1 / 18


PRESENTER’S WAIVER ~ The following information is current at the time of the DATTA(WA) presentation – Friday 30 th May 2014.

Download Presentation


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author. Content is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use only. Download presentation by click this link. While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server. During download, if you can't get a presentation, the file might be deleted by the publisher.


Presentation Transcript

  1. PRESENTER’S WAIVER ~ • The following information is current at the time of the DATTA(WA) presentation – Friday 30th May 2014. • The presentation has been created to summarise and present information as a guide to attendees. Accurate or qualified responses are best sourced from the SCSA website or SCSA personnel. • The information presented within has been acquired or interpreted from attended SCSA presentations and documentation sourced prior to the event. • Information within this presentation could have been misinterpreted and be incorrect for which no responsibility is accepted. • Thankyou and best wishes…..


  3. Do you need to know this?

  4. Why do you need to know this? • Student and parent questions • Course offerings • Professional understanding • Lower school pathways • Whole-school planning and direction

  5. To achieve a WACE students must: • Complete a Literacy and Numeracy Assessment to demonstrate a minimum standard (OLNA or NAPLAN Band 8+). • Complete a minimum of four Year 12 ATAR courses including the external examination (i.e. be eligible for an ATAR) or complete a Certificate II or higher. Different to attainment. • Complete two Year 11 English units and a pair of Year 12 English units. • Complete at least one pair of units from a Year 12 List A (arts/languages/social sciences) course and one pair of units from a Year 12 List B course (mathematics/sciences/technologies).No more waiving of List B requirement.

  6. To achieve a WACE students must: • Complete at least 20 units (or equivalents) including a minimum of 10 Year 12 units. • Achieve a minimum of 14 C grades in Year 11 and Year 12 units (or equivalents) including at least 6 C grades in Year 12 units (or equivalents). All students (whether they have achieved the WACE or not) will receive a Western Australian Statement of Student Achievement (WASSA) – a record of all courses and or programs completed.

  7. Attainment is the achievement of an ATAR 55+ or complete Certificate II. • WACE : WA Certificate of Education- all students in year 11 and 12 are working toward achieving their WACE • If there is an examination or an externally set task for the pair of units, the student must also make a genuine attempt in that examination or externally set task for the grade to count towards the C grade requirement.

  8. What types of courses are there? • ATAR courses – for students who are aiming to go to university and will need to sit an external exam which will get them an ATAR. • General courses – for students aiming to enter further training or the workforce straight from school. These are not examined. • Foundation courses - Only students who have not demonstrated the minimum achievement in the relevant components of the OLNA may enrol in Foundation courses. • VET industry specific courses– have VET qualifications integrated into the course and they contribute to the Certificate II requirement for a WACE.

  9. What other programs are there? • There are also Vocational Education and Training (VET) programs and Endorsed programs which contribute to WACE equivalence and address areas of learning not covered by courses. • VET programs are nationally accredited and consistent with the requirements of the Australian Qualifications Framework. • Most schools offer a range of Certificate Courses. There are limits to the number of VET programs (not VET industry specific courses) that may contribute to achievement of the WACE. Limit on the number being taken by student may be a school decision

  10. VET equivalences • For a completed Certificate I, units of competency must have a minimum of 110 nominal hours. • For a completed Certificate II, the achievement of units of competency must be a minimum of 220 hours. • * Non completion.

  11. VET Industry Specific Courses • Contribute towards the WACE. • Enable students to count their VET achievement as having met the ‘C’ grade requirement and satisfy the Certificate II or higher requirement. • Still require RTO for certification VET industry specific course structure and unit credit

  12. Endorsed Programs • A student can only use endorsed programs for 2 units of equivalence in Year 11 and two units in Year 12 • Workplace Learning is an Authority‐developed endorsed program. To complete this program, a student works in one or more real workplace/s to develop a set of transferable workplace skills. Business, Animal Studies and General Construction. • Students may accrue a maximum of two Year 11 units and two Year 12 units in Workplace Learning to contribute towards their WACE.

  13. 11 12 Year 11 Courses Description General English Units 1&2 2 General Children, Family and the Community Unit 1 &2 2 General Drama Units 3&4 2 VETiS Construction Cert 1 2 Year 12 Courses Description General English Units 3&4 2 General Children, Family and the Community Units 3 &4 2 VET Qualifications Year Qualification Group Yr 11 Certificate II Community Services (280 hours) 2 2 Yr 11 Certificate II Business (325 hours) 2 2 Endorsed Programs Year Program Description Group Yr 11 Workplace Learning (2 Units) 1 1 Yr 12 Workplace Learning (1 Units) 1

  14. Course Codes • Generally, the course codes have five characters. • A – ATAR course, • G – General course • F – Foundation course • V – VET Industry Specific courses • 1 & 2 – Year 11 • 3 & 4 – Year 12 • E – Year 11 pair of units (Eleven) - Units 1 and 2 • T – Year 12 pair of units (Twelve) - Units 3 and 4 Examples of courses and their codes: • General course, Unit 1 Year 11, English– G1ENG • General course, Year 12 English GTENG • ATAR course, Year 11 Unit 1– A1ENG • Concurrent vs Sequential

  15. Prerequisites and Combinations • State Training Providers • Universities • Course Combinations

  16. NEED MORE INFORMATION?www.scsa.wa.edu.auhttp://wace1516.scsa.wa.edu.au/

More Related