slide1 n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
WELCOME ! PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 84

WELCOME ! - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

WELCOME !. This presentation was developed in total by; Lee “Batman” Batterman Umpire Consultant for CA-D62 Little League

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Presentation Transcript
    1. WELCOME !

    2. This presentation was developed in total by; Lee “Batman” Batterman Umpire Consultant for CA-D62 Little League And was initially meant to be used in our local training program. However, due to the large number of request for the presentation, the developer has decided to release it for general use. The use of this presentation, or any edited form of this presentation, is granted by the developer to any individual or group. The developer understands that once released, the control of content and display are lost. The developer asks that the HEADER be maintained.

    3. The 40 Most Misunderstood Rules in Little League Baseball

    4. The hands are considered part of the bat, and NO base shall be awarded if the Batter is hit in the hands by the Pitch? True or False

    5. False The hands are part of a person's body. If a pitch hits the batter's hands the ball is dead; if he/she swung at the pitch, a strike is called (NOT a foul). If he/she was avoiding the pitch, he/she is awarded first base. Rule 2.00 Touch, Strike, Person, 5.09 (a)

    6. 2. The batter-runner must turn to his right after over-sliding or over-running first base? True or False

    7. False The batter-runner may turn left or right, provided that no matter which way he/she turns, there is NO attempt to advance. An attempt is a judgment made by the umpire. The requirement is that the runner must immediately return to first after over running or over sliding the base Rule 7.08 (j)

    8. 3. If the batter ‘breaks’ his wrists when swinging, or while attempting to ‘Check’ the swing… it's a strike. True or False

    9. False A strike is a judgment by the Umpire as to whether the batter attempted to strike the ball. Breaking the wrists, or the barrel of the bat crossing the plate, are simply guides to making the judgment of an attempt, these are not rules. Rule 2.00 Strike

    10. 4. If a batted ball hits the plate first, then settles in foul territory… it's a foul ball. True or False

    11. True Even tough the plate is in fair territory, there is nothing special about it If a batted ball hits the Plate, it is treated like any other batted ball that touches Fair territory then roles Foul. Rule 2.00 Strike

    12. 5. The batter cannot be called out for interference if he is in the batter's box. It’s called the “Batter’s Box” for a reason… because it belongs to the Batter True or False

    13. False The batter's box is not a safety zone. A batter could be called out for interference if the umpire judges that interference could, or should, have been avoided. The batter is protected while in the box for a short period of time. After he has had time to react to the play he could be called for interference if he does not move out of the box and interferes with a play. Rule 2.00 Interference 6.06 (c)

    14. 6. The ball is “Live and in play”, on a Foul-Tip True or False

    15. True There is nothing foul about a foul-tip. If the ball hits the bat and goes sharp and direct to the catcher's hand or glove and is legally caught, it is a foul-tip by definition. A foul-tip is a strike and the ball is live. It is the same as a swing-and-miss. If the ball is not caught, it is a Foul Ball. If the foul-tip first hits the catcher somewhere other than the hand or glove, it is not a foul-tip, it is a Foul Ball. Rule 2.00 Foul Tip

    16. 7. The batter may switch batter's boxes At anytime, even after two strikes. True or False

    17. True The batter can switch boxes at any time, provided he/she does not do it after the pitcher is set, ready to pitch or in motion. Rule 6.06 (b)

    18. 8. The Player who ‘Batted Out of Order’ is the person declared “OUT” after a proper Appeal is made True or False

    19. False The PROPER batter is the one called out. Any hit or advance made by the Improper Batter or the runners due to the hit, walk, error or other reason is nullified. The next batter is the one who follows the Proper Batter… sometimes meaning, the player who was just called out. Rule 6.07 (b)

    20. 9. The batter may not overrun first base when he/she is awarded a Base-On-Balls. True or False

    21. False Rule 7.08 simply states that a batter-runner must immediately return after overrunning first base. The rule doesn't state any exceptions as to how the player became a runner. It could be a hit, walk, error or dropped third strike. Rule 7.08 (c) (j)

    22. 10. The batter should NOT be called OUT for abandoning the base path if he doesn’t go directly to 1st base after Ball 4, or Dropped 3rd Strike (Majors and above) True or False

    23. True The Batter may attempt to advance to first base anytime prior to entering the dugout or dead ball area. The batter becomes a runner when awarded 1st base on Ball 4. He also may advance under certain circumstances when the third strike is not caught (Majors and above). A runner makes his own base path to the base Rule 6.08 (a) 6.09 (b)

    24. 11. If the batter does not pull the bat out of the strike zone while in the BUNT position, it's an automatic strike. True or False

    25. False A strike is an attempt to HIT the ball. Simply holding the bat over the plate is NOT an attempt to hit. This is umpire judgment. Rule 2.00 Strike, Bunt

    26. 12. The batter is NOT out if a bunted ball hits the ground and immediately bounces back up and hits the bat while the batter is holding the bat. True or False

