Frost GAR Hall. Frost, ohio. History of Hall.
Nestled away in the rolling hills of southeastern Ohio is a small hamlet along the Hocking River called Frost. Not visible from the state road, Frost has a look of being forgotten by time. Among its buildings stands an authentic GAR meeting hall, complete and untouched as if the old fellows just had a meeting the other night. Built in 1896, this hall has a long history of service to the citizens of southeastern Ohio, and continues the traditions begun by the GAR and continued today by the SUVCW and the Ladies Auxiliary. It was built by GAR veterans for its intended purpose of dutiful remembrance of service for aging boys in blue. Established as GAR Post #341 and then Camp John S. Townsend #108 of the Sons of Veterans. In the 1930’s, Camp #108 disbanded and the Ladies’ continued to take care of the building until Camp #108 reformed in the 1990’s.
Enough can’t be said about the Ladies’ determination to preserve the building for future generations while there was not a SUVCW presence. But now, after 112 years, the hall is in need of major repair.
The first floor meeting room is where the people gathered to have meals or entertainment. During the 1970’s to 1990’s, the meeting room was used for bluegrass and folk bands to play. The money raised was used to keep up the building. The ceiling and walls are made of buckeye wood. The floor is believed to be oak. Some of the benches were used by the men upstairs in the ceremony room but are now used for seating downstairs.
The ceremonial room was used by the GAR members to hold their meetings and perform initiation rituals. The room is currently set up for the SUVCW. The Ladies Auxiliary also use the room for their meetings.