workshop cohort tracking tool and student voice assessment l.
Download
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
WORKSHOP Cohort Tracking Tool and Student Voice Assessment PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
WORKSHOP Cohort Tracking Tool and Student Voice Assessment

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 45

WORKSHOP Cohort Tracking Tool and Student Voice Assessment - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 298 Views
  • Uploaded on

WORKSHOP Cohort Tracking Tool and Student Voice Assessment. Naida Simon, Ph.D. Laura Woodward, Ph.D. STARS. Cohort Tracking Tool. Development of STARS Cohort Tracking Tool. Designed and created by Robert Berman over the past few years Implemented on the web by Wuhong Lu

loader
I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
capcha
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'WORKSHOP Cohort Tracking Tool and Student Voice Assessment' - Thomas


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
workshop cohort tracking tool and student voice assessment

WORKSHOPCohort Tracking Tool and Student Voice Assessment

Naida Simon, Ph.D.

Laura Woodward, Ph.D.

stars

STARS

Cohort Tracking Tool

development of stars cohort tracking tool
Development of STARS Cohort Tracking Tool
  • Designed and created by Robert Berman over the past few years
  • Implemented on the web by Wuhong Lu
  • Suggestions provided by
    • Paul Moniodis
    • Tom Wilhelm
    • Donna Alexander
    • and others
the goals of stars
The Goals of STARS
  • To provide a user-friendly tool for Faculty, Academic Staff and administrators
  • To make student information more accessible and understandable
  • To enhance student services
  • To improve student retention
the cohort tracking tool
The Cohort Tracking Tool
  • A special menu option in STARS
  • Designed to help discover retention trends regarding special groups such as:
    • Learning Communities
    • Other special cohorts
  • Using this module, you can discover
    • GPA
    • Retention
    • Graduation
    • Other
logon to stars reports
Logon to STARS Reports

Use Pipeline AccessID/Password

choosing what you want
Choosing What You Want
  • Determine what you are discovering about your LC

Necessary Items

      • Cohort
      • Term Effective
      • Report
      • Report Type
      • Output Type
      • Term End
things to watch out for
THINGS TO WATCH OUT FOR
  • Make sure
    • all fields are what you want
    • they are for the correct term
    • it is the right report
    • it is in the right format
click on the cohort link at the top
Click on the Cohort Link at the Top

Opens a document about existing cohorts.

cohort names 2007 2008 learning communities
LC-HonorsA

LC-Busines

LC-CBS

LC-Comeric

LC-DCE

LC-EnBRIDG

LC-Ed-FYE

LC-HEALTH

LC-Honors

LC-Ed-IT

LC-EdIntro

LC-Ed-Kin1

LC-Ed-KinP

LC-EnLSAMP

LC-AVET

LC-Motown

LC-EdMorri

LC-ASTRONG

LC-NUR

LC-EdTeach

LC-MathCor

LC-350MAT

LC-Eme1800

LC-Eme2010

LC-Eme2020

Cohort Names2007-2008 Learning Communities
term eff
“Term Eff”

Drop-down box displays all terms for which the cohort is defined.

about studentvoice
About StudentVoice
  • An online system to easily administer surveys
    • Tools for collecting and reporting of data
    • Department/ program-specific assessment plans and questionnaire templates
    • Free consultation from survey experts
online projects
Online Projects
  • Questionnaire submitted
  • Web survey programmed by StudentVoice with campus specific colors and logos
  • Participants invited to participate via email notification or directed to a website by learning community/cohort coordinators
  • Respondent data available with immediate analysis
campus assessment portal
Campus Assessment Portal
  • Request form
  • Project listing
  • Project dashboard
  • Project results
  • Assessment Toolkits
  • Contact form
slide26
What is one thing that you know students have learned from interacting in your learning community or program?
slide27
???????

How do you know?

What is your evidence?

assessment characteristics
Assessment Characteristics
  • Ongoing
  • Explicit and public expectations
  • Appropriate criteria
  • Systematic gathering, analyzing, and interpreting evidence
  • Using the results

(Angelo, 1995)

assessment versus research versus evaluation
Assessment versus Research versus Evaluation
  • Assessment
    • Any effort to gather, analyze, and interpret evidence which describes program effectiveness.
  • Research
    • Any effort to gather evidence, which guided by theory and testing hypotheses
  • Evaluation
    • Any effort to use assessment evidence to improve program effectiveness, solve a problem, or help make a decision or establish a policy.

(Upcraft & Schuh, 1996)

slide30

Barriers to Assessment

  • “What - another thing we need to do?”
  • Difficult to coordinate
  • Lack of expertise
  • Results not shared, benefits not realized
  • Fear of negative findings
  • Getting started
slide31

The Assessment Cycle

Student Learning

Outcome/

Objective

Use of Results

Assessment Method

Assessment Results

Measures

student voice logon
April Boyce Cobbs abcobbs

Bo Shen bshen

Chardin Claybourne-Bey cclaybourne or ccbey

Charles Green cgreen

Ebony Green ebonyg

Ethriam Brammer ebrammer

Felicia Grace fgrace

Jahquan Hawkins jhawins

Janet Andrews jandrews

Janet Andrews jandrews

Janice Cook-Johnson jcjohnson

Jennifer Moore jenmoore

Jim Moseley jmoseley

John Wirth jwirth

M. L. Liebler mlliebler

Mary Dickson mdickson

Mary Nesbitt mnesbitt

Michelle Reaves mreaves

Nancy Galster (Allstart) gventro

Nancy Galster ngalster

Paul Rease prease

Steve Kahn skahn

Tom Khalil tkalil

Toni Somers tosomers

Wytrice Harris wharris

Student Voice Logon
export options
Export Options
  • Detail
    • Alternative codes
  • View
    • Excel
    • Word
    • PDF
playtime
Playtime
  • Pick a cohort to track (yours or another)
  • Go into STARS.
    • Find out how many students are enrolled in your cohort.
  • Go into Student Voice
    • Last Spring’s survey for LC’s
    • Find out how many people responded.
contact us
Contact Us
  • Naida Simon
    • n.simon@wayne.edu
    • 313.577.3157
  • Laura Woodward
    • laurawoodward@wayne.edu
    • 313.577.4878