Illegal Batting NFHS Rule 9.7. John Hoffmann July 30th, 2001. Illegal Batting NFHS Rule 9.7. John Hoffmann July 30th, 2001. Presentation Overview. 1) Illegal Batting Overview 2) Batting in the NFHS Rules Book 3) Batting in the NFHS Case Book
PowerPoint Slideshow about 'Illegal Batting NFHS Rule 9.7' - iman
An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation
Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.
Rule 2-2:Batting is intentionally slapping or striking the ball with the arm or hand.
Rule 2-13-1: Force is the result of energy exerted by a player which provides movement of the ball. The term force is used only in connection with the goal line and in only one direction, i.e., from the field of play into the end zone. Initial force results from a carry, fumble, kick, pass or snap. After a backward pass, fumble or kick has been grounded, a new force may result from a bat, an illegal kick or a muff.
Rule 2-13-3: The muffing or batting of a pass, kick or fumble in flight is not considered a new force.
Rule 9-7-2: No player shall bat a loose ball other than a pass or a fumble in flight, or a low scrimmage kick in flight which he is attempting to block in or behind the expanded neutral zone.
Exception: A K player may bat toward his own goal line a grounded scrimmage kick which is beyond the neutral zone and may also bat a scrimmage kick in flight beyond the neutral zone, if no R player is in position to catch the ball.
Rule 9-7-3: Any pass in flight may be batted in any direction, by an eligible receiver unless it is a backward pass batted forward by the passing team.
Rule 9-7-4: A ball in player possession shall not be batted forward by a player of the team in possession.
Rule 6-5-6: While any free kick is in flight in or beyond the neutral zone to the receiver's goal line or any scrimmage kick is in flight beyond the neutral zone to the receiver's goal line, K shall not touch the ball or R, unless blocked into the ball or R or to ward off a blocker, nor obstruct R's path to the ball. This prohibition applies even when no fair-catch signal is given, but it does not apply after a free kick has been touched by a receiver, or after a scrimmage kick has been touched by a receiver who was clearly beyond the neutral zone at the time of touching.
Exception: K may catch, touch, muff or bat a scrimmage kick in flight beyond the neutral zone if no player of R is in position to catch the ball.
Table 7-5 Foul 4: Illegal Touching By Ineligible: A forward pass caught, batted or muffed by an ineligible A player who is in or behind the neutral zone. Penalty: Loss of 5 yards and loss of down Enforcement Spot: SPOT OF TOUCHING.
Rule 7-5-10a: It is forward-pass interference if: Any player of A or B who is beyond the neutral zone interferes with an eligible opponent's opportunity to move toward, catch or bat the pass.
Rule 7-5-11a: It is not forward-pass interference if: Unavoidable contact occurs when two or more eligibles are making a simultaneous, bona fide attempt to move toward, catch or bat the pass.
Rule 7-5-13: An ineligible A player has illegally touched a forward pass if he bats, muffs or catches a forward pass while he is in or behind the neutral zone, unless the pass has been touched by B.
Rule 8-5-1: Responsibility for forcing the ball from the field of play across a goal line is attributed to the player who carries, snaps, passes, fumbles or kicks the ball, unless a new force is applied to a grounded backward pass, kick or fumble. The muffing or batting of a pass, kick or fumble in flight is not considered a new force.
Rule 8-5-2: It is a safety when: A player, who is either in the field of play or in his end zone, forces a loose ball from the field of play to or across his goal line by his kick, pass, fumble, snap or by a new force with his muff or bat or illegal kick, provided the ball becomes dead there in his team's possession (including when the ball is declared dead with no player in possession), or the ball is out of bounds when it becomes dead on or behind their goal line. This does not apply to a legal forward pass which becomes incomplete.
Rule 8-5-3b: It is a touchback when: Any scrimmage kick or free kick becomes dead on or behind K's goal line with the ball in possession of Team K (including when the ball is declared dead with no player in possession) and the new force is R's muff or bat of the kick after it has touched the ground.
Rule 8-5-3c: It is a touchback when: A fumble is the force, or a muff or bat of a backward pass or a fumble after either has touched the ground is the new force, which sends the ball to or across the opponent's goal line and provided such opponent is in team possession or the ball is out of bounds when it becomes dead on or behind its goal line.
9.7.2A - Play: With fourth and 4 from R's 40-yard line, K1 punts. The kick is bounding near R's goal line and K2, in an attempt to keep it from penetrating the plane of the goal line, bats the ball at the 2-yard line back toward his own goal line. In (a) it is recovered by R1 who advances to his 30; or (b) it is recovered by R2 who attempts to advance, but retreats and is downed in his own end zone.
Ruling a: The bat by K2 is legal because it occurred beyond the neutral zone. R would obviously take the results of the play and put the ball in play first and 10 from its 30.
