The Pennsylvania Driverâ€™s License. Driving is not a right but a privilege, granted and revocable at any time. The Pennsylvania Driverâ€™s License. Learn how to handle your car properly and safely so you can drive for a long time !
Driving is not a right but a privilege, granted and revocable at any time.
CLASSES & DESCRIPTIONS
There are different types of vehicles that you can drive in Pennsylvania, and they may also require different skills. As a result, they may have different age requirements. Pennsylvania offers different licenses that allow you to drive specific types of vehicles. Most drivers will be issued a Class C driver’s license, which is what you will get once you successfully complete your road test. Below is a summary of the different classes of licenses, the vehicles the license allows you to drive, and the minimum age required to apply:
Commercial Driver's License (CDL)
Any Pennsylvania resident who wishes to legally drive upon Pennsylvania public roads must have a driver's license.
Driver’s License Formats
Applying for a Pennsylvania Driver's License
If applying for a Pennsylvania driver's license for the first time, you must first obtain a learner’s permit. You will need to complete the following steps (you cannot apply for your permit until your 16th birthday):
Who must be licensed?
Acceptable documents for proof of identity (U.S. citizens; Social Security card and one form required):
A valid U.S. passport may be used as proof of U.S. citizenship.
WHAT DO YOU HAVE?
To apply for a learner’s permit or driver's license, you need to bring proof of your identity, your Social Security card, proof of any name changes, and proof of Pennsylvania residency (if 18 or older only), for a minimum total of two documents, not including applications. Look at the documents you do have and list below what you can bring with you to establish your identity.
TESTING FOR YOUR LICENSE
The Vision Test
TESTING FOR YOUR LICENSE
The Knowledge Test
The second exam you must take is a knowledge test.
The second exam you must take is a knowledge test, which measures your knowledge of Pennsylvania’s traffic laws, safe driving methods, and awareness of highway signs and markings. The test consists of 18 multiple choice questions and you must answer 15 correctly to pass. You are allowed to request an oral exam, which is available in both English and Spanish. If you need an interpreter, you must make an appointment at least two weeks in advance and give at least three dates you are able to take the test. This is necessary to give PennDOT time to hire an appropriate interpreter. PennDOT will then confirm a test date with you.
If you fail the knowledge test, the examiner will return your learner’s permit application and parent/guardian consent form to you. You will be permitted to retake the knowledge test the next business day; be sure to bring back your application and parent/guardian consent form.
The Road Test
The examiner will be looking for good driving skills such as:
Remember, the examiner is there to test you, so it is a good idea not to ask questions while taking the test. If you have any questions about what you did wrong, ask after the road test. Once you pass the road test, you will be issued a temporary Pennsylvania driver's license. The license will be valid for 15 days and can be used as identification like a permanent driver’s license. PennDOT will mail you your permanent driver’s license within 15 days. By the time you receive the permanent license, you need to destroy the temporary license.
What if I fail the road test?
GRADUATED DRIVERS LICENSING FOR DRIVERS UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE
Driving is an important responsibility. As a minor applying for a Pennsylvania learner’s permit, you must have a parent, guardian, person in loco parentis who is at least 21 years of age, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older complete the Parent or Guardian consent form (DL-180TD), as stated earlier in this module. Pennsylvania’s graduated driver’s license program puts young drivers between the ages of 16 and 18 through a three-step process to help them gain some valuable experience behind the wheel. If you think about some of your favorite games, consider that you had to learn how to play before you became good at them. It’s similar with driving.
1. Junior Learner’s Permit
2. Junior Driver's License
You must complete at least 65 hours of supervised driving practice to get a license at 17 ½.
3. Regular Driver’s License
Suspensions for Drivers Under 18
WHAT DO YOU THINK?
WHAT DO YOU THINK?
ACTIONS AGAINST THE DRIVER'S LICENSE
As previously mentioned, driving is a privilege granted to you by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. In order to keep that privilege, you must continue to drive safely, obey traffic laws, and respect the driving rights of other motorists. If you do not, PennDOT can suspend, revoke or cancel your driving privilege.
Suspension - When your license or permit is suspended, your privilege to drive is withdrawn for a definite period of time. The length depends on the severity of the violation. The more serious violations usually call for a longer suspension. You will be required to surrender your driver’s license or learner’s permit, and you can get your driving privilege back only after you serve your suspension. But you must meet certain conditions before PennDOT reinstates, or returns, your license. These include paying a reinstatement fee and possibly taking a special driver’s examination or attending a driver improvement school.
THE PENNSYLVANIA POINT SYSTEM
Mandatory Suspensions and Revocations
OFFICERS WORKING FOR PUBLIC SAFETY