1 / 53

Chapter 16

Chapter 16. Be Creative With Advertising . Approaches to Advertising. Product advertising gives the benefit of a specific product or service and relies on rational arguments why a customer should buy it. Approaches to Advertising.

zilya
Download Presentation

Chapter 16

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author. Content is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use only. Download presentation by click this link. While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server. During download, if you can't get a presentation, the file might be deleted by the publisher.

E N D

Presentation Transcript


  1. Chapter 16 Be Creative With Advertising

  2. Approaches to Advertising • Product advertising gives the benefit of a specific product or service and relies on rational arguments why a customer should buy it.

  3. Approaches to Advertising • Brand advertising is advertising that aims to build an image of the product in the mind of the consumer. • The brand is the accumulation of all the tangible and intangible qualities of a company, product, or product line. • The brand includes elements such as the name, logo, slogan, and design elements including color. Example: Campbell’s Soup. • It also includes associations such as attitude and personality. Coca Cola is well-known for its feel-good brand advertising. Some examples include the “Mean Joe Green” and the “I Want to Teach the World to Sing” commercials.

  4. Approaches to Advertising • Corporate advertising is advertising for a company.

  5. Fast Facts • In a recent year, the total advertising expenditure in the United States was $260 billion. • Of that, 14 percent went to advertising agencies. One billion dollars is stacked on 12 standard pallets, altogether 10 million $100 bills.

  6. The Advertising Agency • An advertising agency is a company that specializes in creating advertising. Saatchi & Saatchi has grown from a start-up advertising agency in London in 1970 to a global creative communications company headquartered in New York, with 140 offices in 80 countries. http://www.saatchi.com/

  7. The Advertising Agency • An account executive is the key liaison between the client and the agency. • The account planner spends a lot of time talking to the target market. The focus group, where the moderator leads a discussion about the advertising with a small group, is a common research technique. • A media plan is a detailed listing of where and when ads will run. • The media planner is the person who develops the media plan.

  8. The Advertising Agency • The art director actually has a background in design or fine art and is responsible for how the ad will look. • The copywriter has writing background and writes the words in the ad. • The creative director helps guide the creative process and ensures that the creative team’s work conveys the right message. • The producer will facilitate everything needed to develop the ad. This includes hiring a director or photographer and keeping the project within budget.

  9. The Advertising Agency - Types • Full-service agencies perform advertising research, media selection, copy development, and artwork for an advertising campaign. • Limited-service agencies specialize in one aspect of the campaign, such as creative services. • In-house agencies provide full or limited advertising services based upon the size of the company.

  10. Developing Print Advertisements Print advertisements must contain four key elements: • headline • copy • illustration • signature Some ads also include the company’s slogan, presented with or near the signature. Each of the key elements enhances the overall theme of a product promotion. Frameworks 9.3

  11. Elements Of A Print Ad HEADLINE ________________________________________ ________________________________________ ________________________________________ ________________________________________ ________________________________________ ________________________________________ Signature HEADLINE ________________________________________ ________________________________________ ________________________________________ ________________________________________ ________________________________________ Signature HEADLINE ___________ ___________ ___________ ___________ ___________ ___________ ___________ ___________ ___________ ___________ ___________ ___________ ___________ ___________ ___________ Signature illustration illustration illustration HEADLINE illustration ________________________________________ ________________________________________ ________________________________________ ________________________________________ Signature Frameworks 9.3

  12. Elements Of A Print Ad Headline copy signature copy Frameworks 9.3

  13. Elements Of A Print Ad Illustration Headline Copy Signature Frameworks 9.3

  14. Headline • The headlineis the saying that gets the readers' attention, arouses their interest by providing a benefit, and leads them to read the rest of the ad. Many experts consider them the most important part of an advertisement. Frameworks 9.3

  15. Purposes of a Headline • The purposes of a headline are to: • Attract readers' attention—effective words are new, now, and free. • Select an audience—project an image toward a specific type of customer. • Provide a benefit to the reader—promise something that matches a need or want. • Lead to the illustration and copy.

  16. Writing Effective Headlines • Effective headlines should: • be brief—seven words or less • be cleverly and effectively worded • have a single focus or main idea

  17. Writing Effective Headlines • The following are some popular headline-writing techniques • Alliteration uses repeating initial consonant sounds. • A paradox is a seeming contradiction that could be true. • Rhyme employs words that correspond in sound. • A pun is the humorous use of a word that suggests two or more of its meanings. • A play on words uses the same word in different senses or words similar in sound used in opposition to each other.

  18. Alliteration - Example Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers.A peck of pickles Peter Piper pickedIf Peter Piper picked a peck of picked peppers,How many pickled peppers did Peter Piper pick?

  19. Alliteration The slogan “Ruffles Have Ridges” is an example of alliteration.

  20. Rhyme employs words that correspond in sound.

  21. Alliteration and Rhyme The U.S. Government’s World War II slogan, "Loose Lips Sink Ships" has both rhyme and alliteration.

  22. Aparadox is a seeming contradiction that could be true.

  23. Aplay on words uses the same word in different senses or words similar in sound used in opposition to each other.

  24. A play on words uses the same word in different senses or words similar in sound used in opposition to each other.

  25. Apun is the humorous use of a word that suggests two or more of its meanings. A Santa Monica BMW dealer commissioned this response to an Audi ad.

  26. Apun is the humorous use of a word that suggests two or more of its meanings.

  27. Copy • The copyis the selling message in a written advertisement. • It should directly expand on the information in the headline or the product shown in the illustration. • It should also stress the benefits and features of the product advertised. • Also, referred to the “talking” part of the ad. Frameworks 9.3

  28. Good Advertising Copy • is simple and direct. • is noticeable or dramatic • should appeal to the senses • tells the who, what, when, why, where, and how of the product • uses words such as compare, introducing, now, price, save, easy, and new • provides a call to action

  29. Illustration • The illustrationis the photograph or drawing used in a print advertisement. • Its primary function is to attract attention, and to encourage a purchase of the advertised product. It should also tie into the headline and copy. • Clip art is any ready-for-production image, stock drawing, or photograph, often provided by suppliers, manufacturers, or trade associations for print advertisements. Clip art is inexpensive, quick, and easy to use. • When stock art work is not sufficient, professionals may be hired to photograph situations or products. Frameworks 9.3

  30. Signature • The signature, or logotype (logo), is the distinctive identification symbol for a business. • In national ads, the signature is the name of the firm, and sometimes the corporate symbol and slogan. • In local ads, the signature usually includes the business's name, hours, address, telephone number, or slogan. Frameworks 9.3

  31. Slogan • A sloganis a catch phase or small group of words that are combined in a special way to identify a product or company. • Slogans create a distinct image for the company, its products, or its corporate mission. • Headlines frequently become the slogan for an advertising campaign. Frameworks 9.3

  32. Name the Brand or Product Breakfast of Champions Just Do It Good to the Last Drop You’re in Good Hands M’m! M’m! Good! Where’s the beef? When you care enough to send the very best. The quicker picker upper When it rains, it pours! We bring good things to life We try harder

  33. Developing the Print Ad • An ad layoutis a rough draft that shows the general arrangement and appearance of a finished ad. It is the same size as the final advertisement and clearly indicates the position of the headline, illustration, copy, and signature. • The advertising proof shows exactly how an ad will appear in print. It is sent to the advertiser for review and approval. Advertisers should ensure that the ad was created correctly and that all prices are accurate and brand names are spelled correctly. • Color newspaper ads can increase the reading of copy by as much as 80 percent over black-and-white ads.

  34. The Planning Process • An advertising plan is a document that outlines the activities to be completed and resources needed to create advertising. • An advertising campaign is a series of related advertisements with similar look, feel, and theme that centers on a specific product, service, or brand.

  35. The Planning Process • The first step in an advertising campaign is to determine the advertising objectives. • The objectives are the desired results to be accomplished within a specific time period. • The target market for the ad campaign should be clearly identified. • The specific advertising objectives might be to: • Increase sales • Increase awareness • Communicate an idea to the target audience

  36. The Planning Process • The advertising budget can be determined by: • What the business can afford to spend on advertising. • Using a percentage of sales – 5% is not uncommon - as the advertising budget. • Matching the competition in terms of advertising. • Deciding on the task or objective to achieve and budgeting enough to reach that object.

  37. The Planning Process • The creative strategy is how a company positions its brand or product in its advertising. • A strategic brief, also known as a creative brief, is a short document that defines the target market and articulates the main message or the advertising campaign.

  38. Selecting the Media • The media refers to the format, such as TV, radio, print, internet, billboard, or outdoor. • The vehicle is the specific programming or publication in which the advertising will appear ; American Idol, Dancing with the Stars, or Sports Illustrated. • Spending in all media types has increased; with one exception. • Newspaper advertising has declined about 2.4% per year. • The fastest growing advertising media is the internet. Frameworks 9.1

  39. Selecting the Media • The timing of an ad campaign can be continuous, which means it can run continually over a period of time. • The ad campaign might be pulsing, which means that the campaign runs more often during specific times, such as holidays.

  40. Selecting the Media • Cost is determine by calculating the CPM (cost per thousand readers or viewers). Example: The ad costs $50,000 and reaches 500,000 people. The CPM is $100. ($50,000 divided by 500,000 readers = $100) • Reach is the total number of people who see the ad. • The circulation is the number of copies distributed. • The pass-along rate refers to the number of people who read a single copy of the magazine. For example, one copy of Newsweek is read by six people.

  41. Selecting the Media • Frequency is the number of times a member of the target audience is exposed to the advertising message. • Frequency can be very high for radio and television. • The message losses effectiveness after a certain number of exposures; referred to as “wear-out.” • Lead time is the amount of time required to place an ad. • Lead time is very long for magazines, but very short for radio and newspapers.

  42. Creative Development • The advertising must reach the target audience and stand out. Being creative and original is the best way to achieve that goal. • Music – a jingle, background music, or characters singing • Dramatization – actors presenting a realistic situation • Testimonials – celebrities endorsing a product • Comedy – viewers who laugh at a commercial will remember it • Image advertising – attempting to evoke a mood or attitude • Product demonstration – showing the product in action

  43. Music I wish I were an Oscar Mayer Weiner That is what I truly wish to be cause if i were a oscarmayerweinereveryone would be in love oh everyone would be in love everyone would be in love with me

  44. Dramatization

  45. Testimonial

  46. Testimonial

  47. Comedy

  48. Product Demonstration

  49. Social Media Marketing • Social media marketing is a recent addition to an organization’s promotion plan. Social media marketing should be coordinated with the other elements of the promotional mix. • Social media marketing programs usually center on efforts to create content that attracts attention, generates online conversations, and encourages readers to share it with their social networks. • The message spreads from user to user and because it is coming from a trusted source, is considered more reliable than if it came directly from the organization.

  50. Regulating Advertising • The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) oversee all commerce and commercial communications in the United States. measures. • They uphold laws, decide cases, and enforce standards prohibiting misleading or deceptive advertising. • They have the power to require corrective action.

More Related