research report the rich history of east aurora n.
Download
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
Research Report: The Rich History of East Aurora PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
Research Report: The Rich History of East Aurora

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 15

Research Report: The Rich History of East Aurora - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 71 Views
  • Uploaded on

Research Report: The Rich History of East Aurora. 6 th Grade ELA Zakroczemski / Guerra Class: Mikayla C. Ben C. Haley D. Jacob E. Quinn F. Alex D. Miranda H. Bryanna J. Brynna K. Grace L. Katie M. Maxine M.

loader
I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
capcha
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'Research Report: The Rich History of East Aurora' - trisha


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
research report the rich history of east aurora

Research Report: The Rich History of East Aurora

6th Grade ELA

Zakroczemski/ Guerra Class:

Mikayla C. Ben C. Haley D. Jacob E.

Quinn F. Alex D. Miranda H. Bryanna J.

Brynna K. Grace L. Katie M. Maxine M.

Dylan M. Tessa N. Cody P. Seneca P. TJ S.

Breanna S. Matt S. Derek T. Alec V. Alex W.

Max W. Travis W. Cal Z. Feb./ March 2011

landmarks
Landmarks
  • In 1895 Elbert Hubbard had two Michelangelo statues built for him; they are now in front of the E.A. Middle School.
  • Ebert Hubbard also built the RoycroftCampus in 1895 which was based on Medieval Construction.
  • In 1897 the E.A. Union Free School was built.
landmarks1
Landmarks

On 690 Main Street, built in 1930, is E.A.’s famous

Vidlers5&10. It was a store built because locals did not want to take 20 minutes to get to Buffalo for common household items.

business
Business
  • Vidler’s was opened in 1930 and it was called “The Fair Store.”
  • It was renamed sixteen years later as Vidler’s 5 and 10.
business1
Business
  • Fisher-Price opened in 1930 by Herman Fisher and Irving Price
  • The first Post Office opened in 1814 at Blakeley Corners.
education

Education

The first records of teaching go back a century and a half and one of the oldest boarding schools was in East Aurora and helped teach kids in grades 7-12 who had dyslexia.

In 1883 East Aurora offered free high school education to the children of East Aurora.

Students who went to school usually lived close enough to walk but if they didn’t they would ride a horse.

more about education

More about Education

The East Aurora Schools taught the students Latin, Greek, English, math, and science

The three schools in EA were the only ones that prepared their peers for college.

important people

Important People

Irving L. Price was the mayor of East Aurora from 1929-1932 and the co-founder of Fisher-Price Company.

Millard Fillmore was born on January 7th 1800, and died in 1874. He lived here and went on to be the 13th President of the US.

Elbert Hubbard was born in 1856 and was a writer and artist and philosopher. He started the Roycroft Arts Movement and built the Roycroft Campus in East Aurora.

slide10

Important EventsThe first newspaper was started in 1835.The village used to be 2 different villages and came together in 1873.The first fire department was established in 1876.The first electric company was established in 1890.The first police department was established in 1910 and its first jails were located on Elm Street.

in 1895 the roycroft arts and crafts community was founded in east aurora ny by elbert hubbard
In 1895 the Roycroft Arts and Crafts Community was founded in East Aurora, NY by Elbert Hubbard.

The Roycroft Chapel was built in 1899 and is now the Town Hall.

One important Roycroft worker was a man named Samuel Warner who created title pages, initials, book-plates, and borders for Roycroft books.

t ransportation
Transportation
  • East Aurora was the Trotting capital of the United States.
  • East Aurora was the first in the world to have a covered race tracks.
transportation
Transportation
  • The very first toll bridge in East Aurora was built in 1922.
  • The first railroad tracks in East Aurora were raised in 1934.
thanks for taking the time to learn a bit more about the history of our village

Information for this project was gathered at the East Aurora Middle School Library with the help of Mrs. Kruse. Bibliographies were completed by each student individually and included in their research report.

Thanks for taking the time to learn a bit more about the history of our village!