Gluten. Brenna Kress, Brie Jones, Bre Yarnall, Carrie Ufkes, Stephanie Lawrence-Lujan, Karla Barron. Gluten is defined as an elastic protein substance found in wheat flour that gives dough its cohesiveness. -Found in wheat, barley, and also rye (1).
Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.
Brenna Kress, Brie Jones, Bre Yarnall, Carrie Ufkes, Stephanie Lawrence-Lujan, Karla Barron
Gluten is in our doughy bagels and also bread
1. Ahern, S. J. (2005, August 5). What the heck is gluten anyway?. Retrieved
October 16, 2009, from http://glutenfreegirl.blogspot.com/2005/08/what-heck-is-gluten-anyway.html
-mainly gliadins and glutenins (2)
Gluten is found in: cookies, pastries, biscuits, crackers, cereals, battered foods, pizza, snack foods, and pastas.
It is common for gluten to also be used as a filler or thickener.
-It can be found in sauces, gravies, soups, pickles, sweets, processed meats, chocolate, instant pudding (3)
2. Pick, M. (2008, December 15). What is gluten — and why are we so sensitive to it?. Retrieved October 16, 2009, from
3. Tsakos, L. (2008, June 5). What is gluten?. Retrieved October 16, 2009, from http://www.naturallysavvy.com/natural-nutrition-101/general-nutrition/digestive-health/1018-what-is-gluten
-Improve your immune system
-Improve your digestion
-Have more energy
-And a flatter stomach
Brownstein, David. The Guide to a Gluten-Free Diet. Michigan: Healthy Living, 2009.
-brown rice syrup
-cold cuts, hot dogs, salami, sausage
-communion wafers French fries
-sauces seasoned tortilla chips
-vegetables in sauce
* Those who are intolerant to Gluten must be aware of the foods that contain gluten to avoid discomfort. Those who suffer from gluten intolerance may be prone to celiacs disease that can be diagnosed with a biopsy from the small intestine.
No what? Wheat!?!
Use these instead!
Gluten- free diets do not permit whole wheat, barley, rye or malt.