Work-Based Learning : What to do during YOP? - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

work based learning what to do during yop n.
Download
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
Work-Based Learning : What to do during YOP? PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
Work-Based Learning : What to do during YOP?

play fullscreen
1 / 23
Work-Based Learning : What to do during YOP?
113 Views
Download Presentation
jayden
Download Presentation

Work-Based Learning : What to do during YOP?

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. Work-Based Learning: What to do during YOP? Laura Fidler, NAF Instructional Manager, laura@naf.org

  2. Webinar Housekeeping • Participants will automatically be muted • “Raise Hand” feature should be used for technical support • Questions and comments should be typed in the “Question Box” • PowerPoint available in our Community Forum section under “work-based learning” on www.naf.org website

  3. Please practice using your question box by answering the following question: What is your favorite movie?

  4. Session Objectives • YOP: Intro to Work-Based Learning • How does NAF define work-based learning? • What is a 4-year sequenced work-based learning plan? • What is a quality work-based learning experience? • What are the benefits of having a work-based learning plan?

  5. What is work-based learning?

  6. NAF Definition Work-based learning refers to a continuum of activities, both in and outside the classroom, that provide opportunities for students to connect what they are learning in the classroom to the world of work; to learn about careers and the education and training requirements for occupations within and across industries; to identifycareer interests and aptitudes, and to use the workplace for both learning and applyingcollege- and career-readiness skills and knowledge.

  7. NAF Guide to Work-Based Learning

  8. Awareness of one’s own abilities and performance - Self-directed; takes initiative; resourcefulness Core academic content knowledge (e.g. English, mathematics, science, history, arts) - Post-secondary context knowledge (admissions requirements, affording college, and different college types) Collaboration and teamwork - Ethical behavior - Ability to work with diverse individuals Core career content knowledge (e.g. knowledge specific to profession) - Career context knowledge (e.g., pathway requirements and qualifications) -Critical and systemic thinking and problem solving - Information literacy; Creativity and Innovation ; Organizational/technology skills - Time management; Flexibility and adaptability - Communication (oral and written, listening and observation)

  9. Work-Based Learning continuum….huh? • Prepare students for the workplace • Prepare employers to work with high school students • Make the connection between academic learning and the workplace • Teacher externships

  10. Example • Initiative & resourcefulness • Professionalism & Ethics • Quantitative reasoning 1. build an awareness of the variety of careers available and begin to identify areas of interest 2. Comprehends verbal, written, and visual information and instructions; listens effectively Understands how school relates to the world of work Observes non-verbal communication; articulates and presents ideas and information clearly and effectively both verbally and in written form 1.Acquire the basic foundational skills needed for college and career readiness 2.demonstrates integrity and ethical behavior; and acts responsibly with others in mind. 1.Connect students’ existing interests and strengths, helping them refine their areas of interest and explore careers and interests more deeply/ 2. exercises sound reasoning and analytical thinking

  11. Example: Students will be able to…..what?

  12. NAF Curriculum WBL ties: AnExample AOHT Principles of Hospitality and Tourism Lesson 8 Entertainment • Culminating Project Work: Writing the Itinerary • Students work together to draft their itinerary. • This activity focuses on the following career skills: • Working effectively with a diversity of individuals and perspectives • Utilizing time efficiently while managing complex tasks • Tell students to spend this time sketching out the details of their itineraries. They must also choose one person to type their itinerary on the computer. Walk among the groups, making sure that they are making good progress and offering suggestions and support as appropriate

  13. Core Academics and Career Knowledge Core Academics Career Knowledge Core career content knowledge Career context knowledge • Core academic content knowledge • Post-secondary context knowledge Provide an example of a work-based learning experience that can support the development of any of these skills

  14. Quality Work-Based Learning experiences should all:

  15. Interpersonal Skills and Self Management Abilities Interpersonal Skills Self Management Awareness of one’s own abilities and performance Self-directed; takes initiative; resourcefulness • Collaboration and teamwork • Ethical behavior • Ability to work with diverse individuals Provide an example of a work-based learning experience that can support the development of any of these skills

  16. AB / BP Opportunities for Involvement

  17. Examples of work-based learning activities

  18. Why Gen Y Needs SupportEdWeek 2013 • Lack skills for dealing with difficult people or conflict • Little understanding of the hidden curriculum or soft skills: Eye contact, social etiquette & appropriate personal interactions • Professionalism, especially if perceived as compromising “self” • The idea of “paying one’s dues” • Inability to cope with failure, loss, or disappointment • Impatience and impulsivity: Want to see results and rewards quickly • Tend to give up in the absence of immediate results

  19. Benefits of a Work-Based Learning Plan • Gain State CTE Program Approval • Helps ‘make the case’ for work-based learning as an effective instructional strategy • Markets your academy program to prospective students, business partners and colleges….and colleagues (aka: buy-in) • Gives your students an edge in a tough economy • Provides sequence and structure to your WBL activities

  20. Have we met our objectives?

  21. Let NAF know about your events! We can publicize your great work via our website and Facebook page! Contact Dana Pungello, Communications Manager dpungello@naf.org

  22. NAF Regional Support Northeast Region Tanya Navas, Regional Director tnavas@naf.org Laura Fidler, Instructional Manager lfidler@naf.org Maria Alutto, Academy Development Director malutto@naf.org Sarah Hickert, Academy Development Manager NYC shickert@naf.org Jen Geisler, Network Liaison jgeisler@naf.org West Region Central Region Rebecca Privett, Regional Director rprivett@naf.org JessicaFelix, Academy Development Manager jfelix@naf.org Fred Press, Network Liaison fpress@naf.org Dan Wallace, Instructional Manager dwallace@naf.org Beth Kay, Regional Director bkay@naf.org Morgan Pulleyblank, Academy Development Mgr mpulleyblank@naf.org Aazam Irilian, Academy Development Mgrarilian@naf.org Ana Morrison, Network Liaison amorrison@naf.org Southeast Region Jeanine Flynn, Regional Director jflynn@naf.org Steve Brown, Academy Development Director sbrown@naf.org Jeanne Friedman, Academy Development Director jfriedman@naf.org Dan Wallace, Instructional Manager dwallace@naf.org Tony Asplin, Network Liaison aasplin@naf.org