slide1 l.
Download
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
Data Center Consolidation & Springfield Data Center Program IT Consolidation Working Group Review 3/9/2009 PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
Data Center Consolidation & Springfield Data Center Program IT Consolidation Working Group Review 3/9/2009

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 7

Data Center Consolidation & Springfield Data Center Program IT Consolidation Working Group Review 3/9/2009 - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 224 Views
  • Uploaded on

Data Center Consolidation & Springfield Data Center Program IT Consolidation Working Group Review 3/9/2009. Agenda. Springfield Data Center Program Overview Schedule & Status Conceptual Design Overview Data Center Consolidation Workshops SIO Designee Request.

loader
I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
capcha
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'Data Center Consolidation & Springfield Data Center Program IT Consolidation Working Group Review 3/9/2009' - boaz


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
slide1

Data Center Consolidation &Springfield Data Center ProgramIT Consolidation Working Group Review3/9/2009

agenda
Agenda
  • Springfield Data Center Program Overview
    • Schedule & Status
    • Conceptual Design Overview
  • Data Center Consolidation Workshops
  • SIO Designee Request
springfield data center program overview status and program schedule
Springfield Data Center Program Overview Status and Program Schedule

Status

Information Technology

Best Practice Surveys Completed

Modernized IT Program Requirements

Coordinating Data Center Consolidation

Workshops

Facilities

Funding Approved

Site Selection Completed

Conceptual Design In Progress

DCAM Facilities Program Schedule

DCAM’s Baseline 3 Year

Project Time Line

Today

Dates are Calendar Year – Qtr(s) Are Calendar Year Quarters

springfield data center program overview conceptual design overview
Springfield Data Center Program Overview Conceptual Design Overview

Design Principals

Efficient – Minimize Operating Costs for the Facility and Our Customers

Measure of Success: Cost Modeling Comparisons to Similar Facilities

Reliable – Provide Continuous Business Operations for Our Customers

Measure of Success: Certified Tier III Facility by the Uptime Institute

Secure – Ensure the Security of the Commonwealth’s Digital Assets

Measure of Success: Certified as ISO 27001 Compliant

Green – Lead by Example with a Showcase Green Facility

Measure of Success: Mass LEEDs Plus Certified Facility

(To Be Further Developed in Data Center Consolidation Workshops)

4/1/2014

4

data center consolidation working group workshop overview schedule
Data Center Consolidation Working Group Workshop Overview & Schedule

May 30th High Level IT Infrastructure Consolidation Report – (Data Center ConsolidationSection)

Workshops

Workshop #1 - Kick Off & Team Building

       What is the role of workshop participants?

What are effective data center consolidation models?

What types of information should we gather and how?

What are the key decisions for data center consolidation?

What is the current design for Springfield data center?

What preparation is needed for Workshop #2?

Workshop #2 - What is Our Data Center

Consolidation Strategy?

    How Many Data Centers & Applications are in Scope?

Active/Active or Active/Standby Data Centers?

What is the Best Consolidation Model?

Do we include Legacy Systems?

What is our level of Virtualization/Automation?

What is our timing and sequencing for consolidation?What challenges do regulations and statutes impose?

Workshop #3 - How will we operate MITC & DC2

as Consolidated Data Centers?

What are our service targets?

What is our service delivery model?

What is our business continuity model?

What are the key supporting technologies?

How do we rationalize our management tools?

What is our level of co-location services?

What is our staffing model?

Industry Validation – Draft Report for Review & Comment

Schedule

Workshop #1

Workshop #2

Workshop #3

5/30 High Level IT Consolidation Report

4/1/2014

5

data center consolidation working group sio designee request
Data Center Consolidation Working Group SIO Designee Request
  • (3) ITD Executive
  • Council
  • Representation
  • CIO or Deputy CIO
  • John Letchford
  • Security Office
  • Dan Walsh
  • Technology Office
  • Paul Bartlett

Data Center Consolidation Working Group Structure

  • (1) Interested
  • Parties
  • Treasury
  • Peter Navarro

(3) Workshop

Vendor

Consultants

(1) Secretariat

IT Consulting

Representation

(8) SIO Designees (Suggested)

Co-Chairs – Springfield Data Center Program Manager (Stuart Lecky) &

SIO Designee Selected by IT Consolidation Working Group

Designee Role & Effort Overview

Working Group Objectives

(1) Teambuilding - Form the Initial Data Center Consolidation Team

(2) Contribute to the 5/30 High Level IT Infrastructure Report - Provide the Data Center Consolidation Section

(3) Develop Consolidated Data Center Operations Strategy – Form the High Level MITC/Springfield Operations Strategy

SIO Designee Role

(1)Thought Leadership - Assist in Developing the Commonwealth’s “Thought Leadership” for Data Center Consolidation

(2) Background – Knowledgeable in Secretariat & Agencies’: Major Applications, IT Infrastructure Services, Data Centers

(3) Representative - For the Secretariat and Agencies in:

- Information Gathering, Requirements, Key Decisions, Future Planning

Level of Effort

- 3 Full Day Workshops on 4/7, 4/22, & 5/4, Once Data Center Tour, Requirements Gathering & Documentation Review

4/1/2014

6

data center consolidation working group sio designee
Data Center Consolidation Working GroupSIO Designee

Next Steps

  • ITD will provide designee request e-mail
  • By 3/18
    • Confirm Availability of Recommended Designees or Provide an Alternative

(or)

    • Provide Appointed Designee with Confirmed Availability

4/1/2014

7