state of louisiana automobile claims l.
Skip this Video
Download Presentation
State of Louisiana Automobile Claims

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 37

State of Louisiana Automobile Claims - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

State of Louisiana Automobile Claims. by Walter Lockhart Email: Office of Risk Management P.O. Box 91106 Baton Rouge, LA 70821 Phone:225-342-8466 Fax:225-342-4470. Auto policy definitions.

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'State of Louisiana Automobile Claims' - jacob

Download Now An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
state of louisiana automobile claims
State of Louisiana Automobile Claims

byWalter Lockhart


Office of Risk Management

P.O. Box 91106

Baton Rouge, LA 70821



auto policy definitions
Auto policy definitions
  • Auto: means any vehicle required to be licensed by the Motor Vehicle Law of Louisiana but does not include mobile equipment.
  • Mobile equipment: means any vehicle not required to be licensed by the Motor Vehicle Law of Louisiana.
physical damage definitions
Physical damage definitions
  • Collision-collision with another object or overturn. Deductible $1000.
  • Comprehensive-from any cause except above.

(Examples: fire, lightning, theft, windstorm, hail, flood, vandalism). Deductible $1000.

All agencies have a $1000 deductible on all windshield claims.

proof of insurance for state owned licensed vehicles
Proof of insurance for state owned/licensed vehicles
  • Website:
  • Letter from J. S. Thompson, Jr.
  • Policy period: 7/1/09 to 7/1/10.
  • Place copy of letter in all State vehicles.
auto physical damage and liability coverage
Auto physical damage and liability coverage
  • State owned licensed vehicles used for state business.
  • Licensed vehicles rented and/or leased used for state business.
what should a state employee do after an auto accident
What should a state employee do after an auto accident?
  • Refrain from making any statements and/or commitments regarding payments of damages and/or medicals to anyone.
  • Get names, addresses and phone numbers of all parties involved in the accident.
  • Write down the license plate number(s) of each vehicle involved in the accident.
towing of state vehicles
Towing of state vehicles
  • If possible, avoid having state vehicles towed to a wrecker yard.
  • If vehicle is towed to wrecker yard, give state vehicle location on DA 2041, address and phone number of wrecker yard.
da 2041 form
DA 2041 form
  • Complete this form.
  • Then email to ( or fax (225-342-7740) to me within 48 hours after the accident.
  • For all claims on state owned licensed vehicles and/or rented/leased vehicles on state business.
who will be the adjuster handling the physical damage claims
Who will be the adjuster handling the physical damage claims?
  • Drew Hall. He will handle:
  • State owned licensed vehicles and
  • rented/leased vehicles used on State business.
  • Phone: 225-219-3739
  • Email:
process of a physical damage claim
Process of a physical damage claim
  • Claim assigned to adjuster. Adjuster reviews the DA 2041.
  • If damages minor, adjuster will send letter asking agency if it wishes to make claim.
  • If so, agency sends two repair estimates and copy of police report to adjuster.
  • If vehicle is repairable, adjuster will check final invoice for correctness and then pay claim less deductible to vendor.
process of a physical damage claim continued
Process of a physical damage claim(continued)
  • ORM must have a final invoice to pay the vendor.
  • The agency responsible for paying the vendor its deductible.
physical damage supplemental damages
Physical damage/supplemental damages
  • If supplemental damages found after vehicle disassembled, vendor will contact ORM and/or appraiser.
  • Additional damages must be agreed upon before being paid by ORM.
  • All damages must be from accident. Old damages will be disallowed.
physical damages vehicle undriveable
Physical damages/vehicle undriveable
  • ORM will hire appraiser to inspect vehicle.
  • If repairable, adjuster will send copy (appraisal) to agency.
  • If not, adjuster will advise agency vehicle is deemed total loss and prepare paper work for agency signature.
physical damage total loss
Physical damage/total loss
  • Total loss letter for state vehicles deemed total loss.
  • Agency will send needed paper work directly to LPAA on total losses.
  • ORM will subtract high salvage bid and deductible.
  • Agency will receive salvage proceeds from LPAA after sale of salvage.
  • If adverse party at fault, we will turn this matter over to Subrogation Unit for recovery.
  • Imperative that agencies cooperate by sending claims and having vehicles repaired in timely manner.
  • Prescription period one year from date of loss.
personal vehicles used on state business
Personal vehicles used on state business
  • Registered owner’s auto insurance (liability and physical damage) is primary and responds first.
  • State’s insurance is excess on liability coverage only if employee is within scope and permission.
personal vehicles used on state business continued
Personal vehicles used on state business (continued)
  • See insurance notice letter number 98-2.
  • Reimbursement of collision deductible up to $1000.00 or
  • If auto has no collision insurance, maximum of $1000.00 per collision loss.
  • Collision, not comprehensive claims.
  • If other party/carrier pays your damages no payment from ORM.
rental vehicles
Rental Vehicles
  • Report all rental auto accidents to ORM (use DA 2041 form).
  • New state motor pool rental contract with Enterprise effective 12/21/09.
    • Report Enterprise auto rental accidents to Enterprise office where rented in addition to reporting to ORM.
    • See Office of State Purchasing and Travel website for more information on new contract.
automobile liability third party claims
Automobile liability third party claims
  • Agency will forward completed DA 2041 form to ORM by email or fax.
  • Supervisor will assign claim to adjuster.
  • Adjuster will investigate claim and decide whether there is liability on our driver. If so, damages will be paid based on percentage of liability. If no liability, claim will be denied.
  • If any injuries involved, ORM will normally assign claim to independent adjuster.
  • If agency/employee receives lawsuit on auto

accident, forward to ORM as soon as possible.

insurance information notice letters website http doa louisiana gov orm
Insurance information notice lettersWebsite:
  • No. 97-1 Towing of state vehicles.
  • No. 97-2 Inspection of rental vehicles.
  • No. 98-2 Reimbursement of collision deductible on employee’s personally-owned vehicles used on state business.
  • No. 99-6 Losses involving uninsured autos.
  • No. 2001-2 Rented and/or courtesy vehicles.
  • No. 2002-1 Reduction of liability limit.