1 / 15

Continuity Guidance for Governmental Entities and the Private Sector

Continuity Guidance for Governmental Entities and the Private Sector. May 25, 2010. Patrick Massey Director, National Preparedness Division FEMA Region 10. Four Pillars….

Download Presentation

Continuity Guidance for Governmental Entities and the Private Sector

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author. Content is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use only. Download presentation by click this link. While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server. During download, if you can't get a presentation, the file might be deleted by the publisher.


Presentation Transcript

  1. Continuity Guidance for Governmental Entities and the Private Sector May 25, 2010 Patrick Massey Director, National Preparedness Division FEMA Region 10

  2. Four Pillars… • An organization’s continuity capability – its ability to perform its essential functions continuously – rests upon key components or pillars, which are in turn built on the foundation of continuity planning and continuity program management An organization’s resiliency is directly related to its continuity capability

  3. Elements of a Viable Continuity Capability • Essential Functions • Orders of Succession • Delegations of Authority • Continuity Facilities • Continuity Communications • Vital Records Management • Human Capital • Test, Training and Exercises • Devolution of Control and Direction • Reconstitution

  4. Continuity Guidance Circular – 1: Continuity Guidance for States, Tribes, and Local Governments • - Continuity Program Management information • - Elements and components of a viable continuity capability • - Coordination of interdependencies • - Continuity plan operational phases and implementation

  5. Continuity Guidance Circular – 2: Mission Essential Functions (MEFs) Identification Processes for States, Tribes, and Local Governments • Outlines how to: • Identify and prioritize Mission Essential Functions (MEFs) • Conduct a Business Process Analysis (BPA) • Conduct a Business Impact Analysis (BIA) • Assess strategies to reduce risk

  6. Mission Essential Functions (MEFs): • Maintain Continuity of Government • Provide Visible Leadership • Defend the Country – Fight Wars • Maintain Effective Relations • Maintain Law and Order • Provide Emergency Services • Maintain Economic Stability • Provide Basic Essential Services http://www.fema.gov/about/org/ncp/coop/index.shtm

  7. Continuity Training • FEMA Emergency Management Institute (EMI) Independent Study: • Continuity Awareness (IS-546) - 2 hours • Introduction to Continuity (IS-547) - 5 hours • Continuity Manager’s Course (Train-the-Trainer) (B/E/L-548) • Continuity Planning Workshop (Train-the-Trainer) (B/E/L-550) • Continuity Building Design for Homeland Security (T-T-T) (B/E/L-156) • Continuity Exercise Design Course (IS-136/G-139) • Devolution Planning Workshop (E/L 551) http://www.training.fema.gov

  8. Continuity Excellence Series • Established in April 2008 • Designed for continuity professionals throughoutFederal, State, Territorial, Tribal, and local governments. • Dedicated to enhancing the excellence in the development and implementation of Continuity programs • Level I -- Professional Continuity Practitioner • Level II -- Master Continuity Practitioner

  9. Continuity Assistance Tool (CAT) The CAT provides guidance and assistance for States, Territories, Tribal, and Local Government Jurisdictions and Private Sector Organizations to identify continuity program strengths and areas for improvement. • Released in July 2009 • Available at: www.fema.gov/about/org/ncp/coop/evaluations

  10. Continuity Assistance Tool (CAT) Each section includes: • Definition • Attributes • Goal/objective statement • Characteristics • Detailed questions to help achieve the attribute • Critical characteristics are denoted by an asterisk • Each characteristic references the source page of CGC-1 • Each characteristic has simple Yes, No, or N/A checkboxes • Each characteristic has room for comments www.fema.gov/about/org/ncp/coop/evaluations

  11. Voluntary Private Sector Preparedness Accreditation and Certification Program (PS-PREP) • PS-PREP is a voluntary program for the private sector to enhance nationwide resilience in an all-hazards environment by improving private sector preparedness. • ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board (ANAB) chosen to manage and oversee. • 3rd party certification through accrediting entity for larger business. • Possibly 1st party (self) certification for small businesses. Authority: Title IX of the Implementing Recommendations of the 9/11 Commission Act of 2007 (PL 110-53)

  12. PS-PREP 3 Standards met the Fundamental Qualifying Principals Requirements: • National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 1600, Standard on Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs, 2007 Edition • British Standards Institute (BSI) BS 25999, Business Continuity Management Standard • ASIS International ASIS SPC.1-2009,Organizational Resilience: Security Preparedness, and Continuity Management Systems

  13. PS-PREP Key Comments • The three standards encountered no critical opposition from stakeholders across the country • Participants and respondents support standards, in general, but having the time and resources to certify may pose a problem because stakeholders are: • Already engaged in similar activities • Uncertain on the business case/logic for certification • Concerned about the cost associated with certification

  14. PS-PREP Program Timeline www.fema.gov/privatesectorpreparedness

  15. Questions?

More Related