A colony divided
Sponsored Links
This presentation is the property of its rightful owner.
1 / 11

A Colony Divided PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on
  • Presentation posted in: General

A Colony Divided. New Towns, New Colonists. By 1667, the colony of New Jersey had seven important towns. The town of Bergen had been settled by the Dutch English settlers from Long Island started the towns of Shrewsbury, Middletown, and Elizabethtown.

Download Presentation

A Colony Divided

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Presentation Transcript

A Colony Divided

New Towns, New Colonists

  • By 1667, the colony of New Jersey had seven important towns.

  • The town of Bergen had been settled by the Dutch

  • English settlers from Long Island started the towns of Shrewsbury, Middletown, and Elizabethtown.

  • Governor Carteret had invited English settlers from Connecticut to live in New Jersey as well.

New Towns, New ColonistsContinued…

  • These Connecticut settlers had begun the town of Newark in 1666.

  • People from the colonies of Massachusetts and New Hampshire started the towns of Woodbridge and Piscataway.

  • Each town in New Jersey had a church or meetinghouse, markets and houses.

New Towns, New ColonistsContinued…

  • Many people in the towns worked as farmers.

  • Others worked as merchants. A merchant is a person who sells goods to make money.

  • Other people in the towns were craft workers.

  • Many of the people who settled in the towns of New Jersey were English.

  • People came from other countries as well such as France and Germany.

The Assembly Meets

  • In 1668 the first assembly meeting was held in Elizabethtown.

  • Two men from each New Jersey town came to meet to discuss laws for the colony.

  • There were many fights because the Assembly told the Governor that the colonist did not want to pay tax on their land.

  • By the third meeting there was an agreement that instead of money, the colonist would be able to pay their land tax with corn and grain.

Lord Berkeley and the Quakers

  • Lord Berkeley and Sir George Carteret owned the land of New Jersey.

  • Lord Berkeley owned the western part and Sir George Carteret owned the eastern part.

  • Lord Berkeley wanted to sell his land, and the people who wanted to buy his land were the Quakers.

  • The Quakers were people who had their own kind of religion and were not well liked in England.

Lord Berkeley and the QuakersContinued…

  • Now that the Quakers owned the western part of New Jersey in 1675, many more Quakers started to settle there too, and started the towns of Greenwich and Salem.

  • The Quaker settlers in New Jersey wrote a document that was called the Concessions and Agreements.

  • This document gave the Quakers religious freedom and may other rights, and today is a special document in history.

New Jersey Splits in Two

  • In 1676 the colony of New Jersey was owned by the Quakers and Sir George Carteret.

  • They decided to divide the colony in half making it two different colonies.

  • These two colonies were called East New Jersey and West New Jersey.

  • West New Jersey had their own government and capital. Burlington was the capital of West New Jersey.

New Jersey Splits in TwoContinued…

  • In 1680, Sir George Carteret died.

  • His land in East New Jersey was bought by many land owners, they were the new proprietors.

  • These proprietors decided to make Perth Amboy the capital of East New Jersey.

  • New Jersey was now two colonies, with two governments and two capitals.

The Two Jerseys Joined Again At Last 

  • In 1702, Queen Anne of England brought the two colonies together.

  • New Jersey was made a royal colony. This meant that it would be governed by England.

  • The proprietors still had rights to the land, but did not rule it any longer.

  • The colony of New Jersey had to share a governor with the colony of New York.

  • This made New Jersey colonist unhappy. 

The Two Jerseys Joined Again At Last 

  • In 1738, New Jersey was given its own governor.

  • His name was Lewis Morris.

  • Morris was born in New Jersey, and was a member of the Assembly.

  • The New Jersey Colonist believed that Morris would better understand their problems.

  • Login