by approximately 40%.
overconfidence and an it can t happen to me attitude
Overconfidence and an "it can't happen to me" attitude
  • Teens tend to overrate their own driving skills, believing that they will be able to handle risky situations. Driver error is a factor in 2/3 of fatal teen crashes.
the ultimate goal
The ultimate goal….
  • of the GDL program is to protect the lives of young drivers-and the lives of their passengers and others on the road.
graduated driver license program
Graduated Driver License program….
  • gradually introduces driving privileges to first-time drivers
  • Extends practice driving time
  • requires a minimum age of 18 in order to receive an unrestricted, basic driver license.
there are three options to complete the program
There are three options to complete the program
  • The Early Bird Road, for 16 year old drivers,
  • The Young Adult Road, for drivers 17-21
  • The Adult Road, for drivers 21 and older
who must follow the gdl law
Who must follow the GDL law?
  • All new Driver’s who are under 21 are subjected to the NJ GDL requirements:
      • Special learner's permit-16
      • Examination permit-17-21
      • Probationary (formerly Provisional) license
decals kyleigh s law
DECALS??Kyleigh’s LAW
  • All permit or probationary (formerly provisional) drivers under age 21 must display a reflectorized decal on each license plate (front/back) of any motor vehicle they operate.
gdl decal1
GDL Decal
  • ALL GDL drivers under age 21 are required to display two visible, red reflective decals, distributed through the MVC on any vehicle that they operate.
  • One decal is to be displayed on the top left corner of the rear license plate and the other on the top left corner of the front license plate.
  • The two, removable, decals are provided at the time a permit is issued for a fee of $4. Additional decals are available for $4 per pair at any MVC agency. (39:3-13 and 39:3-13.4f)
gdl driver exemptions
GDL Driver Exemptions
  • Exemptions to the hours rule for permit and provisional drivers under 21 years:
    • Proof of a need to drive during the prohibited hours for employment and/or religion.
    • motorist must carry a legible certification to indicate this need from his/her employer or religious official on the official letterhead of the business, organization or religious institution, with the signature of the certifying official and his/her name, title, address and phone number.
gdl driver exemptions1
GDL Driver Exemptions
  • If the Examination Permit or Probationary License holder is 21 years of age or older, hour and passenger restrictions do not apply
did you know
  • Teens are twice as likely to crash at night (9pm-6am) than during the day.
graduate drivers license
Graduate Drivers License
  • In addition to the decal requirement, effective May 1, 2010, New Jersey GDL drivers will also be subject to the following restrictions:May not operate a motor vehicle after 11:01 p.m. and before 5:00 a.m.
  • May not use a hand-held or hands-free interactive, wireless communication device
the early bird road
The Early Bird Road

Step 1 Get a Special Learner Permit

  • Must be at least 16 years old
  • Must pass MVC’s knowledge and vision tests
  • Must have signed parent or guardian consent
  • Must be enrolled in approved behind-the-wheel driver training course through the N.J. Department of Education or commercial driving school before permit is “Validated” for practice driving. 6 hours
  • An approved driving instructor must purchase the permit-valid for up to TWO years
  • Must pay required fee
the early bird road cont
The Early Bird Road cont.

