E N D
1. India - A Potential 3G MarketA Feasibility Study
2. 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET
3. 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET
4. Market Trends
5. 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET
6. Existing Market Competition Stake in Existing Market :
Technology relied upon :
Total Investment :
Analyzing the predicted Market Revenue Trends, expected Break Even Period for Vodafone
BHARTI (10%)
GSM (Larger service range in India)
1.5 billion USD
7. 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET
8. Business Base Current Position of Reliance in market
- 20.3 % of the subscriber population
- Largest CDMA provider in India
9. 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET
10. Technology Requirements
11. 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET
12. Cost Structure
13. Cost Structure
14. Estimated Breakup of Expenses
15. 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET
16. Service Promotion
17. 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET
19. Thank You!
20. References
23. Computation Steps under Packet-Wise Billing Current Internet User Count=38.5million2
Reliance Subscriber Count=20.3%of 38.5=7.82million
Targeted Youth Population=54%of 7.82=4.22million
Customer Base for Reliance=11.65million(data provided)
Ratio for Target Customer for 3G= 4.22/11.65 = 0.36
Considering this ratio remaining constant, Revenue earned within the breakeven period limits::
? Revenue earned by telephony
? Revenue earned by internet usage
24. Computation Steps cont.. Revenue earned by telephony:
? ARPU(t)xsub.population(t)
= Area under the Revenue Curve?
= 1485.76 billion INR
Revenue earned by internet usage:
=Charge per packet ( C )
x Avg.Packetconsumption (APC)
x Ratio of Target Customers
x ?Sub.population(t)
= 0.5x8192x0.36x{Area under the Subscriber Poplulation Curve}?
=5558.501 billion INR
Total Revenue =7044.26billionINR
25. Computation Steps cont. Total Revenue = 7044.26 billion
Total Reliance Revenue =
20.3% of 7044.26 = 1429.99 billion
If acquired a 10% stake,
Returns to the company = 10% of 1429.99
˜ 143 billion >> 115 billion (investment cost)
26. Vodafone’s Returns: Computation steps for the Breakeven Based on the Plot?
Returns(t) = Area Under
the Plot
= 10667.93 +89.71 t2 +833.56 t
(billions)
Returns till Breakeven period
= 1.5 billion USD
= 63000 million INR*
Solving for t:
t =19.95 months ˜ 20 months? By February 2008.
27. Aiming the technology Source: CDG, AUSPI, TelecomWatch,COAI, TRAI Wireless growth after introduction of CDMA4:
Subscriber growth in GSM: CAGR of 74%*
Subscriber growth in CDMA: CAGR of 205%*
Increase in Teledensity: 6%*
Decrease in tariff: 75%*
28. Indian Market Feasibility
29. TARGETED CUSTOMER : THE YOUTH? 54% of the population is below the age of 24
Estimated youth’s annual spending ?US$10.5bn with growth rate of 12%1
55% of young India opts for career in web related activities3
Demand for internet access (38.5 Mn currently) may shoot up to 100 Mn in 2 years.