the unified access framework uaf n.
Download
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
The Unified Access Framework (UAF) PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
The Unified Access Framework (UAF)

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 9

The Unified Access Framework (UAF) - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 98 Views
  • Uploaded on

How I stopped worrying and learned to love conventions. The Unified Access Framework (UAF). Jeff.deLaBeaujardiere@noaa.gov

loader
I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
capcha
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'The Unified Access Framework (UAF)' - boris-curry


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
the unified access framework uaf

How I stopped worrying and learned to love conventions

The Unified Access Framework (UAF)

Jeff.deLaBeaujardiere@noaa.gov

Kenneth.Casey@noaa.gov Steven.C.Hankin@noaa.gov Lewis.Mcculloch@noaa.gov Julie.Bosch@noaa.gov Tina.Chang@noaa.gov Scott.Cross@noaa.gov Roy.Mendelssohn@noaa.gov Jordan.Alpert@noaa.gov Ted.Habermann@noaa.gov Bob.Simons@noaa.gov David.Neufeld@noaa.gov Upendra.Dadi@noaa.gov rsignell@usgs.gov Phil.Cogbill@noaa.gov Glenn.Rutledge@noaa.gov

Heather.Koyuk@noaa.gov

Kevin O’Brien

NOAA/PMEL/UW

A Global Earth Observation Integrated Data Environment (GEO-IDE) project to integrate scientific data management and access

enterprise wide integration of data is a very hard problem
Enterprise-wide integration of datais a very hard problem!
  • NOAA Data, at a glance:
  • weather forecast (time critical)
  • fisheries management (regulatory aspects)
  • nautical charting
  • climate, ocean, atmosphere monitoring
  • modeling & observations
  • research & operations
slide3

Tried and true approach …

  • Generate use cases
  • Define requirements
  • Write a Concept of Operations
  • … and an Implementation Plan
  • Assemble volunteer teams to implement

NOT !

slide4

Don’t solve problems, copy success!

-- file format/API/data model

-- metadata conventions

-- network transport

-- network topology

-- OGC rendering and transport

  • netCDF
  • CF
  • OPeNDAP
  • THREDDS
  • WMS & WCS
slide5

GEO-IDE/UAF

NOAA

NOAA Affiliated

OAR

NMFS

NWS

NESDIS

IOOS

National Partners

IOOS Regional Partners

ESRL

OCO

PFEG

GFDL

PMEL

NDBC

AOML

NGDC

NODC

NAVO

AOOS

NOMADS

GCOOS

SCCOOS

Coastwatch

PACIOOS

SECOORA

NERACOOS

GLOS

NANOOS

CENCOOS

CARICOOS

MACOORA