10 likes | 148 Views
If you are a resident of Maryland and have your own vehicle, then you must have it properly insured before driving on a Maryland public road. Read more.
E N D
Article: Farmersmart.com MARYLAND AUTO INSURANCE LAWS AND REGULATIONS THAT YOU SHOULD KNOW If you are a resident of Maryland and have your own vehicle, then you must have it properly insured before driving on a Maryland public road. Otherwise according to Maryland auto insurance you will attract severe penalties that include but is not limited to your registration getting revoked and license plate being confiscated. Apart from this you might be required to pay some additional penalties too. Before buying a car insurance in Maryland it is important for vehicle owners to know that a “fault” system is followed by the State for determining who is responsible for the damages once an accident has taken place. It means that the driver who is responsible for causing the accident will be on the financial hook for the injuries or damages that he has caused. Normally it is the insurance provider of the driver in fault that pays the required amount depending upon the terms and conditions of the driver’s insurance policy. According to Maryland car insurance laws there are three ways in which a person who has suffered bodily injury or property damages due to a car accident may seek compensation and those are: By filing a claim under his own insurance policy By filing a personal injury lawsuit against the driver at fault and By filing a claim through the insurance policy of the driver responsible for the accident. On the other hand, in no-fault car insurance states, an injured person can file a claim against the driver only after he has reached a statutory threshold of damages or after first exhausting the limits of his insurance policy – regardless of who has caused the accident. According to Maryland car insurance laws, for operating his vehicle anywhere in the State, a car owner must maintain a certain order of liability insurance that will protect both the driver and also the other people in case of an accident. Following is the minimum coverage amount required for all car owners driving their vehicles in Maryland: $30,000 for injury or death of a single person $60,000 for injury or death of multiple persons in a single accident $15,000 for property damage These are only minimum limits required by the law of the State and carrying additional coverage is certainly a better idea because if the damages you have caused exceed the limits of your auto insurance, then you could be held personally responsible for paying up the excess amount that is not covered by your policy. Car owners are also required to keep in mind that according to the laws, all Maryland auto insurance policies must include underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage for protecting a driver in situations when an accident is caused due to the fault of another driver, who is either insufficiently insured or not insured at all. In those situations the insurance company will be liable to pay you the additional amount that is not covered by the policy of the driver at fault. For more authentic information on Maryland auto insurance laws, you can visit Farmerssmart.com. ABOUT THE AUTHOR Rena Wingate is an expert in the insurance industry in Maryland. She recommends Farmerssmart.com for the best insurance plans at lower rates in order to protect your homes, auto, cars and business in Maryland.