Skip this Video
Download Presentation
WCSD Middle School Teams ready for 2010 North American Bridge Championships

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 16

WCSD Middle School Teams ready for 2010 North American Bridge Championships - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'WCSD Middle School Teams ready for 2010 North American Bridge Championships' - nara

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
Washoe County Middle Schools Wind up their 2010Tournament Bridge CompetitionWhat a great year. Five Middle Schools joined the Reno Youth Bridge after school activity program last September to enable interested students to learn how to play the World’s most popular card game . After the first semester, team members were invited to play in the ACBL North American Bridge Championship Tournament at the Grand Sierra in March. The RYB event was won by the partnership of KarlyAgerholm and Sierra Jickling. On the second weekend, Microsoft’s Bill Gates, a dedicated bridge player in his own right, came down to visit with the RYB teams. He encouraged them all to work hard and enjoy a lifetime of playing a great game. In April the schools played a team match which was won by Sparks Middle School. The final year-end Championship Team Match Tournament was won by High Desert Montessori Charter School.
ryb holds first interscholastic team game of wcsd middle schools
RYB holds first interscholastic Team Game of WCSD Middle Schools
  • The Reno Unit of the ACBL invited Washoe County School System’s Middle School Students participating in Reno Youth Bridge’s after school activity program to play in an interscholastic team match at their Spring Sectional at the Ramada Hotel on April 14th. Five schools were represented, Billinghurst, Swope, Sparks, and Shaw Middle Schools and High Desert Montessori Charter School. Cassie Phillips and Alex Ford teamed up with Harley DeGuzman and Sonny Knowles of HDMS to win the event.
reno youth bridge 2009 2010 year end duplicate bridge championships
Reno Youth Bridge 2009-2010 Year-end Duplicate Bridge Championships
  • For the second year, High Desert Montessori Charter School showed their bidding and defensive skills in the Finals of the Reno Youth Bridge Team Match Year End Championships. In a very tight match HDMS out lasted Sparks Middle School winning by only one Victory Point 25 to 24 in the Round Robin Swiss Teams event at the Reno Bridge Center. Shaw Middle School, the other team in the finals, was third after losing an important match with Sparks in which Sparks made two doubled contracts.
Sonny Knowles and Tanner Vaughn, HDMS, face Dylan Zabala and Susan Cinfio, Shaw Middle School
Susan Davenport and Kevin Corado, Shaw Middle School, play against Harley DeGuzman and Shane Helton, HDMS
Josh Kimrey & Cassie Phillips, Shaw Middle School, opposeBrittney Hazen & Natalie Barret, Sparks Middle School
Dylan Zabala, Sparks, and Susan Cinfio, Shaw Middle School battle against Sonny Knowles and Tanner Vaughn, HDMS
reno youth bridge inc
Reno Youth Bridge, Inc
  • The Officers and Directors of Reno Youth Bridge, wish to thank all the volunteer teachers from the Reno Unit of the ACBL who gave of their time each week to help our Middle School students learn how to play Contract Bridge. We also want to voice our appreciation to those faculty members who gave RYB such terrific support during this past year. Thank you all very much. We look forward to 2010-2011 school year.
  • Kathy Lane, Grace Martin, Molly Rakestraw and Bud Brewer.