IBM Topics - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

ibm topics n.
Download
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
IBM Topics PowerPoint Presentation
play fullscreen
1 / 10
IBM Topics
232 Views
Download Presentation
fayre
Download Presentation

IBM Topics

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. IBM Topics Midwest DB2 Users’ Group March 4, 2009

  2. Chicago IBM Information ManagementTechnical Team • DB2 for z/OS • Paul Bartak 314-252-5826 paul.bartak@us.ibm.com • Paul Murphy 314-252-4233 paul.murphy@us.ibm.com • DB2 for Linux, UNIX and Windows • Jim Waddell 414-223-6567 jim.waddell@us.ibm.com • Jim Strand 847-805-2509 jdstrand@us.ibm.com • DB2 for z/OS, Linux, UNIX and Windows Data Warehousing • Gary Crupi 414-223-6279 gary.crupi@us.ibm.com • Information Integration and Business Intelligence • Jason Arnold 312-529-1919 jaarnold@us.ibm.com • Shantan Kethireddy 224-465-1875shantank@us.ibm.com • DB2 Tools • Greg Kline 630-568-1026 gwkline@us.ibm.com

  3. Chicago IBM Information ManagementSales Team • DB2 for z/OS Software Sales • Matt Russo 630-568-1860 russo2@us.ibm.com • DB2 for z/OS Tools • Nate Goodman 414-223-6748 nathang@us.ibm.com • Information Management Software Sales • Lee Gallerano 630-717-9683 lgallerano@us.ibm.com • Information Management Software Sales • Alex Olin 312-455-0599 aolin@us.ibm.com

  4. IDUG 2009 Conference Schedules http://conferences.idug.org/na/GeneralInformation/tabid/337/Default.aspx

  5. End of Log RBA Range • What happens when your DB2 RBA hits FFFFFFFFFFFF? • Did you think you’d be retired before then??? • Review your Print Log Map (DSNJU004) and logging rate. • See PK27611 • DB2 will issue a new DSNJ032I warning message if the current log RBA value exceeds F80000000000 • DB2 will continue to run until the current log RBA value exceeds FFFF00000000 • DB2 will issue the DSNJ032I message indicating the situation is now CRITICAL and will terminate with RC00D10251.

  6. End of Log RBA Range Estimation • If you are concerned about your RBA usage rate… • Talk to your DB2 Advisor or me (jaarnold@us.ibm.com) • Send DSNJU004 output

  7. pureXML Teleconference - April 21st • Title: Accelerate Application Development, Achieve greater business agility and improve business insights with DB2 9 for z/OS pureXML • Speaker: Guogen Zhang, IBM, Senior Technical Staff Member • Broadcast Date: April 21, 2009 at 11:00 a.m. Eastern Standard Time • This teleconference offers an overview of pureXML™ technology in DB2 9 for z/OS, its business values and technical feature details. • More info: • http://www-01.ibm.com/software/os/systemz/telecon/apr21/

  8. 50 TB Data Warehouse Benchmark on IBM System z • New draft IBM Redbook • The objective of our 50TB study was to test System z scalability in a business intelligence environment and to develop the best practices of managing large data warehouses • Some of the topics covered… • Leveraging Materialized Query Tables • Reporting and analysis with Cognos • Workload management • More info: • Link to the draft redbook

  9. Bryan Smith Wants Feedback • We are investigating implementing some server-side functions in our data tools that would run in a Java runtime on z/OS, and I would appreciate getting your feedback to help us with this planning work. –Bryan Smith • Are you using java stored procedures? • Are you using zAAPs • Any comments on our using java on z/OS? • http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/blogs/page/datastudioteam?entry=need_your_input_data_tools

  10. Miscellaneous Announcements • DB2 z/OS V8 • EOM Announced: 09/08/09 • See Announcement 908-280 • Data Studio V2.1 is now available • http://www-01.ibm.com/software/data/studio/ • Data Studio Resources • DB2 9 for z/OS Stored Procedures: Through the CALL and Beyond • Tutorial on how to develop DB2 z/OS stored procedures with Data Studio Developer • Data Studio Information Center