290 likes | 503 Views
Let there be LIGHT…. TAM Demystified… !!!. Doesn’t Watch TV. Reach. Average No. of People who have viewed a particular TV Content for atleast 1 minute. Reach (000s). Reach %. Total No. of Available People – 10 People that watch TV for atleast a Min - 6
E N D
Let there be LIGHT… TAM Demystified… !!!
Doesn’t Watch TV Reach Average No. of People who have viewed a particular TV Content for atleast 1 minute. Reach (000s) Reach % Total No. of Available People – 10 People that watch TV for atleast a Min - 6 Therefore, Reach = 6/10 = 60%
Cumulative Reach Total Unduplicated Reach for a given Period / Programme Gross Reach = Sum of Reach of All Episode = 221 Total Duplicated Reach = 70 Therefore, Cumulative Reach = 221-70 = 151
Time Spent • 2 Types : • Time Spent by Universe (TSU) • Time Spent by Viewer (TSV) • TSU is the average time spent by an audience including the non-viewers • TSU = Total Time Spent Universe
Time Spent • TSV is the average Time Spent by Viewers only (not including the Non-Viewers). • TSV = Total Time Spent Reach ‘000
Doesn’t Watch TV Time Spent Calculation 2 3 1 Total Programme Time = 5 Mins Therefore, Reach = 60 % TVR = 28% 5 2 1 TSV = 2+3+1+5+2+1 = 2.33 6 TSU = 2+3+1+5+2+1 = 1.4 10
TVR (%) Reach Time Spent
Doesn’t Watch TV TVR A Time Weighted Figure which also accounts for Time Spent by a Viewer along with the Reach 2 3 1 Total Programme Time = 5 Mins. 5 2 1 Reach = 6/10 = 60% TVR = 2/5 + 0/5 + 3/5 + 0/5 + 1/5 + 0/5 + 5/5 + 2/5 + 0/5 + 1/5 10 Therefore, TVR = 0.28 or 28 %
How can TVR be Read? • If TVR = 28% • It Means, • 28% of the Universe saw 100% of the Programme Or • 100% of the Population saw 28% of the Programme
Average TVR • It’s the Mean TVR achieved within a specified period provided it is for the same Market & for the same TG. • Can only be directly calculated when durations are equal Average TVR = 5.6 + 8.2 + 6.25 + 8.9 4 = 7.24
Average TVR • It’s the Mean TVR (Duration Adjusted) achieved within a specified period provided it is for the same Market & for the same TG. The Duration is adjusted for as follows… Average TVR = 112 + 287 + 250 + 222.5 20 + 35 + 40 + 25 (Total Duration) = 7.26
TVR in 000’s • TVR (000) indicates the Total Number of People that have watched the Entire Programme / Slot Duration. • TVR (000) = Count of People that have viewed 100% of the programme • TVR (000) = TVR (%) * Universe • Thus, TVR (%) = TVR (000) / Universe
GRPs • GRPs is the Summation of all the TVRs achieved within a period. • It can be for a Genre, Channel, DayPart, Market, TG, Programme or combinations of them.
GRPs Continued • A Normal Practice is to use a summation of 30 min TVRs (Xpress Trend Modules) to ascertain GRPs. • Thus, nullifying the duration factor…
Channel Share • There are 2 types of Channel Shares : • Absolute Share • Relative Share • Absolute Share = Channel Share with ALL channels as a Base • Relative Share = Channel Share with all channels from the same Genre as a Base
Channel Share Calculation Absolute Share = TVR of a Daypart or Programme Any Channel TVR within the same Daypart Relative Share = TVR of a Daypart or Programme Genre TVR within the same Daypart
Channel Share Calculation • TVR in ‘000 as well as GRPs can also be used for calculation of Share… • For a longer period, say a week or a month, the above two tend to be much more effective than TVR… • GRPs tend to be more effective method of Channel Share Calculation incase of Niche Channels.
CPRP • CPRP (Cost per Rating Point) is the amount an advertiser invests to achieve a TVR of 1 for a commercial. • It is a effectiveness score which evaluates the value of Spots.
CPRP Calculation CPRP calculation is undertaken to get all available options on a single base for Evaluation… In the above example the most efficient spot is NDTV Imagine followed by Star Plus…
CPT • CPT (Cost per Thousand) is the amount an advertiser invests to achieve a Reach of 1000 individuals for a commercial. • It is a effectiveness score which evaluates the value of Spots.
CPT Calculation CPT calculation is undertaken to get all available options on a single base for Evaluation… In the above example the most efficient spot is NDTV Imagine followed by Star Plus…
Frequency • The no. of Times an Individual is “REACHED” by a Programme or Commercial or Slot • The Definition of Reach holds true in this Case • Average Frequency (AOTS) = Average No. of Times a Commercial / Programme was REACHED by an Individual
Reach @ various Frequency Levels • Reach @ 1+, 2+, 3+ • Reach @ 1+ • No. of People that have seen the Programme / Commercial / Slot for atleast once • Reach @ 3+ • No. of People that have seen a Programme / Commercial / Slot more than 3 times.
Reach @ various Frequency Levels / Average Frequency Calculation Reach @ 1+ = 5 / 7 Reach @ 2+ = 3 / 7 Reach @ 3+ = 2 / 7 AOTS / Average Frequency = 12 / 7
Duplication • No. of people that have been reached by 2 or more Dayparts / Programme / Slots • i.e. Duplicated Set of Audiences 9:00PM 9:30PM 100 100 20