Broward County Consumer Affairs Division. Regulation of Auto Repair and Auto Body -1991. Industry came to Board of County Commission wanting regulation
Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.
Industry came to Board of County Commission wanting regulation
Purpose-Toprotect the atmosphere and water supply of Broward County by proper handling of environmentally hazardous waste generated by repair and body shops
Staff- 6 Inspectors at least once a year inspection and 3 Customer Service Representatives
Fees collected annually- Late fees instituted in 1997
410 shop license applications at $325 each = $130,000
500 certified technician license applications at $50 each = $25,000
800 trainee permits applications at $20 each = $16,000
Late fees and penalties = $15,000
Total = $186,000
Fees collected annually - Fees set in 1991 and fee increase approved by Board of County Commissioners for FY2007.
Total fee increase $188,500
1500 shop license applications at $200 each = $300,000
Fee increase by $75.00
2200 certified technician license applications at $25 each = $55,000
Fee increase by $25.00
2600 trainee permits applications at $10 each = $26,000
Fee increase by $10.00
Late fees and penalties = $20,000
First offence $250.00
Second Offense $500.00
Citation not paid becomes a lien filed in the Public Record.
Broward County- Comprehensive
Yearly inspections or more, insurance, equipment requirements, manuals, certified technicians, hazardous waste disposal, occupational and state and federal tax information
Miami-Dade County, FL
Miami-Dade licenses motor vehicle repair and body/paint shops.
The regulations are the same as Broward County, FL
Palm Beach County – no regulation
State of Florida
Florida, through the Division of Consumer Services requires all motor vehicle repair facilities, including body and paint shops to be registered with the state.
Florida has no equipment or technician certification requirements
Florida does not have any insurance requirements
The state may perform compliances inspections
Estimate and invoice form
Clean Hands Certification To certify that you do not owe more than $100 to the District government
Surety Bond - Surety Bond that covers the duration of the license based upon the number of employees
Five or less employees: $2000
More than five employees: $5000
The Motor Vehicle Commission licenses emission testing only, no regulations for repair shops.
The Motor Vehicle Commission licenses auto body repairs.
Requires garage keepers liability insurance, workers’ compensation and fire insurance.
Requires specific equipment to perform repairs
Certifications of mechanics are a state function.
Michigan has a training program for mechanic trainees.
Prior to the issuance of a license, the state may inspect the repair facility and equipment.
Mechanic certification program is required and is administrated by the University of Hawaii.
New York requires each repair facility to post an “official in-door sign” and an “official out-door sign” which states that the shop is a registered repair shop and provides the registration numbers.
New York requires that a sign be posted regarding Labor Rate or how the cost is calculated.
To a greater or lesser extent all of the above states have as a component to their license/registration law, a consumer protection component which includes the following:
Yes, accountability and way to resolve and prevent consumer complaints.
Licensing creates a fair marketplace for the consumer and for the auto repair and auto body businesses. Only those businesses that have the equipment, insurance, manuals and certified technicians are allowed to operate. Those who take the short cut and are unfit to repair are put out of business or made to come into compliance.