Download
how can baylor and usaa attract more women and minorities into technical fields n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
How Can Baylor and USAA Attract More Women and Minorities into Technical Fields PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
How Can Baylor and USAA Attract More Women and Minorities into Technical Fields

How Can Baylor and USAA Attract More Women and Minorities into Technical Fields

122 Views Download Presentation
Download Presentation

How Can Baylor and USAA Attract More Women and Minorities into Technical Fields

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. How Can Baylor and USAA Attract More Women and Minorities into Technical Fields A Research Project by Baylor’s MIS Leadership Team

  2. Objectives • Research motivation • Research method • Results • Current program demographics • Actions Baylor’s MIS and Computer Science Programs are Taking • Recommendations for USAA

  3. Motivation • Supply-demand gap in technical fields • Workforce is becoming more diverse • Too few women and minorities choose technical fields • Companies are under pressure to diversify their workforce

  4. Research Methods • Literature Review • Case Research • Survey

  5. Literature Review: Subjects

  6. Literature Review: Methods

  7. Open-Ended Questions (7 students) Literature Review Interview Guide Interviews (20 students) Interview Analysis Survey Survey Analysis

  8. Interview Demographics

  9. Results

  10. IS THIS THE RIGHT CHOICE? CHOOSE MAJOR IN MIS OR COMPUTER SCIENCE Yes ARE ENCOURAGED Person Success Event Seeking Information Addressing Concerns CHOOSE A DIFFERENT MAJOR No Evaluating Self

  11. Information Sources

  12. Job Market

  13. Job Characteristics

  14. Department Characteristics

  15. Addressing Concerns • Self • Society • Job

  16. Evaluating Self

  17. Actions Baylor’s IS and Computer Science Programs Are Taking

  18. Where We Are

  19. Initiatives • Computer Science • Renaissance Scholar Summer Camps • ECS Line Camp • ECS Women in Engineering Day • MIS • IS Summit • MIS Tailgate • Mentoring

  20. Suggestions for USAA

  21. Be Visible • IT positions are not just coding • New hires do not need to know everything • Be encouraging • Emphasize variety of career opportunities • Send a diverse recruiting team • IT is exciting!

  22. Thank You

  23. Contact Information Jonathan Sprague Jonathan_Sprague@baylor.edu David Cook David_Cook2@baylor.edu Steven Follis Steven_Follis@baylor.edu Chasidy Griffin Chasidy_Griffin@baylor.edu Hope Koch Hope_Koch@baylor.edu Sunny Nelson Sunny_Nelson@baylor.edu Kate Petusky Kate _Petusky@baylor.edu Jessica Potter Jessica_Potter@baylor.edu