nasa headquarters primer l.
Skip this Video
Download Presentation
NASA Headquarters Primer

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 18

NASA Headquarters Primer - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

NASA Headquarters Primer. Astronomy & Astrophysics Advisory Committee NSF HQ October 14, 2008. Michael Salamon Astrophysics Division/NASA HQ. Organization. Administrator: Michael Griffin Deputy Administrator: Shana Dale. Mission Directorates. Science Mission Directorate

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'NASA Headquarters Primer' - matty

Download Now An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
nasa headquarters primer

NASA Headquarters Primer

Astronomy & Astrophysics Advisory Committee


October 14, 2008

Michael Salamon

Astrophysics Division/NASA HQ


Administrator: Michael Griffin

Deputy Administrator: Shana Dale

mission directorates
Mission Directorates

Science Mission Directorate

Assoc. Admin. Ed Weiler

Space Operation Mission Directorate

Assoc Admin. William Gerstenmaier

Exploration Systems Mission Directorate

Assoc. Admin. Richard Gilbrech

Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate

Assoc. Admin. Jaiwon Shin


Science Mission Directorate

Associate Administator: Ed Weiler

Deputy Associate Administrator: Chuck Gay

Michael Freilich

Randy Friedl

Richard Fisher

Vicky Elsbern

Jim Green

Jim Adams

Jon Morse

Rick Howard


Astrophysicia est omnis in Partes Tres

  • Exoplanet Exploration Program (Prog. Sci., Doug Hudgins)
  • “Are we alone?”
  • Cosmic Origins Program (Prog. Sci. Eric Smith)
  • “How did we get here?”
  • Physics of the Cosmos Program (Prog. Sci. Michael Salamon)
  • “How does the Universe work?”
  • Astrophysics Explorers Program (Prog. Sci. Hashima Hasan)
  • Astrophysics Research Program (Prog. Sci. Wilt Sanders)
  • Impact
  • Well-defined meaning to “Program” at NASA (7120.5D)
  • (Most) projects exist within Programs:
    • Example: Beyond Einstein Program is no longer a Program; it is a mission suite residing in the PCOS program.
  • Some flexibility to move funds within a Program.


Program Scientist: HQ oversight of science performance of mission/program of missions

Program Executive: HQ oversight of project management/program of missions

Program Office: Located in designated Center for Program management

Project Scientist: Center scientific oversight of mission, responsible for science success

Project Manager: Center management, responsible for success of the mission.




NASA Congressional Committees

  • House of Representatives:
    • Committee on Science and Technology: Bart Gordon (TN, Chair); Ralph Hall (TX, Ranking)
    • Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics: Mark Udall (CO, Chair); Tom Feeney (FL, Ranking)
    • Committee on Appropriations: Dave Obey (WI, Chair); Jerry Lewis (CA, Ranking)
    • Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies: Alan Mollohan (WV, Chair); Rodney Frelinghuysen (NJ, Ranking)
  • Senate:
    • Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation: Daniel Inouye (HI, Chair); Kay Bailey Hutchinson (TX, Ranking)
    • Subcommittee on Space, Aeronautics and Related Sciences: Bill Nelson (FL, Chair); David Vitter (LA, Ranking)
    • Committee on Appropriations: Robert Byrd (WV, Chair); Thad Cochran (MS, Ranking)
    • Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies: Barbara Milkulski (MD, Chair); Richard Shelby (AL, Ranking)
advisory committees
Advisory Committees

Advisory Committees

advisory bodies
NASA Advisory Council (NAC)
  • 32 members, Chair is Harrison Schmitt
  • Six Committees within the Council
    • Science Committee: 5 members, Chair is Jack Burns
  • Science Subcommittees (Astrophysics, Planetary Science, Heliophysics, Planetary Protection)
    • Astrophysics Subcommittee (APS): 15 members, Chair is Craig Hogan
  • All subcommittees report to the NAC (not to their corresponding SMD Divisions), which then reports to the Administrator.
  • Formally advice to SMD Divisions comes down from the Administrator’s office.

Astronomy and Astrophysics Advisory Committee (AAAC)

  • Advises NSF, NASA, DOE; report goes to NASA Administrator among others.

National Research Council

  • Decadal Survey
  • BEPAC, …
Advisory Bodies