Texas energy managers association
1 / 22

Texas Energy Managers Association - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

Texas Energy Managers Association. A Brief History. It Began as a Dream. of Jim Brown – ESA Energy Systems Associates, Inc. and Glenda Baldwin – SECO Schools Program. Interest Survey Results. 1020 ISD Superintendents and 225 Energy Managers Surveyed 124 Responded 10% Response Rate.

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'Texas Energy Managers Association' - kaleigh

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
Texas energy managers association

Texas Energy ManagersAssociation

A Brief History

It began as a dream
It Began as a Dream

of Jim Brown – ESA Energy Systems Associates, Inc.

and Glenda Baldwin – SECO Schools Program

Interest survey results
Interest Survey Results

1020 ISD Superintendents and

225 Energy Managers Surveyed

124 Responded

10% Response Rate

A survey was sent out in May 2008

by Dub Taylor, Director of SECO

Survey results
Survey Results


  • Q 1: Does your school have a district EM?

    Yes 58 No 66

  • Q 2: Would your school district be interested in a statewide Energy Managers Association?

    Yes 111 No 12




Survey results1
Survey Results

  • Q 9: Would you like to see the State of Texas provide Certification for Energy Managers with training directed specifically toward Texas school needs?

    Yes 85 No 31



June 2008 Jim Brown of ESA hired Yvonne Huneycutt to organize and administer a new association for Energy Managers.

Colby May of ESA developed TEMA’s first website.

TEMA was supported by ESA with personnel and office space 2008-2010.

SECO Contracting Firms 2008 – 2010: The consulting muscle behind TEMA

Jim Brown, ESA Energy Systems Associates, Inc.

Gary Bristow, EMA Estes McClure & Associates, Inc.

Saleem Kahn, TEESI Texas Energy Engineering Services, Inc.

Steering committee members 2008 2010
Steering Committee Members2008 - 2010

Rebecca CordeirodePeredo – Spring Branch ISD

Bruce Dschuden – Northside ISD

Larry Harvey – Garland ISD

Victor Melton – Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD

Glen Rhoden – Cypress-Fairbanks ISD

Cesar Trevino – United ISD

Supporting cast

Dub Taylor – SECO

Perry Been – SECO

Glenda Baldwin – SECO

Jim Brown – ESA

Debra Brown – ESA

Yvonne Huneycutt – ESA

Colby May – ESA

Rik Morris – ESA

Frank Thomas – ESA

Patricia Jacobson - ESA

Gary Bristow –


Saleem Kahn - TEESI

Supporting Cast

Association umbrella a future vision
Association Umbrella:a future vision












Tema development
TEMA Development

Steering Committee met 2008 – 2010 with active support of SECO and 3 Energy Management Consulting firms.

Became a TX non-profit corporation Nov. 2008.

Begin membership drive March 2009.

Held a contest in TX public schools to create a logo for TEMA. Winning logo was designed by Sarah Pak of Coppell Middle School. TEMA awarded the school with a $500 check.

Sarah Pak, 9th Grade at Coppell Middle School – TEMA’s 1stlogo designer

Tema development1
TEMA Development

  • Two regional chapters formed in 2009:

    DFW Chapter and Gulf Coast Chapter (Houston)

  • Charter membership (all who joined in 2009):

    97 Memberships; 164 Individuals; 51 ISDs;

    2 Universities; 1 Hospital.

  • First Board election held December 2009.

  • 2010: Development and implementation of Accredited Texas Energy Manager (ATEM) credential.

  • Rebecca CordeirodePeredo, TEMA’s first president, resigns Sept. 2010 to pursue an MBA at Oxford.

Tema honorary members
TEMA Honorary Members

TEMA President, Glen Rhoden awards outgoing president, Rebecca Cordeiro de Peredo with lifetime membership in appreciation for her tremendous efforts in starting TEMA.

TEMA Board honors Glenda Baldwin honorary membership and Perry Been a certificate of appreciation upon their retirement from SECO as thanks for their dedicated support in starting TEMA.

Tema development2

DFW Chapter hosts first ATEM course & exam and first TEMA Product Expo in October 2010.

Tema development3

The Central Texas Chapter, chartered Nov. 2010, is first regional chapter to recruit Energy Managers in the public sector outside of ISDs.

TEMA and ESA determine it is time for TEMA to stand on its own. Yvonne Huneycutt resigns from ESA and is hired by TEMA as Administrator beginning January 2011.

TEMA is granted 501(c)(6) status by the IRS January 2011.

Tema development4

  • The Gulf Coast Chapter hosts the second ATEM training course and credentialing exam and TEMA’s second Product Expo April 2011.

Tema growth
TEMA GROWTH Credential

The best days are ahead