awards subcommittee report
Skip this Video
Download Presentation
Awards Subcommittee Report

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 7

Awards Subcommittee Report - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

Brett Bednarcyk (NASA GRC) – Chair Massimo Ruzzene (Georgia Tech) Anthony Palazotto (AFIT) Robert Taylor (UT Arlington) Vipul Ranatunga (AFRL) Ho-Jun Lee (NASA Johnson) Olesya Zhupanska (University of Iowa) Added 3 new members since 2013 Fall meeting. Awards Subcommittee Report.

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'Awards Subcommittee Report' - linda-neal

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
awards subcommittee report
Brett Bednarcyk (NASA GRC) – Chair

Massimo Ruzzene (Georgia Tech)

Anthony Palazotto (AFIT)

Robert Taylor (UT Arlington)

Vipul Ranatunga (AFRL)

Ho-Jun Lee (NASA Johnson)

Olesya Zhupanska (University of Iowa)

Added 3 new members since 2013 Fall meeting

Awards Subcommittee Report

purpose of awards subcommittee
Purpose of Awards Subcommittee
  • Advocate for Structures TC members and former members for AIAA and related Awards
  • Encourage and support TC members in pursuing AIAA grade increases
  • Help organize special sessions at SDM honoring TC members and former TC members
    • 2014 – Dr. Charles Rankin (M. Hilburger)
    • 2015 – Prof. Harry Hilton (Cristina Beldica, Craig Merrett)
  • Administer the Collier Research HyperSizer/AIAA Structures Best Paper Award
  • Provide some sort of recognition/award/plaque to the SDM Structures TC Representative (still not done)
best structures paper award
Best Structures Paper Award

Collier Research HyperSizer/AIAA Structures Best Paper Award

  • Continuing award endowed by Collier Research Corp., TC Member/Friend Craig Collier
  • Selected from Structures Track papers that are in the top 10 in the Boeing/ASME Structures and Materials Award (SDM best paper award)
  • Awarded to the top ranking paper that does not win the Boeing/ASME Structures and Materials Award
    • Awarded for 1st time at 2013 SDM Boston
    • $500 to be split among authors
    • Judged by Awards Subcommittee and a representative from Collier Research
  • Top10 are selected from best paper in session as judged by session chairs
    • Encouraging Session Chairs to review written papers
  • 2014 Winner: K. Chauncey Wu, Bret K. Stanford, Glenn A. Hrinda, Zhuosong Wang, Robert A. Martin (NASA LaRC) H. Alicia Kim (University of Bath, UK)

For their 2013 SDM Paper entitled “Structural Assessment of Advanced Composite Tow-Steered Shells”.

example 2014 award judging
Example - 2014 Award Judging

Last Year’s Results:

This year 5 Candidate Structures Papers

membership upgrades
Membership Upgrades
  • Senior Member (Rolling)
    • Can self-nominate
    • 8 years of professional experience ( or 8 years of AIAA membership)
  • Associate Fellow (Due 15April)
    • Self nominations are not permitted
    • Must be a senior member with 12 years of professional experience ( may include 4 years of post graduate studies)
    • Require 3 AIAA member references (Associate Fellow, Fellow, or Honorary Fellow)
  • Fellow (Due 15June)
    • Self nominations are not permitted
    • Nominees must be an Associate Fellow for at least 12 months
    • Require 5 AIAA member references
    • One reference must be a Fellow, member of the Board, Section Chairperson, or Technical Committee Chairperson.
  • To complete a nomination log in to MyAIAA and click on the nomination link located under Membership Advancements.
primary technical excellence awards
Primary Technical Excellence Awards
  • The Walter J. and Angeline H. Crichlow Trust Prize
    • Presented to a single nominee (an individual or small team of up to 4 contributing individuals)
    • Specific achievement or body of work (perhaps extending over a period of years) that became significant during the immediate past 15 years
    • 2015 Winner: Professor Satya N. Atluri
    • For lasting contributions to airframe structural integrity and durability analysis using novel computational methods (MLPG meshless methods) and micromechanics of materials genome
  • Aerospace Design Engineering Award
    • Presented to design engineers who have made outstanding technical, educational or creative achievements
    • Next: 2016, Nomination due July 1st, 2015
  • AIAA-ASC James H. Starnes Jr. Award
    • Sponsored by ASC & AIAA
    • Presented at every four years
    • Next: 2017
    • Nomination deadline June 1, 2016
  • Structures, Structural Dynamics, & Materials Award
    • Presented to an individual with outstanding sustained technical or scientific contribution
    • Not presented in the years the following are awarded:
      • Walter J. and Angeline H. Crichlow Trust Prize (2015)
      • AIAA-ASC James H. Starnes Award (2017)
      • Ashley Award for Aeroelasticity(2017)
    • Next: 2016 and nominations are due by July 1st, 2015.
  • Lawrence Sperry Award
    • Award is presented for a notable contribution made by a young person, age 35 or under, to the advancement of aeronautics or astronautics.
    • Annual award
    • Nomination deadline: July 1st
    • Good award for young TC members
other awards
Other Awards

Aerospace Software Engineering Award

Aircraft Design Award

Engineer of the Year Award

International Cooperation Award

Sustained Service Award

Distinguished Service Award

Awards Listed at: