islamic calendar islamic month information n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
Islamic Calendar - Islamic Month Information PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
Islamic Calendar - Islamic Month Information

Islamic Calendar - Islamic Month Information

16 Views Download Presentation
Download Presentation

Islamic Calendar - Islamic Month Information

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. Islamic Calendar – Islamic Month Information The Islamic Calendar is Lunar Calendar Consisting 12 months in a year and 354 or 355 days. It's used in many Islamic Countries. It's also used Muslims to determine the proper days of Islamic holidays and rituals, such as the annual period of fasting and the proper time for the Pilgrimage to Mecca. The Islamic custom is consistent expressing that Arabs of Tihamah, Hejaz, and Najd distinguished between two types of months, permitted and forbidden months. The forbidden months were four months during which fighting is forbidden, listed as Rajab and the three months around the pilgrimage season, Dhu al-Qa‘dah, Dhu al-Hijjah, and Muharram. The three progressive sacred (forbidden) months said by Prophet Muhammad (months in which fights are taboo) are Dhu al-Qa'dah, Dhu al-Hijjah, and Muharram, months 11, 12, and 1 separately. The single prohibited month is Rajab, month 7. These months were viewed as illegal both inside the new Islamic Calendar and inside the old agnostic Makkah Calendar. 12th Hijri month Considered to Islamic Calendar: 1. Muharram 2. Safar 3. Rabi' I 4. Rabi' II 5. Jumada I 6. Jumada II 7. Rajab 8. Sha'ban 9. Ramadan 10. Shawwal 11. Dhul-Qi'dah 12. Dhul-Hijjah Islamic Calendar depends on the movement of the moon. The starting of each month is marked by the observance of the new moon seen for the first time. Visibility of the

  2. new moon depends on various of the new moon depends on various factors such as weather hence; Islamic Calendar is only an estimate of the future Islamic events. 1.Muharram: Muharram is the First month of Islamic Calendar. It's one of the four sacred months of the year. It's held to be the holiest month, The tenth day of Muharram is the day of Ashura. Some Islamic people fast during daylight hours on the 9-10th or 10-11th days of the month. They may also attend special prayer meetings in mosques or private homes. Ashura is a highly Important day for both sects of Islam - The Shias and the Sunnis. The Shia Muslims believe that Husayn ibn Ali, the grandson of the Islamic prophet Muhammad, became a martyr at the Battle of Karbala on the tenth day of Muharram in 61 AH(680 AD). 2.Safar: Safar month is the second month of Islamic Calendar. There are many misconceptions prevalent amongst the people regarding this month. 3. Rabi' I: Rabi' I month third month of Islamic Calendar. This month many Islamic people celebrate Mawlid - The Birthday of the Islamic Prophet Muhammad. l though the exact date is unknown, Sunni Islamic People believe the date of birth of Muhammad to have been on the twelfth of this month, whereas Shi'a Islamics believe him to have been born on the dawn of the 17th day. The Prophet himself never celebrated the mawlid, instead encouraged Islamic to fast Monday’s of every week due to his birthday being “on a Monday”. The name Rabī‘ al-awwal means the first month or beginning of spring, referring to its position in the pre-Islamic Arabian calendar. Hence this is considered to be a very blessed month. 4. Rabi' II: Rabi' II is the fourth month of the Islamic Calendar. It's also known as the Rabi' al- Thani month. Islamic Calendar month begin when the new moon is sighted. 5. Jumada I: Jumada I month fifth month of the Islamic Calendar. It's also known as the Jumada al- awwal month. This month spans 29 to 30 days. The origin of the name is as follows: the word "Jumda", from which the name of the month is derived, is used to denote dry parched land: land devoid of rain, and hence denotes the dry months.

  3. 6. Jumada II: Jumada II month sixth month of the Islamic Calendar. It's also Known as the Jumada al-Thani. The origin of the word is as follows: the word Jumda, from which the name of the month is derived, is used to denote dry parched land: land devoid of rain, and hence denote the dry months. 7. Rajab: Rajab is the seventh month of the Islamic Calendar. The lexical definition of Rajaba is "to respect", of which Rajab is a derivative. This month is regarded as one of the four sacred months in Islam in which battles are prohibited. Whoso observes fast (even one day) during the month of Rajab gets Allah's pleasure. Rajab is a great month of Allah. The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Fast some days of the sacred months and not others. 8. Sha'ban: Sha'ban is the eighth month of the Islamic Calendar. Sha'ban is last lunar month before Ramadan. and so Islamic People determine in it when the first day of Ramadan fasting will be. The Prophet mentioned in a hadith, "Rajab is the month of Allah, Shaban is my month and Ramadan is the month of the Nation". Ummul Mu'mineen 'Aishah (r), says, "Prophet Muhammad, used to fast for most of Shaban. I said to him, 'Messenger of Allah, is Shaban your favorite month for fasting?' He said, 'In this month Allah prescribes the list of the persons dying this year. Therefore, I like that my death comes when I am in a state of fasting.' " 9. Ramadan: Ramadan is the ninth month of the Islamic Calendar. Fasting during the month of Ramadan is one of the Five Pillars of Islam. The month is spent by Muslims fasting during the daylight hours from dawn to sunset. According to Islam, the Quran was sent down to the lowest heaven during this month, thus being prepared for gradual revelation by Jibreel (Gabriel) to the Islamic prophet Muhammad. Therefore, Muhammad told his followers that the gates of Heaven would be open for the entire month and the gates of Hell (Jahannam) would be closed. The first day of the next month, Shawwal is spent in celebration and is observed as the "Festival of Breaking Fast" or Eid al-Fitr. Ramadan month Celebrated on 29 to 30 Days.

  4. 10. Shawwal: Shawwal is the tenth month of the Islamic Calendar. Fasting during Shawwāl. The first day of Shawwāl is Eid al-Fitr. Some Islamic people observe six days of fasting during Shawwāl beginning the day after Eid ul-Fitr since fasting is prohibited on this day. These six days of fasting together with the Ramadan fasts are equivalent to fasting all year round. 11. Dhul-Qi'dah: Dhul-Qi'dah is the eleventh month of Islamic Calendar. Dhu'l-Qi'dah alternatively Zulqida is the eleventh month in the Islamic calendar. It is one of the four sacred months in Islam during which warfare is prohibited, hence the name "Master of Truce". 12. Dhul-Hijjah: Dhul-Hijjah is a twelveth month of Islamic Calendar. It is a very sacred month in the Islamic calendar, one in which the Hajj (pilgrimage) takes place as well as the Festival of the Sacrifice. "Dhu al-Hijjah" literally means "Possessor of the Pilgrimage" or "The Month of the Pilgrimage". For this month every Islamic people celebrated Eid-al-Adha Islamic Festival. Eid al-Adha, the "Festival of the Sacrifice", starting on the 10th day and ends on the sunset of the 13th. This Article Originally Posted: information.html