7 deadly sins n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
7 DEADLY SINS PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation


223 Views Download Presentation
Download Presentation


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript


  2. Anglo-Saxon vs. Medieval • Anglo- Saxon-English culture- druids taught • Fighting culture • Social hierarchy based on tribal warfare • Religion based off many pagan gods • Medieval- Teachers use Bible, Roman Catholic church determines curriculum • Culture-Social mores – they are more religious and believe in one God • Life is a journey- man is a pilgrim

  3. 7 Deadly sins • Cardinal sins • Also known as capital vices • 2 categories • VENIAL- minor sins (forgiven in sacrament) • CAPITAL- mortal sins, when committed, destroy the life of grace and threaten eternal damnation unless absolved or forgiven through confession and atonement

  4. Hieronymus Bosch’sThe Seven Deadly Sins

  5. 7 • Superbia- pride • Avaritia-greed • Luxuria-lust (at first was extravagance) • Invidia-envy • Gula-gluttony • Ira-wrath or anger • Acedia-sloth (lazy)

  6. Corresponding Holy Virtues • To parallel the sins they oppose, there are seven holy virtues. Guess what they are.

  7. Holy Virtues • Chastity- like abstinence • Charity- giving • Temperance-moderate in eating • Diligence- working hard • Patience or forgiveness • Kindness-admiration • Humility- modest

  8. Sin and Virtue • Pride- humility • Envy-kindness • Wrath-patience or forgiveness • Sloth-diligence • Greed- charity • Gluttony-temperance • Lust- chastity

  9. Bible vs.Dante’s The Bible does NOT refer to 7 deadly sins, but Dante’s Divine Comedy, Purgatorio, is the best source.

  10. Gluttony • Derived from Latin to gulp down or swallow • Over-indulgence and over-consumption of anything to the point of waste • Dante’s hell- they had to eat snakes.

  11. Gluttony • Depends on culture- where food is scarce and is a status symbol, taking pride in having a lot is a vice. Where food is plentiful- not having self-control is the vice. Which are we? • it was: • Eating too soon • Too expensively • Too much • Too eagerly • Too daintily- Prioress

  12. Greed • Avarice • Sin of excess like gluttony, only this isn’t food, it’s wealth. • Includes disloyalty, deliberate betrayal, treason for Personal Gain. • Hoarding materials or objects, robbery, especially by means of violence or trickery. • Simony- where one profits form solicitng goods within the actual confines of a church • Dante- bound face down on board for thinking earthly thoughts

  13. SLOTH • Has considerably changed since its beginning. Used to be sadness, or depression, joylessness- a refusal to enjoy the goodness of God and the world he created. • Spiritual apathy • Changed to discontent, “uneasiness of the mind” • Failure to love God with all your heart • TODAY IT STANDS FOR LAZINESS, UNWILLINGESS TO ACT OR CARE, rather than a failure to love God, so now it is not such a serious sin.

  14. Sloth- Dante’s Purgatorio made slothful penitents (sinners) RUN at TOP SPEED

  15. Envy • Like GREED, envy has Insatiable desire, but greed is for material goods, and envy is more general. • They covet something someone else has, or something they think they lack

  16. Envious Glance • Dante’s hell has the envious having their eyes sewn shut with wire because they have gained sinful pleasure from seeing others brought low

  17. Green with envy Idiom

  18. WRATH or Anger • Uncontrolled feelings of hatred • Do EVIL or HARM to others • Desire to seek revenge outside of the workings of the justice system • Vengeance: murder, assault, and genocide • Only sin not necessarily associated with selfishness or self interest • Dante’s hell has sinners dismembered while still ALIVE! • Batman exemplifies this because he acts out of vengeance.

  19. Lust • Obsessive thought or desires of some thing • Dante- “excessive love of others”, penitence is to walk through the flames to purge oneself from lustful thoughts

  20. Love and Lust • Love and lust are two different things • A Genuine, selfless love represents the highest degree of development while lust is an excessive desire for The other person is just a “means to an end” for the fulfillment of the desires

  21. The worst one • This is the sin that is depicted as the trunk of the sin tree because most other sins come from it. • It is the MOST DEADLY of all the sins. • In the BIBLE, this was the downfall of LUCIFER- it caused his fall from heaven. • WHAT IS IT?

  22. PRIDE

  23. Pride can be the downfall of the young, old, or even cartoon characters. It is sometimes referred to as VANITY. Dante’s hell: had to walk with stone slabs bearing down on back to induce humility.

  24. Demons Associated with Sins • Asmodeus: Lust • Beelzebub: Gluttony • Mammon: Greed • Belphegor: Sloth • Satan: Wrath • Leviathan: Envy • Lucifer: Pride

  25. Bible “These six things doth the lord hate: yea, seven are an abomination unto him”: • A proud look • A lying tongue • Hands that shed innocent blood • Heart that deviseth wicked imaginations • Feet that be swift in running to mischief • A false witness that speaketh lies • He that soweth discord among brethren

  26. Virtues, Vices and the Seven Deadly Sins What are they and how do we use them?

  27. The Theological Virtues • Faith • Hope • Charity or Love

  28. The Cardinal Virtues • Prudence • Justice • Temperance • Fortitude

  29. SEVEN DEADLY SINS Pride is excessive belief in one's own abilities, that interferes with the individual's recognition of the grace of God. It has been called the sin from which all others arise. Pride is also known as Vanity.Envy is the desire for others' traits, status, abilities, or situation. Gluttony is an inordinate desire to consume more than that which one requires.Lust is an inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body.Anger is manifested in the individual who spurns love and opts instead for fury. It is also known as Wrath.Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain, ignoring the realm of the spiritual. It is also called Avarice or Covetousness.Sloth is the avoidance of physical or spiritual work.

  30. SEVEN HEAVENLY VIRTUES Truth - Truth is a comprehensive term that in all of its nuances implies honesty, accuracy, sincerity, integrity, and reality.Love - A deep, tender, ineffable feeling of affection, devotion, and/or compassion toward a person.Courage - The state or quality of mind or spirit that enables one to face danger, fear, or change with self-possession, confidence, and resolution; bravery.Wisdom - Knowledge, and the capacity to use the best means for attaining the best ends; good judgment.Creativity - The ability to produce through artistic or imaginative effort, characterized by originality and expressiveness.Tolerance - The practice of recognizing and respecting the beliefs or practices of others. Freedom - The power to act, speak, or think without externally imposed restraints.

  31. hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh SEVEN HEAVENLY VIRTUES SEVEN DEADLY SINS TruthLoveCourageWisdomCreativityToleranceFreedom Pride EnvyGluttonyLustAngerGreedSloth