Construction, Priority of Liens, and Bonding Requirements. Arkansas Land Title Association 2012. 18-44-101. Liens on buildings, land, or boats.
Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.
Arkansas Land Title Association
Lien claimants must file a lien (Statement of Account and Claim of Lien) account with the circuit clerk within 120 days of the last substantial work or material provided.
Does Arkansas law require any notice or filing prior to the performance of the work?
Yes, clearly for “residential” property a Pre-Construction Notice to Owner must be provided to the property owner before performance of work. The contractor is obligated to provide the notice. The penalty for a residential contractor’s failure to do so is severe – the residential contractor is barred from bring an action either at law or in equity to enforce any provision of a residential contract. Further, a prudent subcontractor or material supplier should likewise provide a Pre-Construction Notice to Owner. There is no requirement under the Law for any filing with a clerk or court before construction.
What is the deadline for filing suit to initiate a lien foreclosure action?
Lien claimants must enforce the lien by filing a foreclosure suit within 15 months of filing the lien.
Does the Arkansas law impose mandatory notice requirements? foreclosure action?
Yes, Arkansas has very specific notice and filing requirements depending on whether the project is residential or commercial. A Pre-Construction Notice to Owner must be provided on residential property, either by the residential contractor or a lien claimant, and then the lien compliant must serve notice on the owners (Notice of Intent to file a lien) 10 days before filing a lien. Lien claimants on commercial projects must provide Notice to Owner and Contractor within 75 days of the last work or material provided. Then, lien claimants on commercial projects must serve notice on the owners Notice of Intent to File a Lien) 10 days before filing a lien.
When is a contractor or supplier deemed to have last performed work or furnished material so as to trigger the start of the lien filing period?
A contractor or supplier is deemed to have last performed work on the last day substantial work or labor was actually done. Physical presence on the jobsite without performing actual work on the project does not constitute work or labor done. As to furnished material, the lien filing period begins to run on the day the last item was actually furnished. However, the Arkansas Supreme Court has held that performance of labor of a trivial character, such as an adjustment of equipment already installed, not expressly provided for by the contract and after the contract has been substantially performed, will not ordinarily extend the time for filing a lien beyond the date of last delivery or for work done beyond the date of actual installation.
Does Arkansas law provide a procedure for bonding or otherwise removing the claim of lien?
Yes, any person wanting to contest a lien may file a bond equal to the amount of the lien with the circuit clerk with whom the lien is filed. The party claiming the lien must contest the bond within 3 days, or the lien will be discharged
Arkansas lien law protects most construction project participants, including contractors, subcontractors, material suppliers, architects, engineers, surveyors, appraisers, abstractors, title insurance agents, and landscapers. Providers of equipment, e.g., equipment rental providers, are not specifically covered by the law.
Arkansas allows for broad recover, including the indebtedness, along with interest, and costs. The successful party may be entitled to attorneys’ fees.
There are separate statutes governing surveyors, title insurance and architects' liens.
A.C.A. § 18-44-105 provides that an engineering or surveyor's lien does not attach to
the land, building, erection or improvement upon land unless and until the lien is duly
filed of record with the circuit clerk and recorder of the county in which the land,
building, erection, or improvement is located. The recorded lien will be enforced in
the same manner as a mechanic's or contractor's liens.
Is priority the same for all contractors and subcontractors on the same project?
Yes. A.C.A. § 18-44-110.
What is the time period for recording lien claims by original contractors and
A.C.A. § 18-44-117 provides that a lien must be filed 120 days after the things
specified in this subchapter shall have been furnished or the work or labor done or
After what period of time can you waive a mechanics' liens if no suit is filed?
A.C.A. § 18-44-119 provides that all actions under this subchapter shall be
commenced within 15 months after filing the lien and prosecuted without
unnecessary delay to final judgment. No lien shall continue to exist by virtue of the
provisions of this subchapter for more than 15 months after the lien is filed.
Is there a statutory procedure for affidavits of completion or notices of completion?
Can a statutory bond terminate the mechanics' liens as an encumbrance on the title?
Yes. A.C.A. § 18-44-118(b).
Can the original, general, or subcontractor's contract or waiver agreement
subordinate or waive mechanics' liens by general contractor and/or subcontractors?
Whether this is contractually sound has never been ruled upon in Arkansas. There is no statutory authority.
Can a bona fide purchaser or bona fide lender take free of mechanics' liens later filed for earlier work?
Mechanics' Liens or notices of completion?
Can the Construction Loan Mortgage have initial priority over mechanics' liens?
Generally, construction mortgages will have priority over mechanics' and
materialman liens provided the construction mortgage was filed prior to
commencement of work and provided that any advances made for the purposes of
purchasing the land is adequately disclosed on the face of the mortgage. Also, the
construction loan mortgage must contain language that advances are obligatory and
not optional on the part of the lender. A.C.A. § 18-44-110.
Will initial priority as to future disbursements be retained only if certain procedures
No information is available at this time.
If priority is lost, can it be regained?
How long does a party have to file a lien? or notices of completion?
One hundred and twenty days (120) from the date that labor or materials were furnished. A.C.A. § 18-44-117. The original contractor may file his lien at any time, but other parties must give the property owner ten (10) days notice (see notice below) prior to filing of a lien claim. Accompanying this notice must be a affdavit of notice verifying that the notice required in A.C.A. § 18-44-114 –116 have also been given. This ten-day provision does not apply if the underlying improvements are part of a direct sale to the property owner. A.C.A. § 18-44-114.
Arkansas law does not specifically set out the method by which a lien my able released. However, UsLegalForm AR-06-09 is a general release form which may be used for this purpose. Also worth noting, a lien must be paid within twenty (20) days of its filing or the attorney’s fees of the party claiming the lien may be assessed against the property owner. A.C.A. § 18-44-128.
Does this State permit the use of a bond to release a lien?
Don of a lien?A. Eilbott Attorney, PLCPost Office Box 23870Little Rock, AR 72221-3870Telephone 501- 707-5547Facsimile 501- 421-5653Cell 501- email@example.com Jack, Nelson, Jones & Bryant, P.A.- Of Counsel
Special appreciation to ALTA for slides