slide1 n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
The Four Noble Truths And PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
The Four Noble Truths And

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 19

The Four Noble Truths And - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

The Four Noble Truths And. The Noble Eightfold Path. First, some words from a master . Yoda and the teachings of the Jedi were heavily based upon Lucas’ interpretation of Buddhism. Buddhists believe that our attachments lead to our problems (things like fear, grief and anger).

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

The Four Noble Truths And

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

The Four Noble Truths


The Noble Eightfold Path


Yoda and the teachings of the Jedi were heavily based upon Lucas’ interpretation of Buddhism.

Buddhists believe that our attachments lead to our problems (things like fear, grief and anger).

So, while Yoda says that fear is the root of the dark side, the Buddha went a little deeper.

That brings us to…

1 life means suffering
1: Life means suffering.






  • Pain
  • Sickness
  • Injury
  • Tiredness
  • Stress
  • Old age
  • Death
2 the origin of suffering is attachment
2: The origin of suffering is attachment.
  • Craving and clinging to things is what gives us pain when they’re gone.
  • We perceive love as good, for instance, but plenty of people have been killed for it.
3 the cessation of suffering is attainable
3: The cessation of suffering is attainable.
  • Method called Nirodha.
  • Nirodha = unmaking of sensual craving and conceptual attachment.
  • Peace through dispassion.
4 there is a path to the cessation of suffering
4:There is a path to the cessation of suffering.
  • “The Middle Path”
  • Not hedonistic, not ascetic.
  • Gradually becoming dispassionate while increasing compassion.
  • How?
  • That’s where the Eightfold Path comes in.

Orange = Wisdom

Blue = Ethical Conduct

Purple = Mental Development

right view
Right View
  • To see the world as it is.
    • To see things through
    • To grasp the impermanent and imperfect nature of worldly objects and ideas
    • To understand the law of karma and karmic conditioning.
right intention
Right Intention
  • Make sure you’re doing things for the right reasons
  • The Buddha distinguishes three types of right intentions:
    • the intention of renunciation, which means resistance to the pull of desire
    • the intention of good will, meaning resistance to feelings of anger and aversion
    • the intention of harmlessness, meaning not to think or act cruelly, violently, or aggressively, and to develop compassion.
right speech
Right Speech
  • Basically, don’t say nasty or untrue things.
  • The Buddha explained right speech as follows:
    • to abstain from false speech (Don’t lie)
    • to abstain from slanderous speech and not to use words maliciously against others
    • to abstain from harsh words that offend or hurt others
    • to abstain from idle chatter that lacks purpose or depth.
right action
Right Action
  • In a nutshell, be good to those around you.
  • Right action means:
    • to act kindly and compassionately
    • to be honest
    • to respect the belongings of others
    • to keep sexual relationships harmless to others.
right livelihood
Right Livelihood
  • Make your living in a way that doesn’t harm (and ideally helps)
  • Wealth should be gained legally and peacefully. Therefore, the Buddha forbade:
    • dealing in weapons
    • dealing in living beings
    • working in meat production and butchery
    • selling intoxicants and poisons, such as alcohol and drugs
right effort
Right Effort
  • Use self-discipline to stay on the path.
  • Without Right Effort, nothing else here is possible.
right mindfulness
Right Mindfulness
  • Controlling your mind, actively observing and controlling the way our thoughts go.
  • Buddha accounted for this as the four foundations of mindfulness:
    • contemplation of the body
    • contemplation of feeling (repulsive, attractive, or neutral)
    • contemplation of the state of mind
    • contemplation of the phenomena.
right concentration
Right Concentration
  • Concentrate on your actions, your intentions, and the world around you.
  • Right concentration for the purpose of the eightfold path means wholesome concentration, i.e. concentration on wholesome thoughts and actions.
  • The Buddhist method of choice to develop right concentration is through the practice of meditation.
  • Through practice it becomes natural to apply elevated levels concentration also in everyday situations.