The cabinet
1 / 16

The Cabinet - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

The Cabinet. The Cabinet is a collection of the president’s top advisors Members of the Cabinet serve at the will of the president and may be removed from office at any point

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'The Cabinet' - ghita

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
The cabinet

The Cabinet

The Cabinet is a collection of the president’s top advisors

Members of the Cabinet serve at the will of the president and may be removed from office at any point

The president appoints each member individually and they must be accepted by Congress in order to serve, much like Supreme Court Justices

Department of state 1789
Department of State (1789)

  • Responsible for foreign relations

  • Operates the diplomatic missions of the United States

  • First executive department

  • Secretary of State: Hillary Clinton

Department of the treasury 1789
Department of the Treasury (1789)

  • Responsible for managing the government revenue, pays US debt, and supervises national banks

  • First Secretary of the Treasury, Alexander Hamilton placed on the $10 bill

  • Secretary of the Treasury: Timothy Geithner

Department of the interior 1849
Department of the Interior (1849)

  • Responsible for managing and conserving federal land and natural resources

  • Also handles matters between the government and Native Americans, Alaska natives, and Native Hawaiians

  • Secretary of the Interior: Ken Salazar

Department of agriculture 1862
Department of Agriculture (1862)

  • Responsible for enforcing executive action and policy on farming, agriculture, and food

  • Meets the needs of farmers and ranchers

  • Promotes agricultural trade and food safety

  • Secretary of Agriculture: Tom Vilsack

Department of justice 1870
Department of Justice (1870)

  • Responsible for the enforcement of the law, administers justice based on the law

  • Represents the executive branch in court cases involving the national government

  • Attorney general: Eric Holder

Department of commerce 1903
Department of Commerce (1903)

  • Responsible for facilitating the promotion of economic growth

  • Mission is “…to promote job creating and improved living standards for all Americans…”

  • Secretary of Commerce: John Bryson

Department of labor 1913
Department of Labor (1913)

  • Responsible for job safety, minimum wage legislation, unemployment statistics and re-employment services

  • Oversees several different labor-related programs such as unemployment and welfare (BLS)

  • Secretary of Labor: Hilda Solis

Department of veterans affairs 1930
Department of Veterans Affairs (1930)

  • Established as a government-funded military veteran benefit system

  • Pension, education benefits, insurance, rehabilitation, and survivor benefits

  • Secretary of DoVA: Eric Shinseki

Department of defense 1949
Department of Defense (1949)

  • Coordinates and supervise all agencies relating to national security and the US armed forces

  • Brings together the CIA, NSA, USAF, US Army, Joint Chiefs, etc.

  • Secretary of Defense: Leon Panetta

Department of health and human services 1953
Department of Health and Human Services (1953)

  • Motto: “Improving health, safety, and well-being of America”

  • Oversees programs involving child and family services, the FDA, and the CDC

  • Secretary of HaHS: Kathleen Sebelius

Department of housing and urban development 1965
Department of Housing and Urban Development (1965)

  • Originally the House and Home Financing Agency

  • Deals primarily with enhancing urban areas and re-developing urban housing

  • Secretary of HUD: Shaun Donovan

Department of transportation 1967
Department of Transportation (1967)

  • Mission “Serve the United States by ensuring a fast, safe, efficient, accessible, and convenient transportation system that meets our vital national interests and enhances the quality of life of the American people…”

  • Rail projects, airport subsidies, highway

  • Secretary of Transportation: Ray LaHood

Department of energy 1977
Department of Energy (1977)

  • Responsible for nuclear energy legislation, nuclear weapons programs, and energy conservation

  • Applied nuclear research

  • Secretary of Energy: Steven Chu

Department of education 1979
Department of Education (1979)

  • Responsible for assisting American educational services

  • Collects data on US schools and enforces educational laws passed down by the national government

  • Secretary of Education: Arne Duncan

Department of homeland security 2002
Department of Homeland Security (2002)

  • Created directly as a response to the September 11th attacks

  • Responsible for protecting the US from terrorist attacks and natural disasters

  • Combined 22 government organizations into one agency

  • Secretary: Janet Napolitano