The experience called grief
1 / 17

The Experience Called Grief - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

The Experience Called Grief. Gary D. Smith, MAEd. Five Stages of Normal Reaction to Loss. Denial Anger Bargaining Depression Acceptance. Photo by Ken Ross. Death brings a flood of feelings and emotions to each person in their own way!. Feeling.

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'The Experience Called Grief' - meagan

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
The experience called grief

The Experience Called Grief

Gary D. Smith, MAEd.

Five stages of normal reaction to loss
Five Stages of NormalReaction to Loss

  • Denial

  • Anger

  • Bargaining

  • Depression

  • Acceptance

Photo by Ken Ross

Feeling in their own way!

A sense of knowing or an impression on the mind

Microsoft clipart

Emotion in their own way!

A mental and bodily reaction accompanied by a strong feeling

Microsoft clipart

Stages of grief

Denial in their own way!


the loss



the pain


Experiencing the pain

Re-adjusting to the loss


Finding a way to move on

Stages of Grief

Acknowledging the loss may be hard
Acknowledging the Loss in their own way!May be Hard

  • Shock

  • Disbelief

  • Confusion

  • Anxiety

  • Panic

Microsoft clipart

Children acknowledging the loss
Children Acknowledging in their own way!the Loss

  • Anger

  • Frustration

  • Questioning

  • Guilt

  • Copying the behaviors of others

Global Star software

Adults acknowledging the loss
Adults acknowledging the loss in their own way!

  • Anger

  • Frustration

  • Guilt

  • Blaming others

  • A sense of loss of control

Microsoft clipart

The Faces of Grief are Different in their own way!

in Each Person

Disorientation Phase

  • Despair

  • Lowered self-esteem

  • Pre-occupation

  • Loneliness

  • State of disequilibria

  • Tearful

Microsoft clipart

Bargaining experiencing the pain
Bargaining / Experiencing in their own way!thePain

  • Disorientation

  • Fear

  • Loss of Control

  • State of Limbo

  • Frustration

  • Vulnerable

Microsoft clipart

Depression with the pain
Depression / With the Pain in their own way!

  • Helplessness

  • Hopelessness

  • Resentment

  • Bitterness

  • Emptiness

  • Sadness

Global Star Software

Bargaining and adjustment adaptation
Bargaining and Adjustment in their own way!( Adaptation )

  • Re-adjusting to the loss

  • Struggling with new roles

    and responsibilities

  • Envy

  • Yearning

  • Missing

Microsoft clipart

Microsoft clipart

Acceptance a sense of healing

Developing a new in their own way!


New Relationships

New Activities

New Hope

A Sense of Healing

Acceptance a Sense of Healing

Global Star Software

Acceptance reconciling the loss
Acceptance Reconciling in their own way!The Loss

  • Hope for the future

  • Growth from the trial

  • Healing from the heart

  • Remembering with less pain

Global Star Software

Rainbows give us hope for the future and build bridges over our trials
Rainbows in their own way!GiveUsHopeForThe FutureAndBuildBridgesOverOur Trials.

There is life after grief
There Is Life After Grief in their own way!