Step 2 Practice with an Adult Supervising Driver

  • Must practice at least six months
  • Step 3 To Get a “Probationary License”
  • Must be at at least 17 and Must have completed at least six months of supervised driving without any suspensions or postponements
  • Must pass MVC’s road test
  • Must observe rules and restrictions
the early bird road1
The Early Bird Road
  • Step 5 Obtain the Basic Driver License
  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must have completed one year of
  • unsupervised driving with probationary driver license restrictions
special permit holders restrictions
Special Permit Holders Restrictions
  • Permit Phase: Eligible at 16 years old
  • Requires Supervising driver who is over 21 and licensed to drive for at least three (3) years
  • Display decals
  • Limit 1 extra passenger regardless of family affiliation unless parent/guardian is in the vehicle
  • No driving between 11:01-5am.
  • Seatbelts =all
examination permit restrictions
“Examination Permit” Restrictions
  • Requires Supervising driver who is over 21 and licensed to drive for at least three (3) years
  • Display decals
  • Limit 1 extra passenger regardless of family affiliation unless parent/guardian is in the vehicle
  • No driving between 11:01-5am.
  • Seatbelts =all
probationary license restrictions
“Probationary License” Restrictions
  • Display decals
  • Limit 1 extra passenger regardless of family affiliation unless parent/guardian is in the vehicle
  • No driving between 11:01-5am.
  • Seatbelts =all
passenger distractions
Passenger distractions…
  • By carrying just one passenger the risk for a crash increases by 50 percent.  With three or more passengers, the risk is nearly four times greater than while driving alone.
what if i don t follow gdl rules
What if I don’t follow GDL rules??
  • GDL restrictions placed upon first-time drivers must be strictly adhered to. Failure to do so may result in a fine of $100 or a possible suspension of a motorist’s driving privilege. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 and 39:3-13 through 39:13.8)
What happens if my teen driver commits a traffic offense and receives a ticket while he/she has a GDL license
  • GDL holders cannot "plea down" to "no point" offenses.
  • If a GDL holder accumulates three or more penalty points, they have to complete a driver improvement program. If they fail to complete this program, or if they accumulate additional points, it will result in suspension and postponement of their eligibility to obtain a probationary (if in the permit phase) or basic license (if in the probationary phase).
  • In addition, violations may incur legal fees and/or higher insurance rates. This can cost thousands of dollars. GDL holders must obey all traffic rules and regulations. It can save money... and their lives.
important info
  • Note: If the student driver commits a traffic offense, responsibility will be with both the student and instructor or adult supervising driver.
  • All motorists who possess a provisional driver license, whose provisional licensing period is not extended by the MVC beyond the standard 12 months, must visit an MVC agency to upgrade to a basic driver license after the end of those 12 months.
  • Motorists who fail to do so will remain subject to the provisional driver license restrictions and could be cited by law enforcement for violating the restrictions.
examination permits for nj residents
Examination permits for NJ Residents
  • Any New Jersey resident who is at least 17 years old and is not in suspension status can obtain a driver examination permit at any MVC agency.
  • The examination permit is different from a student learner permit because the applicant does not have to be a student and an instructor is not necessary
  • The MVC will validate the permit for practice driving after the applicant passes the required knowledge test and vision screening.
  • Results are valid for two years
examination permits for out of state drivers
Examination Permits for Out-of-State Drivers
  • All out-of-state drivers are required to purchase an examination permit within 60 days of becoming a permanent New Jersey resident or when his/her out-of-state license expires, whichever comes first.
  • Out-of-state drivers who are under 18 years of age and move to New Jersey are subject to this state’s GDL Program
  • Applicants may be required to pass a knowledge test, vision screening and road test.
  • Foreign drivers may use their native driver licenses as proof of driving experience if their countries are members of the United Nations Convention
non driver id
Non - Driver ID
  • An individual, 17 years of age or older, who does not possess a valid driver license may apply for a non-driver identification card

Hearing – Impaired Designation

  • A special driver license for deaf or hearing
  • impaired motorists is provided by the MVC.
nj driver road test testing
NJ Driver Road test Testing..
  • Eyesight: Basic license applicants need a 20/50
  • Written: Must receive an 80% or higher on a 50 question test
  • Out-of-State applicants between 17 and 18 years of age who possess a valid out-of-state license will be given a provisional license for a period of one year and must comply with GDL requirements and restrictions
test vehicle requirements
Test Vehicle Requirements
  • For the road test, an applicant must have:
    • a vehicle with a valid inspection sticker
    • a valid registration document and a valid insurance ID card for that vehicle (unless covered by BPU or federal DOT regulations).
    • The vehicle may not have any obstructions or consoles that prevent the examiner from reaching the foot or parking brakes.
    • The applicant must also have a valid permit and be accompanied by a licensed driver. The accompanying driver must hold a license to operate the type of vehicle for which the applicant has a permit (except for a moped).
accompanying driver requirements
Accompanying Driver Requirements
  • A Licensed driver must remain in the vehicle with the applicant at all times.
  • If the accompanying motorist is licensed in a state other than NJ, or has less than three years of driving experience, he/she must drive the vehicle to the road test area. The MVC does not supply vehicles for road tests.
elements of the road test
Elements of the Road Test
  • If an applicant passes the road test, the examiner will issue an authorization for licensing. The permit, authorization and 6 Points of ID Verification must be taken to a motor vehicle agency to obtain the digital driver license
  • If an applicant fails the road test, he/she must wait at least two weeks before taking the test again.
  • After several failures, the MVC may require an applicant to wait six months before retaking the road test
reasons for rejection
Reasons for Rejection
  • the vehicle may be the cause of failure.
  • Some license applicants may not have the opportunity to take an initial road test because an examiner considers the vehicle unsuitable or unsafe for the test.
  • Improper, expired or no inspection sticker
  • Lack of examiner access to foot brake or parking brake
why did i fail
Why did I fail?
  • Any defect or condition that affects the safe operation of the test vehicle, such as but not limited to:
    • Poor brakes (pedal must not fade or go to the floorboard)
    • Parking brake doesn’t work
    • Unsafe tires (smooth, cut, badly worn)
    • Vehicle interior is not in reasonably clean condition
    • Vehicle failed inspection, and motorist does not bring the Vehicle Inspection Report issued by the inspection station to road test area
    • Vehicle not equipped with radial tires or snow tires or chains when road is snow covered
    • Fast engine idle (cannot judge speed control)
    • Missing seat belts (seat belts are required on all vehicles manufactured after July 1, 1966)