welcome to the winners of the 2013 2014 virginia choice awards n.
Download
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
Welcome to the Winners of the 2013-2014 Virginia Choice Awards PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
Welcome to the Winners of the 2013-2014 Virginia Choice Awards

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 22

Welcome to the Winners of the 2013-2014 Virginia Choice Awards - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 330 Views
  • Uploaded on

Welcome to the Winners of the 2013-2014 Virginia Choice Awards. These books were carefully selected for teens like you. Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosqol.

loader
I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
capcha
Download Presentation

Welcome to the Winners of the 2013-2014 Virginia Choice Awards


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Presentation Transcript
    1. Welcome to the Winners of the 2013-2014 Virginia Choice Awards These books were carefully selected for teens like you.

    2. Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosqol • “Brosgolhas created a smart, funny and compassionate portrait of someone who, for all her sulking and sneering, is the kind of daughter many parents would like to have. And the kind of girl many of us maybe once were.” -- The New York Times

    3. Anya’s Ghost by VeraBrosgol Click here for trailer Read an excerpt.

    4. Between Shades of Gray by RutaSepetys • A harrowing page-turner." - Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

    5. Between Shades of Gray by RutaSepetys a word from the author book trailer

    6. Choker by Elizabeth Woods • “Terrific pacing and mounting suspense lead to a resolution that may not surprise savvy readers but is nonetheless chilling.“ Booklist, Krista Hutley

    7. Choker by Elizabeth Woods Click here for trailer

    8. Dark Endeavor by Kenneth Oppel • “Oppelhas reinvented the gothic thriller for modern readers. The narrative crackles with tension, emotions run high, and the atmosphere is perfectly dark and brooding.”Rick Riordan(Author of the bestselling Percy Jackson series)

    9. Dark Endeavor by Kenneth Oppel a word from the writer book trailer

    10. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor • "An adventurous story of self-identity, "Daughter of Smoke and Bone" is written with high-stakes flair and a touch of humor...[It is] well-told and well-paced, raising intriguing questions about notions of identity, expectation, trust, betrayal and belonging." The Los Angeles Times

    11. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

    12. The Fault in our Stars by John Green • "A smartly crafted intellectual explosion of a romance….Carefully structured dialogue and razor-sharp characters brim with genuine intellect, humor and desire.”Kirkus, (Starred Review)

    13. The Fault in our Stars by John Green a word from the author book trailer

    14. Hold Me Closer, Neocromancer by Lish McBride • “Part scary, part funny, with a touch of tenderness, Hold Me Closer, Necromancer holds readers spellbound with unforgettable characters, snappy dialogue and killer (sometimes literally) song lyrics that open and offer clues to each chapter. Drawing on the timeless adolescent quest for identity and the popularity of supernatural fiction, McBride makes Sam’s adventures a scream—and a hoot.”—BookPage

    15. Hold Me Closer, Neocromancer by Lish McBride

    16. Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love by Larry Levin • "Among the many pet tales currently on bookstore shelves, this is the pick of the litter. . . Levin knits Oogy's story together with the stories of the many people involved in the dog's miraculous rescue and recovery. This is a cozy tale you'll want to curl up with and maybe wag once or twice." Lincoln Journal Star (Nebraska)

    17. Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love by Larry Levin a word from the author book trailer

    18. Something Like Hope by Shawn Goodman • “Shavonne’s voice—witty, tender, explicit, and tough—will grab readers. In the tradition of Walter Dean Myers’ and Jacqueline Woodson’s novels, this winner of Delacorte’s 2009 prize for best YA debut gets behind the statistics to tell it like it is.”–Booklist (Starred Review)

    19. Something Like Hope by Shawn Goodman

    20. Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater • "A book with cross-appeal to lovers of fantasy, horse stories, romance, and action-adventure, this seems to have a shot at being a YA blockbuster.” Booklist (Starred Review)

    21. Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater A word from the author book trailer

    22. Created by Laurie Kaplan