Ancient india
1 / 8

Ancient India - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

Ancient India. By Joey Jen & Patrick. Ancient India social structure and daily life. Gods and Goddesses The gods didn't really have a part in community life. Priests and Scholars They and they were the ones who made the offerings to the gods. The Rajas and Their Noblemen

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'Ancient India' - issac

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
Ancient india

Ancient India

By Joey Jen & Patrick

Ancient india

  • Gods and Goddesses

    • The gods didn't really have a part in community life.

  • Priests and Scholars

    • They and they were the ones who made the offerings to the gods.

  • The Rajas and Their Noblemen

    • The Rajas were the people who ruled

      the city and would give the Priests gifts

      so that they would teach them the Vedas.

    • The Noblemen were the people who

      were sent by the Rajas to guard the city. 

  • Merchants, Farmers, Land owners,

    and Craftsmen

    • These were the people who supplied

      the people with food clothing and other goods.

  • Servants, Workers, Wage earners

    • These were the people that served and did the jobs that nobody else wanted to.  These classes were called varnas.

Social level at home
Social level at home

  • Men were the head of the house.

  • The children would be treated very unfairly.

  • They had no say in what happened to them or anyone in the family, and they could be treated any way by their parents, especially their father.

  • The girls were unwanted, and the boys were treated better, and with more respect.

  • Otherswould pray at a temple that their friends and relatives would have boys.

Daily life in the gupta empire
Daily life in The Gupta Empire

  • It was the time of peace and prosperity which led to greatest achievements in the every walk of life.

  • They had religious freedom.

  • Criminals were never put to death. Instead, they were fined for their crimes.

  • Rewards of money were given to writers, artists, and scholars to encourage them to produce wonderful work, and they did.

  • People were paid by the state for welfare projects like building of roads and other public works.

  • Food was vegetarian and non- vegetarian but influence of Jainism and Buddhism saw people eating more vegetables, fruits, cereals, breads, and drink milk.

  • People used to play chess, polo and cards.

    Martial arts including fencing, wrestling

    was very popular among people.

    They went for hunting as well.


  • is a dharmic, non-theistic religion, a philosophy, and a life-enhancing system of psychology.

  • Buddha was born in Lumbini (now in Nepal), and that he died aged around 80 in Kushinagara (India).

  • Eventually, Indian Buddhism became virtually extinct, except in parts of Nepal

  • Southern Buddhism, or Theravada , or Pali Buddhism - practiced mainly in Sri Lanka, Burma, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and parts of Malaysia, Vietnam, China and Bangladesh (Southeast Asia)

  • Eastern Buddhism, or East Asian Buddhism, or Chinese Buddhism, or Sino-Japanese Buddhism - practiced predominantly in China, Vietnam, Korea, Japan, Singapore and parts of Russia

  • Northern Buddhism, or Tibetan Buddhism, or Tibeto-Mongolian Buddhism - practiced mainly in Tibet, Mongolia, Bhutan and parts of Nepal, India, China and Russia.

The four noble truths the noble eightfold path
The Four Noble Truths/ The Noble Eightfold Path

  • The Four Noble Truths

  • The Buddha taught that in life there exists in the following places sorrow / suffering which is caused by desire and it can be cured (ceased) by following the Noble Eightfold Path. This teaching is called the Catvāry Āryasatyāni, the "Four Noble Truths".

  • Suffering: Birth is suffering, aging is suffering, illness is suffering, death is suffering; union with what is displeasing is suffering; separation from what is pleasing is suffering; not to get what one wants is suffering; in brief, the five aggregates subject to clinging are suffering.

  • The cause of suffering: The desire which leads to renewed existence (rebirth) (the cycle of samsara)

  • The cessation of suffering: The cessation of desire.

  • The way leading to the cessation of suffering: The Noble Eightfold Path

  • The Noble Eightfold Path is the way to the cessation of suffering, the fourth part of the Four Noble Truths. This is divided into three sections : Sila (which concerns the physical bodily actions), Samadhi (which concerns the 'Conscious' mind) and Panna (which concerns the 'Unconscious' mind).


  • Mughal architecture used by Persians as well as Islamic

  • Mughal architecture began in 1526 during Mughal dynasty under the rule ofemperor Babur

  • during this time that the Taj Mahal was constructed (1648) in Agra, Indiaand Shalimar Gardens

  • characteristics of Mughal architecture:                            -perfect radial or bilateral symmetry                             -marble used for surface                             -garden surrounding the building or temple                             -indentures and carvings on the outer surface of marble stone

  • Historical Significance:

  • many mosques and Islamic and Persian structures built using Mughalarchitecture

  • descriptive carvings leave behind detailed history of what life waslike in ancient India during the 16th century under Mughal reign