Download
national consortium on deaf blindness n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
National Consortium on Deaf-Blindness PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
National Consortium on Deaf-Blindness

National Consortium on Deaf-Blindness

547 Views Download Presentation
Download Presentation

National Consortium on Deaf-Blindness

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. National Consortium on Deaf-Blindness January 2009

  2. National Consortium on Deaf-Blindness • Understand the components and services of the national consortium • Understand the connections and inter-related links to services and resources for DB students, families, and professionals • Understand NCDB’s commitment to a leadership role in DB personnel training January 2009

  3. NCDB Mission “To collaborate with other projects, organizations and agencies to build the capacity of families, services providers and systems throughout the nation in service of the highest possible quality of life for children and youth who are deaf-blind.” www.nationaldb.org January 2009

  4. January 2009

  5. NCDB Objectives 1.Communicate, collaborate and form partnerships 2. Implement an ongoing, multi-level needs assessment 3. Provide national leadership in the implementation of evidence-based practices 4. Implement an array of technical assistance and personnel training 5. Utilize partnerships to build the capacity of youth and families to promote empowerment and self-advocacy 6. Provide national leadership to promote personnel training to address the shortage of leadership and highly qualified personnel 7. Identify, collect, organize and disseminate information related to deaf-blindness 8. Expand the utilization of information resources by developing and disseminating accessible products 9. Implement a comprehensive system of evaluation January 2009

  6. NCDB Model • Evolutionary model based on 50 years of DB work • Collaborative partnerships and relationships • Consistent focus to improve services • Out-of-the-box thinking and planning January 2009

  7. Personnel Training Technical Assistance DB-LINK Info Services National Consortium ON Deaf-Blindness January 2009

  8. NCDB’s Technical Assistance TA services are delivered through a combination of three types of activities: • State specific TA & training • Multi-state TA & training • National TA & training January 2009

  9. Functions of DB-LINK • Identify & organize information • Create & manage databases • Provide personalized inquiry-response • Coordinate dissemination • Develop & maintain website and products • Serve technical assistance providers • Collaborate nationwide • Provides largest and only DB clearinghouse in nation January 2009

  10. RSA Organizations and agencies Libraries State DB projects Individuals who are deaf-blind Communities of practice Researchers Legal professionals Medical professionals Psychological professionals Social service programs SEA/LEA Voc Rehab General public Rehab programs OSEP TA/D projects Families/siblings Educators Related service providers Info centers Information Services Technical Assistance Personnel Training Information Services and Dissemination Information Services Technical Assistance Personnel Training Information/Knowledge Management January 2009

  11. Personnel Training • Desired Outcome • Facilitate development of national personnel training and leadership consortium • Partners • 14 universities offering some level of training in deaf-blindness to service providers • Activity • 3 meetings; 4 conference calls; many emails! January 2009

  12. Personnel Training System Outcomes • Development and submission of teacher and intervener competencies to CEC for program accreditation • Development and submission of collaborative low incidence personnel preparation grant to increase number of highly qualified teachers • Development of research design matrix to categorize research-based and evidence-based practices in the field • Development of strong, ongoing collaborative relationships across programs and faculty January 2009

  13. NCDB Personnel Prep Consortium Work on Deaf Blindness was provided a forum through NCDB to move critical efforts forward. January 2009

  14. NCDB Personnel Prep Consortium GOAL: Provide leadership in personnel training in the field of deaf-blindness. 1. National personnel training and leadership consortium 2. Personnel training activities 3. Collaboration with Personnel preparation programs January 2009

  15. Planned and Accomplished Deaf Blind competencies for interveners and teachers submitted to Council for Exceptional Children January 2009

  16. Deaf Blind Research • IN PROCESS: Planning, collecting, and organizing research to assess what has been done and what needs to be investigated. January 2009

  17. IN PROCESS Web-Based Repository • Video clips • Web resource sharing • Evidence-based resources January 2009

  18. RESULTS: Helen Keller Fellows Project • OSEP Combined Priority for Personnel Preparation Grant • Improve the quality and increase the number of personnel in chronic shortage area January 2009

  19. Focus of HK Fellows • Increase teacher leadership in deaf blindness • Network across the nation • Learn from DB experts January 2009

  20. Each Year Each Cohort • Participates in webinars • Attends DB Topical • Attends DB Leadership Seminar • Interns with State DB Project January 2009

  21. Outcome of HK Fellows Through the opportunities to meet, interact, and work with current experts in the field of deaf blindness Four Cohorts will be encouraged and mentored as new DB leaders. January 2009

  22. Importance of this Model • May be able to replicate it in other low incidence areas. • Demonstrates collaboration across universities and states. January 2009

  23. Boston College East Carolina U Hunter College of City U of NY San Francisco State U Texas Tech U U of New Orleans Dr. Susan Bruce, 617.552.4180, susan.bruce@bc.edu Dr. Susan Bashinski, 252.737.1705, bashinskis@ecu.edu Dr. Roseanne Silberman, 212.772.4740, rsilberm@hunter.cuny.edu Liz Hartmann, 415.867.8948, lizhartmann@gmail.com Dr. Roseanna Davidson, 806.742.1997, roseanna.davidson@ttu.edu Dr. Bill Sharpton, 504.280.1398,wsharpto@uno.edu University Resources January 2009

  24. U of Alabama – Birmingham U of Arizona U of Southern Mississippi Utah State U of Utah Dr. Mary Jean Sanspree, 205.934.6723, sanspree@uab.edu Dr. Stephanie MacFarland, 520.621.5165, szm@u.arizona.edu Dr. Linda McDowell, 601.606.8040, linda.mcdowell@usm.edu Linda Alsop, 435.797.5598, linda.alsop@usu.edu Dr. Cathy Nelson, 801.585.3260, cathy.nelson@utah.edu University Resources January 2009