    27. True The rule says the BAT cannot hit the ball a second time. When the BALL hits the bat, it is not an out. Also, when the batter is still in the box when this happens, it's treated as simply a foul ball. If the batter is out of the box and the bat is over fair territory when the second hit occurs, the batter would be out. Rule 6.05 (g)

    28. 13. The batter is out if his foot touches, or is on the plate, while making contact with the ball. True or False

    29. False To be out, the batter's foot must be ENTIRELY outside the box when making contact with the ball whether the ball goes fair or foul. He is NOT OUT if he does not contact the pitch. There is no statement about touching the plate. The toe could be on the plate and the heel could be touching the line of the box, which means the foot is not entirely outside the box. Rule 6.06 (a)

    30. 14. There is NO RULE that requires the Batter Runner to be in the “Runners Lane” … EVER … True or False

    31. True The runner must be out of the lane AND must interfere with the fielder taking the throw. He is not out simply for being outside the lane. He could be called for interference even while in the lane depending on his actions. This is a judgment call. The runner may need to step out of the lane a few steps before the base. If he is out of the lane the whole distance to the base and is hit with a throw, he may, or may not be out. Rule 2.00 Interference 6.05 (j) 6.09 (j)

    32. 15. A runner may slap hands and/or give high- fives to other players, after a homerun is hit over the fence. He may even deviate from the base path and give hand slaps along the dugout? True or False

    33. True The ball is dead on a homerun over the fence. You can't be put out while the ball is dead except when you pass another runner or Abandon the base path. The runner also creates his own base path as he proceeds around the track. Rule 5.02, 7.05 (a), 7.08 (a)

    34. 16. Tie goes to the runner. True or False

    35. False There is no such thing in the world of umpiring as a Tie. The runner is either Out or Safe. The Umpire MUST judge the status of the runner to be either out or safe. It is impossible to judge a Tie. Rule 6.05 (j)

    36. 17. The runner gets two bases on a ball thrown out-of-play. The base he's advancing to, plus one additional base. Also known as, “One + One.” True or False

    37. False When a fielder other than the pitcher throws the ball into dead ball area, the award is 2 bases. If the throw is the first play by an infielder, the award is from the base the runner(s) last legally acquired at the Time of the Pitch. All other awards are from where the runners were at the time the ball left the fielder’s hand (Time of Throw) before going “Out of Play”. Rule 7.05 (g)

    38. 18. A coach may touch a runner at anytime, as long as the coach is not considered assisting the runner while advancing or returning to a base. True or False

    39. True The Rule says the runner is out if the coach PHYSICALLY ASSISTS the runner Hand slaps, back pats or simple touches are not physical assists. Rule 7.09 (h)

    40. 19. It’s perfectly acceptable for a runner to run the bases in reverse order. True or False

    41. True In order to correct a base running mistake, when doing so, the runner MUST retrace his steps and retouch the bases in reverse order The only time a runner is OUT for running in reverse, is when he is making a “Travesty” of the game or tries to “Confuse” the defense. Rule 7.08 (i)

    42. 20. The runner must always slide when the play is close. True or False

    43. False There is no “MUST SLIDE" rule. When the fielder has the ball in his possession and waiting to make the tag, the runner has two choices; slide OR “attempt to get around” the fielder. He may NOT deliberately or maliciously contact the fielder, but he is NOT required to slide. If the fielder does not have possession of the ball, but is in the act of fielding a Thrown Ball, Obstruction may very well be called on the defensive fielder. Rule 7.08 (a) 3

    44. 21. The runner is always safe when hit by a batted ball while touching a base. True or False

    45. False The bases are in fair territory. A runner is OUT when hit by a “Fair Batted Ball” while touching a base, except when hit by an Infield-Fly, or; after the ball has “Passed a Fielder” and no other fielder had a play on the ball. If the runner is touching first or third, he is not out unless the ball touches him over fair territory. If one foot is on the base and the other is in foul ground and he is hit on the foul ground foot, he is NOT out. It is a Foul Ball Rule 5.09, 7.08 (f)

    46. 22. A runner may not Advance on a Foul-Tip. True or False

    47. False There is nothing foul about a Foul-Tip. If the ball hits the bat and goes sharp and direct to the catcher's hand or glove and is leagally caught, is a Foul-Tip by definition. A Foul-Tip is a strike and the ball is alive. It is the same as a swing-and-miss. If the ball is not caught, it is a Foul Ball. Rule 2.00 Foul Tip

    48. 23. It is a “Force Out” when a runner is called out for not tagging up on a fly ball. True or False

    49. False A force play is when a runner is forced to advance because the batter becomes a runner. When the batter is out on a caught fly, all forces are removed. Failure to tag-up, is NOT a force out. Any runs that cross the plate before a legal appeal is made will count. This is an Appeal Play Rule 2.00 Force Play, 7.08 (d)

    50. 24. An appeal on a runner who missed a base can be a force out. True or False