Google for TechnoPhobes- BizTechDay 2009 - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

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  1. Google for TechnoPhobes- BizTechDay 2009 David Rodnitzky

  2. Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html

  3. Search Engine Marketing (SEM) vs. Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

  4. Search Engine Marketing is Not Magic • Best practices in SEM can improve your business • SEM best practices cannot cure your business

  5. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective SEM Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html

  6. Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html

  7. Search Engines • The big three • Google (78% market share) • Yahoo (11%) • MSN/Bing (8%) • The “second tier” • AOL (Uses AdWords) • Ask (Mostly Google backfill) • The specialists • AdKnowledge • IndustryBrains (Marchex) • Business.com • QuigoAdSonar (AOL) • Pulse 360 • Kontera/Vibrant (in-text) Source: http://www.statcounter.com/images/pr/search-engine-us-apr-may-09.png

  8. Search Engines: Google • Google Search • Good: Easy, Reliable and Large • Bad: Competitive, Direct-Response, Quality Score • Google Content • Two types: Content, Placement • Good: Easy, Less Competitive, Latent Demand, No Quality Score • Bad: Inconsistent, Complex, Requires Effort

  9. Search Engines: Yahoo & MSN • Advantages • Less competitive • More account support • Less restrictive rules • Disadvantages: • Traffic volume much lower • User interfaces are terrible • Traffic quality inconsistent • Recommendation: • Optimize Google first, then worry about Yahoo and MSN

  10. Search Engines: “Other” • Vertical Search • Good: Targeted, Quality, Latent Demand • Bad: Expensive, Low Volume, “ROE” • Example sites: • AdKnowledge • QuigoAdSonar • Pulse360

  11. Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html

  12. Keywords = Overrated? • 2003: Keywords are king! • Long live the long tail • 2005: Google introduces “quality score” • Non-relevant keyword buys will cost you . . . a lot • 2006: Google expands “broad match” algorithm • Long tail starts to disappear • 2008: “Advanced” broad match introduced • Buy keyword, get matched on entire category • 2010: Just tell us your category? • What’s a keyword? Source: http://www.blogation.net/2006/08/do-keywords-matter-anymore.html

  13. Keyword Best Practices • Track each keyword (see tracking/reporting later) • Target keywords with appropriate landing pages and ad text • Bid at keyword level • Keyword research tools: • Google keyword tool: https://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal • SpyFu.com • AdLab.Microsoft.com • Raw search queries

  14. Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html

  15. Ad Text 101 • Call to action • Four human emotions • Fear • Greed • Exclusivity • Vanity • Targeted to specific ad group • Test, test, test – CTR X Conv. Rate Source: http://www.amazon.com/Direct-Mail-Copy-That-Sells

  16. Advanced Ad Text • Dynamic keyword insertion (DKI) • Display URLs & custom 404 pages • Google Checkout & PayPal • Tell the user what to do • Geo-targeting Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/four-tricks-to-gain-unfair-advantage-on.html

  17. Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html

  18. What’s A Landing Page? • Homepage can be a landing page but . . .

  19. Landing Page Success Factors • Clear call to action • Important data above the fold • Establish credibility • Highly targeted to your keyword & ad text • Function over form (limit flash, sound, etc) • Multiple methods of communication • Test, test, test • Quality score: contact us, privacy policy, about us, site map, load time Source: http://www.blogation.net/2006/03/why-landing-page-is-like-good-suit.html

  20. Landing Page Success Factors • Clear call to action • Important data above the fold • Establish credibility • Highly targeted to your keyword & ad text • Function over form (limit flash, sound, etc) • Multiple methods of communication • Test, test, test • Quality score: contact us, privacy policy, about us, site map, load time Source: http://www.blogation.net/2006/03/why-landing-page-is-like-good-suit.html

  21. Landing Page Success Factors • Clear call to action • Important data above the fold • Establish credibility • Highly targeted to your keyword & ad text • Function over form (limit flash, sound, etc) • Multiple methods of communication • Test, test, test • Quality score: contact us, privacy policy, about us, site map, load time Source: http://www.blogation.net/2006/03/why-landing-page-is-like-good-suit.html

  22. Landing Page Success Factors • Clear call to action • Important data above the fold • Establish credibility • Highly targeted to your keyword & ad text • Function over form (limit flash, sound, etc) • Multiple methods of communication • Test, test, test • Quality score: contact us, privacy policy, about us, site map, load time Source: http://www.blogation.net/2006/03/why-landing-page-is-like-good-suit.html

  23. Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html

  24. Basic Bidding Calculation • Basic bidding: RPC X (1-MG) where . . . • RPC = Revenue per click • MG = Margin goal • Example: Widget Co. has a 5% conversion rate on clicks to a white paper landing page. 1% of white paper downloads result in a sale with revenue of $5000. Margin goal is 20% on advertising. • 2000 clicks get 100 downloads and 1 sale. RPC is $5000/2000 or $2.50. $2.50 X (1 - .2) = $2 CPC.

  25. Campaign Management EcoSystem Monthly Spend $50,000+ mo $5,000 to $50,000 mo Under $5,000/mo Bid Management + Campaign Management Tools Bid Management + Full Service Agency Bid Management Only Services Offered

  26. Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html

  27. Reporting Data Sources • Search engines • APIs are available • Google desktop editor • Log files • Time stamp • Raw search query • Web analytics • Click path • Click overlay • CRM and sales team • Phone calls • Offline conversions

  28. What Metrics Matter for SEM? • Search engine metrics • CTR • CPC • Position • ROI metrics • Definition of a conversion • Conversion rate • Cost per lead • Margin goal • DB metrics • Offline conversions • Phone calls • Time of day • Geography

  29. Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html

  30. Targeting Options: Yesterday & Today • 2003: • Match type • Negative keywords • 2008: • Match type • Negative keywords • Site exclusion • IP exclusion • Site targeting • Geo-targeting • Day-parting • Demographic targeting • Positional targeting

  31. Consequences of Not Targeting • Advertiser A: • Buys 2000 keywords • No targeting or filtering • Gets lots of clicks on bad keywords, outside of geographic area and when office is closed. Turns off SEM after a few months. • Advertiser B: • Buys 2000 keywords • Quickly excludes non-performing keywords, ad text, geographies, times of day, and sites. • Dominates high conversion keywords with high bids and targeted messaging, pays nothing for bad keywords. Wins!

  32. Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html

  33. SEO Best Practice #1: Meta-Content • Meta Title, Meta Description, Meta Keywords • Title = 145 characters; Description = Two sentences • Search engines read from left to right • Each page needs separate meta-content • Be reasonable about the words you are trying to rank for

  34. SEO Best Practice #2: Relevant Content • Write unique content relevant to your business • Consider “keyword density” • Avoid duplicate content • 150-250 words minimum per page

  35. SEO Best Practice #3: Relevant Linking • Get relevant Web sites to link to your site • Ask them for specific “anchor text” • Avoid reciprocal links • Avoid “link farms” or “text link ads” • Create good internal linking structure

  36. Thank You! • Contact Info: • David Rodnitzky, david@ppcassociates.com • Company: www.ppcassociates.com • Blog: www.blogation.net • Conference: www.CRSconference.com • Networking group: www.onlineleadgen.org