johann sebastian bach n.
Skip this Video
Download Presentation

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 14

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH. The Genius of Baroque Music. CONTENTS. Biography Works Music style Legacy. BACH´S BIOGRAPHY.

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH' - nolcha

Download Now An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
johann sebastian bach


TheGenius of BaroqueMusic

  • Biography
  • Works
  • Musicstyle
  • Legacy

Johann Sebastian Bach[1] (31 March 1685 – 28 July 1750) was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist of the Baroque Period. He enriched many established German styles through his skill in counterpoint, harmonic and motivicorganisation, and the adaptation of rhythms, forms, and textures from abroad, particularly from Italy and France. Many of Bach's works are still known today, such as the Brandenburg Concertos, the Mass in B minor, the The Well-Tempered Clavier, and his cantatas, chorales, partitas, passions, and organ works – and his music is revered for its intellectual depth, technical command, and artistic beauty.

bach s personality

He wasn’t verypatient or tolerance with incompetents. He likedto do the things in an excellent way, also he was very passionate with his music and a workaholic too.

  • Brandenburgconcertos
  • The Well-Tempered Clavier
  • Mass in B minor
brandenburg concertos

The Brandenburg concertos by Johann Sebastian Bach (BWV 1046–1051, original title: Six Concerts à plusieurs instruments)[1] are a collection of six instrumental works presented by Bach to Christian ludwig, margrave of Brandenburg-Schwedt,[2] in 1721 (though probably composed earlier). They are widely regarded as among the finest musical compositions of the Baroque era.

the well tempered clavier
The Well-Tempered Clavier

The Well-Tempered Clavier (German: Das WohltemperierteKlavier),[2]BWV 846–893, is a collection of solo keyboard music composed by Johann Sebastian Bach. He first gave the title to a book of preludes and fugues in all 24 major and minorkeys, dated 1722, composed "for the profit and use of musical youth desirous of learning, and especially for the pastime of those already skilled in this study."

mass in b minor
Mass in b minor

The Mass in B minor (BWV 232) is a musical setting of the complete LatinMass by Johann Sebastian Bach. The work was one of Bach's last, not completed until 1749, the year before his death in 1750. Much of the Mass consisted of music that Bach had composed earlier:

music style

Bach's musical style arose from his skill in contrapuntal invention and motivic control, his flair for improvisation, his exposure to North and South German, Italian and French music, and his devotion to the Lutheran liturgy.