Novelist finding author read alikes
Download
1 / 16

NoveList: Finding Author Read-alikes - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 140 Views
  • Updated On :

NoveList: Finding Author Read-alikes. A patron walks into a Library…. Asking for author information such as: A list of all titles by an author Books like the ones written by their favorite author Or, your library might be planning an author-based program.

Related searches for NoveList: Finding Author Read-alikes

loader
I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
capcha
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'NoveList: Finding Author Read-alikes' - yates


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
Novelist finding author read alikes l.jpg

NoveList: Finding Author Read-alikes


A patron walks into a library l.jpg
A patron walks into a Library…

  • Asking for author information such as:

    • A list of all titles by an author

    • Books like the ones written by their favorite author

  • Or, your library might be planning an author-based program.

It’s impossible to be familiar with EVERY author. NoveList can help you answer questions about those authors that may have slipped under your radar.


A patron asks you about nora roberts l.jpg
A patron asks you about Nora Roberts…

Behind the Authors tab, you’ll find a list of authors matching your search terms.

Your search results will be laid out with Narrow Results by options to the left, book information in the center, and limiter options to the right.


The authors tab l.jpg
The Authors Tab

Clicking on an author’s name will take you to that author’s Detail page.

The Authors tab is where your find a list of authors whose names match your search terms, including any pseudonyms.


Author radio button l.jpg
Author Radio Button

Using the Author radio button is the fastest way to find author information.

If only one author matches your search terms, you’ll be taken directly to that Author Detail page. Searches with multiple results will give a list of matching authors.


Author detail page l.jpg
Author Detail Page

You’ll find up to nine recommendations for similar authors in the NoveList Also Recommends section.

The Author Detail page is where we’ve gathered everything we know about an author, including a short Description of the author’s work, lists of their books and series, and up to nine read-alike recommendations.


Novelist also recommends l.jpg
NoveList Also Recommends

We’ve taken the best part of our Author Read-alike articles – the “who” and “why” – and added that information to that Author Detail page.

Click Print All for a nicely formatted list of author recommendations with the reasoning behind them.

Hovering over the magnifying glass next to an author’s name will display a text box with an author description and reason why the recommendation is given.


Printing recommendations l.jpg
Printing Recommendations

Clicking Print All from the NoveList Also Recommends section will give you a nicely formatted list of author recommendations.

The Description for your author will be included at the top.

Each recommended author will be listed with the reason why they are suggested as a read-alike for your author.


Appeal terms l.jpg
Appeal Terms

To pin-point the aspects of an author’s work that interest readers, NoveList added a vocabulary of appeal terms. These are: Storyline, Pace, Tone, and Writing Style.

Click the Definition of Appeal Terms link to view an explanation of what Appeal is and Appeal Term charts for each reading level.


Search for more l.jpg
Search for More

While the NoveList Also Recommends section can help in a hurry, we know that recommendations are personal. If the recommendations provided aren’t what you’re looking for, create a customized search using the Search for More feature.

If your patron loves the romantic suspense and character-driven aspects of Roberts’ work, you can select those headings and get a result list of other authors whose books contain those appeal factors.


Books by this author tab l.jpg
Books by this author Tab

When you first open an Author Detail page, you will first see the contents of the Books by this Author tab.

Change the display format by selecting Detailed, Grid, Title Only, or Brief from the View drop-down

Click Print This View for a list of titles by this author as seen on your screen.

Sort titles by Date Descending, Relevance, Title, Date Ascending, or Popularity


Other tabs l.jpg
Other Tabs

When available, you’ll find a link to the author’s website, along with additional information like nationality, subject headings, and appeal factors, in the More about this Author tab.

In the Series by this Author tab, you’ll see a list of all series linked to their Series Detail pages. Like the Author Detail page, the Series Page is where you’ll find all NoveList information about that series.

All NoveList content related to this author will be found at the Lists & Articles tab. Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides and Feature Articles will be hyperlinked to the complete document.


Finding books by an author who writes like another l.jpg
Finding Books by an Author Who Writes Like Another

A patron walks into your library and says they’ve read all of Nora Roberts’ books, and she’s looking for an author who writes like Roberts. How do you find books by an author who writes like another?

Search reviews for mentions of your author: Enter the author’s name in quotes in the first Search field and select “RV Review” from the adjacent drop-down.

Exclude titles written by your author: Select “Not” from the Boolean drop-down. Enter the author’s name in the second field, and select “AU Author” from the adjacent drop-down

Access the Advanced Search page by clicking the link beneath the Search For… box.


Out of your comfort zone genre recommendations l.jpg
Out of your comfort zone?Genre Recommendations

A patron walks into your library and asks for science fiction author recommendations, and your go-to science fiction expert is out today. How do you find author recommendations in a genre you don’t read?

First, conduct a Basic Search by entering the genre in the Search For… box.

Select the Authors tab for a list of Science Fiction writers.

Find authors who use certain Appeal Factors by selecting options from the Narrow Results by section.

Use Audience and Publication Date limiters to find newer titles for your patron’s age level.


Out of your comfort zone series recommendations l.jpg
Out of your comfort zone?Series Recommendations

A patron asks you about a new series, and you’re not familiar with that series – or the author. For example, they mention Erin Hunter’s Warriors series.

First, conduct a Basic Search by entering the series and author in the Search For… box.

After finding the series your patron is looking for, click the Series Title link to access the Series Detail page. This is where you’ll find a list of titles in reading order.

If your patron wants recommendations for similar series or authors, click the link to access her Author Detail page.


Slide16 l.jpg

For more information, visit the NoveList Support Center at http://support.ebsco.com/novelist.

Here, you’ll find additional training and promotional materials, along with a list of Frequently Asked Questions and additional screen shots.

If you have any questions or feedback, please don’t hesitate to contact us by using the Feedback link at the top of any page in NoveList.