  25. AK-Patrick Pillai, 907.562.7372, ppillai@sesa.org AL-Mary Jean Sanspree, 205.934.6723, sanspree@uab.edu AR-Martha Kay Asti, 501.682.4248, martha.asti@arkansas.gov AZ-Cindi Robinson, 520.770.3861, crobinson@asdb.state.az.us CA-Maurice Belote, 415.405.7558, mbelote@sfsu.edu CO-Tanni Anthony, 303.866.6681, Anthony_T@cde.state.co.us DE-Peggy Lashbrook, 302.454.2305, lashbrookm@christina.k12.de.us FL-Dr. Regina Bussing, 352.273.7550, rbussing@ufl.edu GA-Dr. Kathryn Heller, 404.413.8040, kheller@gsu.edu HI-Jessica Lundblad, 808.222.8466, taule@hawaii.edu State and Multi-State DB Projects January 2009

  26. IA-Patrick Clancy, 319.472.5221, pclancy@iowa-braille.k12.ia.us ID- Robin Greenfield, 208.364.4012, rgreen@uidaho.edu IL-Tina Lechnick, 630.790.2474, PRC@aol.com IN-Karen Goehl, 812.237.2827, kgoehl@indstate.edu KS-Diane Haynes, 502.777.6235, diane.haynes@ksb.kyschools.us LA-Joyce Russo, 225.3423640, Joyce.Russo@la.gov MA-Tracy Evans Luiselli, 617.972.7517, tracy.luiselli@perkins.org MD-Dianne Kelly, 301.405.7915, dmkelly@umd.edu MI-Beth Kennedy, 989. 774.2725, Beth.Kenndy@cmich.edu MN-Sally Prouty, 612.638.1525, sally.prouty@metroecsu.org State and Multi-State DB Projects January 2009

  27. MO-Jennie Mascheck, 314.776.4320, jmascheck@msb.k12.mo.us MS-Dr. Linda McDowell, 601.266.5135, linda.mcdowell@usm.edu MT-Gail McGregor, 406.243.2348, mcgregor@ruralinstitute.umt.edu NC-Chris Jones, 919.807.3243, cjones@dpi.state.nc.us ND-Sherri Nelson, 701.795.2730, shnelson@nd.gov NE-Teresa Coonts, 402.595.1810, teresa.coonts@nebraska.gov NJ-Jerry Petroff, 609.771.2998, JerryGP@aol.com NM-Molly McLaughlin, 505 272.4349, mmclaughlin@salud.unmm.edu NV-MaryAnn Demchak, 775.784.6471, mad@unr.edu NY-Sam Morgan, 718.997.4853, samuel.morgan@qc.cuny.edu OH-Thomas Stephens, 614.785.1163, tstephens@ssco.org State and Multi-State DB Projects January 2009

  28. OK-Jan Watts, 405.325.0441, jwatts@ou.edu OR-Lyn Ayer, 503.838.8328, ayerl@wou.edu PA-Juli Baumgarner, 412.826.2338, jbaumgarner@pattan.net RI-Susan Dell, 401.456.8557, sdell@ric.edu SC-Carol Mabry, 803.734.8222, cmabry@scsdb.org SD-Rose Moehring, 605.357.1437, rose.moehring@usd.edu TN-Jennifer Vick, 615.936.3329, jennifer.vick@vanderbilt.edu TX-Cyral Miller, 512.206.9242, cyralmiller@tsbvi.edu UT-Darla Fowers, 801.629.4730, darlaf@usdb.org VA- Peggy Sinclair, 804.827.2377, psinclairmor@vcu.edu VT-Susan Edelman, 802.656.8554, susan.edelman@uvm.edu WA-Nancy Hatfield, 425.917.7828, nhatfield@psesd.org State and Multi-State DB Projects January 2009

  29. WI-Marcy Dicker, 262.787.9540, marcy.dicker@wesp-dhh.wi.gov WV-Annette Carey, 304.558.2696, acarey@access.k12.wv.us WY-Joanne Whitson, 307.324.5333, jwhits@educ.state.wy.us PR-Marta Sanabria, 787.753.7981, Sanabria_Ma@de.gobierno.pr VI-Jill Singer, 340.776.5802, jsinger@usviosep.org State and Multi-State DB Projects January 2009

  30. Background of NCDB Combined efforts: • The Teaching Research Institute (TRI) at Western Oregon University • Helen Keller National Center (HKNC) • Hilton-Perkins Program at Perkins School for the Blind January 2009

  31. TRI • The Teaching Research Institute has conceived, led, managed and elevated technical assistance, dissemination, symposia and product development activities in the area of deaf blindness for three decades. January 2009

  32. HKNC • Helen Keller National Center has provided national leadership in deaf-blindness and services to youth and adults who are deaf-blind since it was established by Congress in 1967. January 2009

  33. TRI and HKNC Have operated the National Technical Assistance Consortium for Children and Young Adults who Deaf-Blind (NTAC) January 2009

  34. Perkins School for the Blind • Perkins School for the Blind has served children who are deaf-blind for more than 150 years and operates the Hilton/Perkins Program, which provides consultation, training and technical assistance related to deaf-blindness throughout the nation and in developing countries. January 2009

  35. TRI, HKNC, Perkins Have operated the National Information Clearinghouse on Children and Youth who are Deaf-Blind (DB-LINK) January 2009

  36. N T A C DB - LINK Supporting echnical ssistance and s to information Informing January 2009

  37. Questions Further information, please contact: Dr. Christina Reagle Teaching Research Institute 503.838.8871 reaglec@wou.edu January 2009