the four marks of the church n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
The Four Marks of the Church PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
The Four Marks of the Church

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 15

The Four Marks of the Church - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

The Four Marks of the Church. Mr. Perrotti Theology II Chapter 5 –Part 2. Four Marks of the Church. The Four Marks of the Church is a term describing four specific adjectives: One Holy Catholic Apostolic

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

The Four Marks of the Church

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Presentation Transcript
    1. The Four Marks of the Church Mr. Perrotti Theology II Chapter 5 –Part 2

    2. Four Marks of the Church • The Four Marks of the Church is a term describing four specific adjectives: • One • Holy • Catholic • Apostolic Indicating four major distinctive marks or distinguishing characteristics of the Catholic Church

    3. Four Marks of the Church • The belief that the Church is characterized by these four particular "marks" was first expressed by the First Council of Constantinople in the year 381 in its revision of the Nicene Creed: “We believe in one, holy, catholic, and apostolic Church."

    4. Four Marks of the Church • In Protestant theology these are sometimes called the attributes of the Church. • They are still professed today in the Nicene Creed, recited in the liturgy of Catholic, Eastern Orthodox, Anglican (Church of England), and many Protestant churches' worship services. • The Four Marks, when defined the same way, represent a summary of what historically have been considered the most important affirmations of the Christian faith.

    5. One • The Church of the apostles was definitely one: "There is one body and one spirit," Paul wrote • "just as you were called to the one hope that belongs to your call, one Lord, one faith, one baptism, one God and Father of us all“ • "Because there is one bread, we who are many are one body,” – Paul • Jesus had promised at the outset that "there would be one flock, one shepherd" (John 10:16).

    6. Holy • Similarly, the Church of the apostles was holy! • When we say that, we mean among other things that it had the all-holy God himself as author. • The Church was founded for no other reason than to continue Christ's redemptive and sanctifying work with them in the world! • God is Holy, we are sinners!

    7. Holy • One of the things implicit in the designation "holy" as applied to the Church is that the Church from the beginning has been endowed with the sacramental means to help make holythe sinners who are found as a part of her. • The Church has been given the Sacraments along with the Word precisely in order to be able to help make sinners holy.

    8. Seven Sacraments • Baptism • Reconciliation • Holy Eucharist • Confirmation • Marriage • Holy Orders • Sacrament of the Sick

    9. Catholic • The third great historic mark of the one true Church was that this Church was Catholic. • Catholic means "universal” • We celebrate the Birthday of the Church on Pentecost Sunday – The Holy Spirit came down on a great Jewish and Pagan Holiday so that the Apostles could spread the Word to the four corners of the earth!

    10. Catholic • The Catholicity of the Church: • The Church is for everybody at all times • The Church was destined to spread everywhere throughout the whole world Saint Paul wrote: "the word of truth . . . in the whole world . . . is bearing fruit and growing" (Col. 1:5-6)

    11. Apostolic • The Church that issued from the instruction of Christ to the apostles was unavoidably apostolic (From Christ to the Apostles). • Christ founded the Church upon the apostles and in no other way • Nothing is clearer, then, that the Church started out as apostolic. • Christ gave Peter the “Power of the Keys”

    12. The Power of the Keys • Refers to the “Keys to the Kingdom, the keys to Heaven”. • Christ said “Whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, whatever you unbind on earth will be unbound in heaven” • That power given to every Pope after Peter is the greatest gift Jesus could of given the Apostles as they built the Church, our Apostolic Church.

    13. Ex cathedra • In connection with papal infallibility, the Latin phrase ex cathedra (literally, "from the chair") has been defined as meaning • "when, in the exercise of his office as shepherd and teacher of all Christians, in virtue of his supreme apostolic authority. The infallibility of the Church is the belief that the Holy Spirit will not allow the Church to err in its belief or teaching under certain circumstances.

    14. The Magisterium • The magisterium (Latin:, "teacher") is the teaching office of the Roman Catholic Church. • Roman Catholic theology divides the functions of the teaching office into two categories: • the infallible sacred magisterium and • the fallible ordinary magisterium. • The infallible sacred magisterium includes the extraordinary declarations of the pope speaking ex cathedra and of ecumenical councils • as well as of the ordinary and universal magisterium.

    15. The Four Marks of the Church • One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic • The identity of the Church • The guide for the Church • The Mission of the Church • The Foundation of the Church • Jesus’ gift to all of us to help us seek The Kingdom of Heaven