scign unveiling event july 6 2001 n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
SCIGN unveiling event July 6, 2001 PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
SCIGN unveiling event July 6, 2001

SCIGN unveiling event July 6, 2001

131 Views Download Presentation
Download Presentation

SCIGN unveiling event July 6, 2001

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. SCIGN unveiling event July 6, 2001

  2. The major objectives of theSCIGN array are: • To provide regional coverage for estimating earthquake potential throughout Southern California • To identify active blind thrust faults and test models of compressional tectonics in the Los Angeles region • To measure local variations in strain rate that might reveal the mechanical properties of earthquake faults (e.g., post-seismic) • In the event of an earthquake, to measure permanent crustal deformation not detectable by seismographs, as well as the response of major faults to the regional change in strain (e.g., was Hector Mine triggered?)

  3. SCIGN Coordinating Board: Duncan Agnew (Scripps Institution of Oceanography, U.C. San Diego) Yehuda Bock (Scripps Institution of Oceanography, U.C. San Diego) Dick Davis (California Department of Transportation) Ken Hudnut (U. S. Geological Survey) Marti Ikehara (National Atmospheric and Oceanic Admin./National Geodetic Survey) David Jackson (University of California, Los Angeles) Nancy King (U. S. Geological Survey) Susan Owen (University of Southern California) Will Prescott (U. S. Geological Survey) Mike Watkins (NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory) Frank Webb (NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory) Steve Wesnousky (Univ. of Nevada, Reno) Frank Wyatt (Scripps Institution of Oceanography, U.C. San Diego) Bill Young (League of California Surveying Organizations) ex officio: Tom Henyey, SCEC Center Director, (University of Southern California) Bernard Minster, SCEC Science Director, (University of California, San Diego) Thanks to the many people of SCIGN:

  4. Advisory Council Jeff Freymueller, Chair (University of Alaska) Michael Bevis (University of Hawaii) Roland Burgmann (University of California, Berkeley) Herb Dragert (Pacific Geoscience Center) Diane Evans (NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory) Brad Hager (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Egill Hauksson (California Institute of Technology) Teruyuki Kato (University of Tokyo) Charles Kennel (University of California, San Diego, Scripps Institute of Oceanography) John Orcutt (University of California, San Diego, Scripps Institution of Oceanography) Jim Savage (U. S. Geological Survey) Paul Segall (Stanford University) Interagency Committee John Filson (U. S. Geological Survey) John Unger (U. S. Geological Survey) Robin Reichlin (National Science Foundation) Dan Weill (National Science Foundation) Jim Whitcomb (National Science Foundation) Herman Zimmerman (National Science Foundation) John Labrecque (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) Earnie Paylor (National Aeronautics and Space Administration)

  5. Officers John McRaney - Network Administrator John Galetzka - Network Coordinator Staff Aris Aspiotes Jeff Behr Brent Gilmore Mike Heflin Ken Hurst Paul Jamason Nancy King John Langbein Myra Medina Keith Stark Michael Scharber Matt van Domselaar Shannon van Wyk Historical contributors Duncan Agnew Andrea Donnellan Bernard Minster Will Prescott John Scheid Mike Watkins Installation Contractors Eldon Gath Kerry Cato Tanya Gonzalez Chris Walls Ed Arnitz Chris Mora John Taylor Dave Arrone Mike Capriano Hector Mine W. Karl Gross, USGS Isla Guadelupe Javier Gonzalez, CICESE Mike Jackson, UNAVCO Spencer Reader, UNAVCO Warren Gallaher, UNAVCO Oivind Ruud, UNAVCO

  6. SCIGN Unveiling Event committee Mark Benthien, chair (SCEC) Margie Tiritilli, Caltrans Marguerite Syvertson, JPL Bob DeGroot, JPL/SCEC Mario Aguillera, Scripps/IGPP/UCSD Pat Jorgensen, USGS Fact Sheet Peter Stauffer, USGS Susan Mayfield, USGS Sara Boore, USGS Jim Hendley, USGS Lisa Wald, USGS All of our site hosts Schools (many) Metropolitan Water District National Park Service U. S. Forest Service Bureau of Land Management etc. Video News Release Steve DeVorkin, Caltrans Graphics Jon Marquis, SCEC Duncan McIntosh, Caltrans Marc Wong, Caltrans Deni Menegus Breck Betts Caltrans Ralph Ricketson Don Sanchez Molding Corporation of America Mark Hurley Jon Knight

  7. SCIGN unveiling event July 6, 2001