slide1 n.
Download
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
ABOUT FBLA PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
ABOUT FBLA

Loading in 2 Seconds...

  share
play fullscreen
1 / 19
ulric

ABOUT FBLA - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

332 Views
Download Presentation
ABOUT FBLA
An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author. While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. { WHO WE ARE WHAT WE DO OUR HISTORY ABOUT FBLA

  2. WHO WE ARE • FBLA is a nationwide network of over 250,000 student leaders preparing for careers in business • FBLA takes what is fun about being a teenager and combines it with the skills needed to thrive in the business world • FBLA is officially known as Future Business Leaders of America – Phi Beta Lambda Inc. (FBLA-PBL Inc.) • LTC FBLA had over 300 members last year!

  3. WHAT WE DO • Meet and network with members from around the United States • Compete on the local, state, and national level • Develop leadership skills at state and national conferences • Travel around the country attending FBLA conferences and sightseeing

  4. OUR HISTORY • In 1937, Hamden L. Forkner proposes the concept of FBLA to business teachers • In 1947, Greenville High School chartered the first chapter in South Carolina • In 1949, South Carolina FBLA is given an official state charter from FBLA-PBL , Inc. • In 1996, the SC Department of Education gave control of FBLA to the SC FBLA Board of Directors and the SC FBLA Executive Council

  5. { CONFERENCES COMPETITIONS SERVICE Memberexperience

  6. COMPETITIVE EVENTS • All competitive events are unique • Team Events • Individual Events • Chapter Events • Skills Tests • Objective Tests • Presentations • Judge Interviews • Case Studies • FBLA offers a wide range of competitive events • Information Technology • Marketing/Hospitality • Business Management • Business Finance • Others (Health Care, Agriculture, and Sports)

  7. COMMUNITY SERVICE • Local chapters conduct community projects throughout the year • Food Banks • Homeless Centers • Habitat for Humanity • Shriners Hospital for Children Bear Cub Project • Donate Build-a-Bears to be given to the children at the hospital • Donations are collected at the SLC

  8. March of Dimes • March of Dimes is the FBLA national service partner • The MOD Mission is to help make sure every baby is born strong and healthy • FBLA-PBL raises over $100,000 yearly for the March of Dimes • Local and state chapters conduct fundraisers for March of Dimes • Members participate in walks called March for Babies

  9. { DISTRICT STATE NATIONAL Conferences

  10. State FallLeadership Conference An innovative conference that will introduce and welcome all FBLA members and advisers to the 2013-2014 year! • To be held on October 12, 2013 • Westwood High School in Blythewood, SC (Columbia Area) • Workshops, round table discussions, open competitive events, and exciting sessions

  11. District Leadership Conference • Four District Leadership Conferences • Top five in each event qualify for SLC • To be held on February 1st, 2014 • First round of competitive events • Opened to all registered members

  12. State Leadership Conference • March 21-23 at Embassy Suites/Charleston Convention Center in North Charleston • Workshops, exciting sessions, college/business exhibitors, campaigns, and competitions • Top three in all competitive events qualify for national competition

  13. National Leadership Conference • June 29-July 2 in NASHVILLE, TN! • Over 9,000 Members/Advisers • National Competitions • Networking Opportunities • Inspirational Speakers • Workshops and Exhibitors RISE UP to the FBLA EXPERIENCE!

  14. Overview • FBLA is the best business student organization! • By teenagers for teenagers • Travel the country • Meet thousands of new people • Compete and win scholarships • Gain business leadership skills • Have the time of your life

  15. Stay Informed www.scfbla.org

  16. Contact the State Officer Team PRESIDENT Hunter Harley hunter@scfbla.org DISTRICT I VICE PRESIDENT Jodi Croat jodi@scfbla.org DISTRICT II VICE PRESIDENT Alaina Miller alaina@scfbla.org DISTRICT III VICE PRESIDENT Aleah James aleah@scfbla.org DISTRICT IV VICE PRESIDENT Kaelah Primus kaelah@scfbla.org SECRETARY Wes Davis wes@scfbla.org TREASURER Wayne Russ wayne@scfbla.org REPORTER Avery Carter avery@scfbla.org MIDDLE LEVEL REP. Justin Cameron justin@scfbla.org

  17. State Key Contacts DISTRICT I DIRECTOR Angie Dover adover@laurens55.org DISTRICT II DIRECTOR Tracy Wilbur twilbur@scfbla.org DISTRICT III DIRECTOR Gwen Floyd gfloyd@scfbla.org DISTRICT IV DIRECTOR Angela Childs-Kindred Angela_Childs-Kindred@charleston.k12.sc.us STATE ADVISER Pat Itter pitter@scfbla.org STATE OFFICERS' ADVISER Rita Beard rbeard@scfbla.org STATE FALL CONFERENCE DIRECTOR Peggy Bozard pbozard@scfbla.org South Carolina FBLA PO Box 90329 Columbia, SC 29290 Telephone 803.603.3994 FAX 803.783.0713

  18. For Additional Information: Mr. Tony Dillon, Education Associate Business & Marketing Education SC Dept of Education tdillon@ed.sc.gov FBLA-PBL, Inc. http://www.fbla-pbl.org Presentation prepared by Hunter Harley, SC FBLA State President