Download
michael chin n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
Michael Chin PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
Michael Chin

Michael Chin

101 Views Download Presentation
Download Presentation

Michael Chin

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. Michael Chin

  2. General Demographics • M.C. is an Asian American male who is 22 years old. He resides in Chicago and was born here in the United States. He is a sophomore at the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign majoring in Computer Engineering. He has one older brother along with a mother and a father.

  3. TDMP Goals • To become more comfortable managing personal assistants and handling the amount of hours given • To buy and get comfortable using a reacher/grabber • To be more effective in tasks regarding time management • To be more independent

  4. ICF Model

  5. Health Condition • Spinal cord Injury C-4/C-5 • A spinal cord injury is damage done to any part of the spinal cord. There are two classifications of spinal cord injury called complete and incomplete. Generally, complete means a major loss of sensory and mobility due to the spinal cord injury while incomplete means a partial loss of sensory and mobility. Typically severe damage can affect the movements of your limbs. It may depend on the severity of the damage to observe the affects. These affects include loss of movement, loss of sensation, loss of bowel or bladder control, exaggerated reflex activities or spasms, and difficulty breathing.

  6. Health Cond. Cont. • Quadriplegia • Arms, hands, trunk, legs, and pelvic organs are effected • Has feeling in his arms and legs • Neurogenic bladder/bowel (constipation, incontinence) • Bladder or bowel dysfunction • ADHD • ADHD stands for attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder. It is characterized by the inability to focus for a long period of time and impulsive behavior. • Depression • It is one of the most common mental disorders that may affect the individual’s daily activities. It is observed that those with depression can struggle with thoughts of suicide and feelings of worthlessness.

  7. Medication • Past • Albuterol HFA wheezing (stopped 6 years ago) • Senna-2 tabs - (stool softener) (stopped 4-5 years) • Colace100 mg - (stool softener) (stopped 4-5 years ago) • Botox to bladder (treat overactive bladder) – relax and increase • Bupropion (Wellbutrin XL) 150 mg daily (ADHD) (stopped 2 years ago) • Setraline (Zoloft) 50 mg (depression) (stopped 2 years ago)

  8. Medication Cont. • Current • Baclofen 10 mg tid (treat muscle spasticity) • Muscle relaxer • Dulcolax suppository qhs (help go to bathroom sometimes) (control timing when he has to go) • Multivitamin daily

  9. Body Structure & Functions • Muscle Atrophy • Chest and legs due to lack of usage because of injury • G-tube replaced-U of C (5/14/08) (feeding) • A gastrostomy tube placed to provide nutrition/medication and gives access to the stomach and jejunum • Removed 3/09 • Trach. placed/removed (breathing)

  10. Body Structure & Funct. Cont. • Bladder augmentation and ileocystoplasty w/ mitrofanoff – U of C (12/09/08) • Operation to enlarge the bladder • Using part of the ileum for the bladder – ileocystoplasty • Tube/valve is created from appendix or small intestine that connects bladder to skin • Prevents urine infection and leakage • Place where I cath. – mitrofanoff • Drains out mucus and urine

  11. Activity & Participation • PA usage • Has 8 Personal Assistants and manages them using 30 hours a week • They help him perform daily activities such as showering, brushing teeth, getting dressed, getting in and out of bed, restroom assistance, and other needs if asked • Classroom/Study Habits • M.C. pays attention well in class • His professor either gives him notes or assigns a student to write notes for M.C. • M.C. will write letter of accommodation if a student helps write his notes

  12. Activity & Part. Cont. • Social/Hobbies • M.C. will typically go out to restaurants to hang out with friends. He also likes to play chess with floor mates. He likes to also read manga or comics and watches animated shows to relieve stress. He also enjoys spending time with his girlfriend, which can include from talking to each other to watching a movie. • Facing Challenges

  13. Environmental Factors • Home • There is not that much accessibility • They have 3 floors and he is only able to access one • University • He finds the University to be very accessible given the ADA maps as well as how Nugent Hall is structured. There are elevators and ramps in almost every building that he has gone to and enjoys the accessibility here at the University • Product Usage/Assistive Tech. • Wheelchair • 3 years/30,000 • I-pad • Samsung Galaxy phone • Laptop • Dragon Program (7years) • Helps him to type by voicing out commands • ADA maps/Campus Maps

  14. Personal Factors
 • Gender/Race/Socio-demographic • M.C. is a male who is half Japanese and half Chinese • He is from a middle-class family • Education/Occupation • Transferred from ICRE (Illinois Center for Rehabilitation and Education • 4 different personal assistants and they were available 24/7 • They had to treat other patients and thus were not as personal • Different social environment • Many patients with mental disabilities • Graduated high school at the age of 20 • Studying at the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign while pursuing a major in Computer Engineering • Future aspirations • Wanting to work with computer security with his cousin

  15. Progress and Areas of Growth with DMP Goals • To become more comfortable managing personal assistants and handling the amount of hours given • Progress: He has been able to use his personal for the full 30 hours • Areas of Growth: He has been wanting to become more accustomed to managing private hires • To buy and get comfortable using a reacher/grabber • Progress: He has bought two reachers/grabbers and has gained the skill to use the tool. It has been very helpful for picking things off the floor and reaching for books. • To be more independent • Progress: Has been trying to take on the responsibility of a trained dog and has also been pursuing a manual chair. In doing so he has also been trying to pursue a summer job back at home. • Area of Growth: He needs to start applying to jobs and wants to regain strength in triceps. • To be more effective in time management • Progress: Has been getting accustomed to handling schoolwork/academics. He has been trying to prioritize his homework when he gets back to the room. Been trying to adjust a calendar or schedule. • Area of Growth: He needs to work on developing a planned out schedule. He needs to plan out the summer in terms of what he wants to do that would lead to his goal.

  16. Overall • Michael has grown a lot from his past two years at this University. • Can properly feed himself • Taken advantage of tools available to him • Manage hiring PA’s