1 / 29

State of the ECE Department

State of the ECE Department. Andreas C. Cangellaris, Head May 4, 2012. University of Illinois President Michael Hogan Resigns. President Hogan’s term ends on July 1, 2012 Robert Easter, appointed as the next UI President Easter serves currently as President-Designate

Download Presentation

State of the ECE Department

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author. Content is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use only. Download presentation by click this link. While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server. During download, if you can't get a presentation, the file might be deleted by the publisher.


Presentation Transcript

  1. State of the ECE Department Andreas C. Cangellaris, Head May 4, 2012

  2. University of Illinois President Michael Hogan Resigns • President Hogan’s term ends on July 1, 2012 • Robert Easter, appointed as the next UI President • Easter serves currently as President-Designate • His term as President starts on July 1, 2012

  3. ECE Department

  4. Excellence in Academic Scholarship • Top-notch ECE Curricula – Latest US News Ranking • Undergraduate EE is 5th; Graduate EE is 3rd; • Undergraduate CE is 5th; Graduate CE is 5th • Distinguished faculty, internationally recognized for innovative contributions and professional leadership • Over 50% of ECE faculty are IEEE fellows • 7 American Physical Society (APS) fellows • 7 Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) fellows • 10 American Assoc. for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) fellows • 9 faculty, 9 emeritus faculty members of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE)

  5. ECE Faculty Research Expenditures

  6. Vibrant Contributor to Campus Patent Portfolio

  7. Enrollments Are Up • AY 2011-12 • 408 accepts • Over 80 transfer students • ~1737 undergraduates • AY 2012-13 • ~500 accepts • Split equally between EE and CE

  8. 1737 Undergraduate Students 33% International ~48% Out of State

  9. Recent growths are mainly in our out-of-state numbers…

  10. ECE faculty graduate advisees include students from CS, BioE, Physics, MatSE,…

  11. New ECE Building

  12. Groundbreaking for New ECE building • On October 7, a ceremony was held to break ground for the new ECE building • Among the dignitaries were Illinois Governor Quinn, U of I President Michael Hogan, Chancellor Phyllis Wise, and College of Engineering Dean Ilesanmi Adesida • The facility is targeted for completion in summer 2014

  13. Construction begins

  14. Coordinated Science Laboratory celebrates 60 years of science • The 60th anniversary celebration culminated with special events on October 27 and 28 and a Symposium on “Building Interdisciplinary Excellence with Societal Impact” • More than 200 alums, former faculty, and friends joined us for the celebration • CSL is home to several centers and institutes that work on: • Information trust & cybersecurity • Parallel computing • Wireless networks • Advanced digital sciences • Engineering ethics • Communications infrastructure & policy

  15. ECE Faculty Highlights

  16. ECE faculty

  17. New Faculty Members Catrina Bryce Semiconductor Lasers and Photonic Integrated Circuits John Dallesasse Materials for Opto-electronic d Devices and Photonic Integrated Circuits Max Raginsky Communications Robert Pilawa Power and Energy Systems

  18. Coleman elected to National Academy of Engineering • ECE Professor James Coleman was elected to the National Academy of Engineering. • He was recognized for his work in semiconductor lasers and photonic materials. • His research led to the development of metalorganic chemical vapor deposition, a growth method widely used to make semiconductor devices.

  19. Liu receives Presidential Early Career Award • Logan Liu was named a recipient of a Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). • PECASE is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their careers. • Liu specializes in using nano-engineering methods to understand and control molecular and cellular systems.

  20. Holonyak inducted into Engineering and Science Hall of Fame • Nick Holonyak Jr. was one of three inductees into the Engineering and Science Hall of Fame on November 3. • He was recognized for the invention of the visible LED. • The Engineering and Science Hall of Fame is dedicated to honoring national and international achievements in science and engineering.

  21. Makela receives Van Valkenburg Early Career Teaching Award • ECE Associate Professor Jonathan Makela was the 2011 recipient of the IEEE Education Society's Mac Van Valkenburg Early Career Teaching Award. • The Award recognizes young faculty who have made outstanding contributions to teaching unusually early in their professional careers.

  22. Alejandro Dominguez-Garcia recipient of the 2012 IEEE PES Outstanding Young Engineer Award • This award recognizes outstanding contributions in the leadership of technical activities

  23. Highlights of ECE Students’ Excellence

  24. Power and Energy Conference at Illinois • Third annual Power and Energy Conference at Illinois was held in February • Planned and executed by ECE students • Participants came from around the world

  25. ECE Pulse • Student-run technical conference brought in a number of major companies to give tech talks • Keynote speaker was Michael Callahan, the first recipient of the Lemelson-Illinois student prize • Held in February, this was the first of what is planned to be annual event

  26. Outstanding Graduate Students • C. Chen, X. Jiang: Best Student Paper Award at the recent 2011 North American Power Symposium • Feng Xiong: Gold medal for the TSMC Outstanding Student Research Award and the Best in Session Award at SRC TECHCON 2011 • Joseph Sloan, RamiAbdallah: Best in Session Awards at the SRC TECHCON 2011 • Katherine Kim: NSF Graduate Research Fellowship • Pradeep Shenoy: Recipient of the 2010 Illinois International Graduate Achievement Award • JayanandAsok Kumar: Silver medal at the Design Automation Conference • Nathan Jack, VrashankShukla: Best student paper award at the latest EOS/ESD Symposium • David Estrada: Best paper award at the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers; best poster award at the Great Minds in STEM conference • …

  27. Watkins develops product that could improve AIDS treatment • ECE grad student Nicholas Watkins received the Baxter Young Investigator Award • He is developing a portable CD4 counter, which can be used to treat HIV patients in underdeveloped countries • The device counts the number of Helper T cells in the blood, providing a snapshot of a patient's immune system

  28. Organized by the: January 8 - 13 • 5-day technology entrepreneurship workshop and visits with startups and leading technology companies • 25 students attended • Notable outcomes: • Five students had interviews with Portfolio companies • One student going to work at SpaceX • TEC to help Azumio build user groups on campus for data collection and testing • Strengthening Founders Fund engagement with Illinois With generous support by the:

  29. ECE Illinois: Lighting up the future

More Related