Ruling b: Since the result of the play is a safety, R would take the ball at the 2, which is the spot of first touching where K2 legally batted the kick. (6-2-5; 8-5-2a; 9-7-2 Exp.)
9.7.2B - Play: K1's punt is coming down over R's 10-yard line and: (a) R3 is in position to catch the ball; or (b) no R player is in position to catch the ball, when K2 attempts to bat the ball toward his own goal line while it is in flight, but the batted ball goes into R's end zone.
Ruling a: It is a foul for kick-catching interference by K2 as well as first touching, and R may chose to take the result of the play, which is a touchback, or take an awarded fair catch or the ball at the spot of first touching at the 10-yard line, or penalize K 15 yards from the previous spot and replay the down.
Ruling b: There is no foul and the result of the play is a touchback. R will put the ball in play first and 10 from its own 20-yard line. (6-5-6 Exp.; 8-5-3; 9-2-7 Exp.)
9.7.3 - Play: Team A is in punt formation and the ball is snapped to A1, who turns his back to the line of scrimmage and throws a backward pass into the air. A2 comes forward and bats the ball 20 yards downfield where: (a) A3 recovers it 5 yards beyond the line to gain; or (b) it is caught by A4 who advances for an additional 5 yards; or (c) it goes out of bounds in advance of the line to gain; or (d) B1 intercepts and returns it for an apparent touchdown.
Ruling a, b and c: The batting by A2 is illegal. It will be to B's advantage to accept the penalty of 15 yards which will be administered from the spot of the foul because the batting occurred during the loose-ball play and behind the basic spot. (10-6)
Ruling d: Modified due to 2001 rule change. The batting by A2 is illegal. In most cases, declining the penalty by B will be the obvious choice.
9.7.4 - Play: On fourth and 6 from B's 10-yard line, A1 is about to be hit short of the line to gain. While the ball is in A1's possession, either: (a) A1; or (b) A2; or (c) B1, bats the ball forward into B's end zone where A3 recovers.
Ruling a and b: It is an illegal bat in both. The enforcement spot is the end of A1's run, which is where the bat occurred.
Ruling c: The bat is legal and results in a touchdown for A. (8-2-2)
6-5-6 Exp.: This is a legal play. The kickers may touch, bat, muff or catch a scrimmage kick in flight beyond the neutral zone when no receiver is in position to make a catch. The receivers may take the results of the play or the ball at the spot of first touching by K.
9-7-2 Exp.: K may bat a grounded scrimmage kick which is beyond the neutral zone toward his own goal line. This is legal action. If the bat occurred beyond the plane of the goal line, the ball was already dead causing it to be a touchback. K may also bat a scrimmage kick in flight beyond the neutral zone if no R player is in position to catch the ball.
Scenario 1: B1 intercepts a forward pass in his end zone and then passes backward to B2 who, scared to death, bats the ball over the end line.
Ruling 1: The force which put the ball into the end zone was the pass by A1. When B2 batted the backward pass in flight so that it went over the end line, the result is a touchback. It will be first and 10 for B from its 20-yard line. (8-5-3c; 9-7-2)
Scenario 2: On third and 10 from B's 20-yard line, quarterback A1 receives the snap and sweeps right. Setting up for a trick play he turns left and throws a lazy looping backward pass to his waiting receiver A2 who appears to be wide open at B's 30-yard line near the other sideline. Unfortunately, A2 realizes that two B players were not fooled and if he catches the pass, he is going to be tacked for a 10-yard loss. When the pass arrives, instead of catching the ball at B’s 30 he decides to bat the ball forward and out of bounds, in an attempt to minimize the loss of yardage. The bat by A2 goes out of bounds at B’s 25 yard line.
Ruling 2: The bat by A2 is illegal since he batted a backward pass in flight, forward. If accepted, A will be penalized 15 yards from the spot of the foul (B’s 30) because the batting occurred during the loose-ball play and behind the basic spot. The result is third and 35 from B’s 45. (9-7-3; 10-6)
Scenario 3: First and 10 from A's 7-yard line. The quarterback A1 receives the snap and throws a quick backward pass to wide receiver A2. The defensive end B1, in great anticipation, gets there first and bats the pass in flight toward A's end zone, which ultimately hits the base of the goal post.
Ruling 3: Safety for B. The bat by B1 is legal since all players of B may bat any pass in flight in any direction. Batting of a pass in flight is not considered a new force, therefore, A’s initial backward pass is the force that put the ball in the end zone. (9-7-3; 2-13-3)
Scenario 4: During a field-goal attempt, R1, who is in the end zone, leaps up and bats the ball away from the crossbar.
Ruling 4: Touchback. The touching by R1 in the end zone causes the ball to become dead, unless the ball caroms through the goal, thus scoring a field goal for K. This is not illegal batting. Touching by R1 in the field of play has no effect on the scoring of a field goal. (4-2-2d; 6-2-6; 9-7-2)