Driver Education Chapter 1 (pg 6-26) New Jersey Driver License System
Laws Governing Driver Licenses • A motorist who operates a vehicle in the state of New Jersey must carry: • A valid driver license OR • A valid provisional license OR • A validated New Jersey permit • The motorist must also carry: • Valid auto insurance AND • Vehicle registration cards
More Laws • A motorist who changes addresses must report this change to the MVC within 1 week after moving. • A motorist who legally changes his or her name must report the change within 2 or 3 weeks. • A motorist with a valid out-of-state license who moves to NJ must apply for a NJ license within 60 days, or before the current license expires, whichever comes first. (CDL-30 days)
Laws Continued • Individuals who have never had a driver license must complete the Graduated Driver License (GDL) program before getting a basic driver license. • All applicants for a NJ driver license who are under 18 yrs of age must present a consent form signed by a parent or guardian. • GDL, special learner and examination permits are valid until all qualifications for a provisional license are met, or for 2 years, whichever comes first. All others are valid for 90 days.
Digital Driver License • DDL issued in 2004 • along with the 6 pts. of identification, helps to eliminate fraud and abuse. • Includes nearly 2 dozen security features, including photos/signature • Motorists under the age of 21 are issued a distinctive vertical format • Most DDLs issued are valid for 4 yrs.
Samples Each is for a different type of license. Which is which?
Types of New Jersey Licenses Keep in mind: Testing for commerical, motorcycle, and moped licenses will require the use of topic-specific manuals in addition to using the driver manual.
More Types of Licenses
6 Point ID verification Prove your age, identity, & legal presence You are REQUIRED to show: • At least one primary document • At least one secondary document • At least six points of ID • Proof of Address • Social Security Number Try it out! http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/ Important: If your current legal name is different than the name on your civil birth certificate….
Chapter 1 Continued: The GDL • GDL= Graduated Driver License Program • The system gradually introduces driving privileges to first-time drivers, extends their practice driving time, and requires a minimum age of 18 in order to receive an unrestricted, basic driver license. • Failure to adhere to GDL restrictions can result in a fine of $100 or a possible suspension of a motorist’s driving privilege.
Graduated Driver License- GDL • STEP 1: Get a special learner permit - Must be at least 16* • Must have parent/guardian consent • Must be enrolled in approved behind-the-wheel driver training course through the NJ DOE or commercial driving school* • An approved instructor must purchase the permit • Must pass MVC’s knowledge and written tests* • Must pay required fee; finish course 1st, validate
And then… • STEP 2- Practice with an adult supervising driver- at least 6 months - Must observe learner permit restrict. • STEP 3- Get a provisional license • Must have completed at least 6 mos. driving BTW w/o any suspensions/postponements • Must pass MVC’s road test • Must be at least 17 years old
Finally… • STEP 4- With a provisional license, - Must practice unsupervised driving 1 yr and observe the PDL restrictions • STEP 5- Get the Basic Driver License • Must be at least 18 years old • Must have completed one year of unsupervised driving with provisional driver license restrictions • Must pay required fee • Early Bird Road vs. Young Adult vs. Adult
Young Adult- Must be at least 17 yrs. Examination Permit @ 17, practice 6 mo. Provisional @ 17.5, Basic Driver License at 18.5 Differences: No Behind the Wheel Not called a special learner permit. Adult- Must be at least 21yrs old. - Examination Permit @ 21, - practice supervised driving for 3 mos. get Provisional @ 21.25 yrs -Basic Driver License at 22.25 yrs old. Differences: Again, The age @ each step Young Adult & Adult Roads
Special Learner Permit Restrictions • • No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. • • No using hand-held or hands-free cell phones or any other electronic devices. • • Permit holder must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult supervising driver who is at least 21 years of age and who possesses a valid New Jersey driver license and has a minimum of three years’drivingexperience. • • Passengers are limited to any parent, guardian or dependant of the special permit holder and one additional passenger. • • Permit holder and all passengers must wear seat belts. • • Must display decals on license plates.
Examination Permit Restrictions • • No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. • • No using hand-held or hands-free cell phones or any other electronic devices. • • Permit holder must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult supervising driver who is at least 21 years of age and who possesses a valid New Jersey driver license and has a minimum of three years driving experience.
Examination Permit Restrictions • • Passengers are limited to dependants of the permit holder and one additional person, unless accompanied by a parent/guardian. • • Permit holder and all passengers must wear seat belts. • • Must display decals on license plates.
Provisional License Restrictions • • No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.1 • • No using hand-held or hands-free cell phones or any other electronic devices. • • Passengers are limited to dependants of the probationary license holder • and one additional person, unless accompanied by a parent/guardian. • • Probationary license holder and all passengers must wear seat belts. • • Must display decals on license plates.
GDL Driver Exemptions • Exceptions to the hours rule for permit and provisional drivers under 21 • Proof of a need to drive during the prohibited hours for employment and/or religion. 2 special notes: • If a student driver commits a traffic offense, the responsibility will be with both the student driver AND the instructor or supervising adult. • All motorists who possess a provisional driver license, whose provisional licensing period is not extended past the 12 months by the MVC, must visit the MVC agency to upgrade to a basic at the end of the 12 mos..
Special Learners Permits for NJ Review Time • Any NJ resident who is at least _16__ and not in suspension status can obtain a Special Learner Permit at any MVC agency • Signed consent of __parent_ • Registered in Behind-the-Wheel driver training course • Must pass _Knowledge_ Test_ and vision screening • An approved course is _6 hours_ long • The instructor must purchase the permit, which is valid for _2_ years.
Examination Permits for NJ res. • The examination permit is different than a student learner permit because the applicant does not have to be a _student & an instructor is not necessary. • For both types of permits, _6_ points of ID verification are necessary and proof that the applicant lives in the US. • For a provisional license, the applicant must also supply their _social security_ number.
Commercial Driver License- CDL • There are 3 classes of a commercial license: A, B, and C. However, no one can apply for these licenses until he/she is in possession of Class D license, the basic driver license, or possesses an out-of-state CDL. • Recall: -Class E: -Class F: -Class G: -Boat License E
More About the CDL- last slide! Class AClass BClass C Tractor trailer Big Trucks School Bus Tows most lbs Heavy Buses School Van Op. B,C, & D Can op. C, D Can. Op. D -Commercial driver license code H means can legally transport hazardous material • P is for passengers, S is for school bus • # restrictions, ex. lenses, are on CDLs.