data review october 10, 2013 roosevelt middle school - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

data review october 10 2013 roosevelt middle school n.
Download
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
data review october 10, 2013 roosevelt middle school PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
data review october 10, 2013 roosevelt middle school

play fullscreen
1 / 115
data review october 10, 2013 roosevelt middle school
91 Views
Download Presentation
angelo
Download Presentation

data review october 10, 2013 roosevelt middle school

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. data reviewoctober 10, 2013roosevelt middle school Oklahoma State Department of Education

  2. Math Department Data Review

  3. Agenda • Looking at Benchmark 1: - Comparing 2012-13 with 2013-14 • Mastery of skills taught by Benchmark 1 • Student Growth on Math OCCT: -2011-12 2012-13 • Findings • Interventions • Questions

  4. Breakdown of Students TestedMath Benchmark I • A total of 621 students were tested 7th Grade: 308 of 308 8th Grade: 313 of 325 98% of Roosevelt’s students tested

  5. Comprehensive Benchmark I7th Grade Math SY2013-14

  6. Comprehensive Benchmark I7th Grade Math SY2012-13 4

  7. Comprehensive Benchmark I7th Grade Math SY2012-13 vs SY2013-14

  8. Comprehensive Benchmark I8th Grade Math SY2013-14

  9. Comprehensive Benchmark I8th Grade Math SY2012-13

  10. Comprehensive Benchmark I8th Grade Math SY2012-13 vs SY2013-14

  11. Percent Correct – Benchmark I 33% 32% 31%

  12. Comprehensive Benchmark IAlgebra I SY2013-14 4 *Note: 25 students Percent Correct: 39% 40

  13. Comprehensive Benchmark IAlgebra I SY2012-13

  14. Comprehensive Benchmark IAlgebra I SY2012-13 vs SY2013-14

  15. Algebra I Mrs. Shepelwich (Algebra I teacher) attends PLCs at U.S. Grant High School She is there 3 days a week

  16. 7thGrade • Skills Taught By Benchmark 1 • Add, subtract, multiply and divide integers • Add, subtract, multiply, and divide fractions • Skills Mastered: Benchmark 1 • None, w/ exception of Honors Math (PASS 1.1, 2.1a, 2.2a, 3.1) *Note:7th grade has been remediating towards their power standard of two-step equations, which is one-third of the exam. Will have been taught by Benchmark 2.

  17. 8thGrade • Skills Taught By Benchmark 1 • PASS 2.2a: Laws of Exponents • Skills Mastered: Benchmark 1 • PASS 2.2a: Laws of Exponents (For all classes) • ALG I (8th grade): 1.1a, 1.1b, 2.2a, 3.1, 5.1, 5.3

  18. Student Growth on Math OCCT 2011-2012  2012-2013

  19. Math OCCTs 2011-12 vs 2012-13

  20. Student Growth OCCTs SY2011-12 to SY2012-13 *Note: mobility at RMS is high. However, useful to think of as “cohort.”

  21. Student Growth OCCTs SY2011-12 to SY2012-13

  22. Algebra I For SY 2012-13, there was a 100% pass rate on EOI

  23. Findings Benchmark 1 • 7th Grade: showed no mastery of PASS Skills • The lesson plans are oriented to build a good foundation for students who are deficient in skills from either the 5th or 6th grade. These skills include performing operations with integers, fractions and mixed numbers , order of operations and one-step equations. The pass skill for two step equations and inequalities are 7th grade pass skills that will be covered before the next comprehensive benchmark test. • 8th Grade: mastery on skill 2.2a (Exponent Laws) Math OCCTs • 6th Grade: 6% decrease • 7th Grade: 14% increase • As a cohort (6th7th, more students in Unsatisfactory Performance Band)

  24. Findings (Continued) Math OCCTs • 8th Grade: 19% increase • As a cohort (7th8th, 34% decrease in Unsatisfactory, increase of students in LK, Proficient, and Advanced) Algebra I • 100% pass rate for SY 2012-13. • Students this year are coming in a little lower.

  25. Interventions Students who have not mastered skills are asked to come to tutoring before/after school and/or Saturday School. Algebra I students will be monitored closely and pulled after Benchmark 2 if necessary. 6th Grade Teachers (2012-13) who moved to 7th Grade currently receive instructional coaching through Pearson.

  26. Professional Learning communitiesandprofessional development review Roosevelt Middle School Math Department

  27. PLC Activities • Subject Level Collaboration (common lesson plans and common assessments) • Grade Level Collaboration (behavior issues and interventions, attendance issues/initiatives, engaging activities) • Department Level Collaboration (vertical alignment from year to year) • School Level Collaboration (feeder site connectivity, coming year preparation and placement)

  28. PLC Expectations • Establish Norms (have them posted) • Have an Agenda (if an agenda is thorough enough, minutes are not really necessary) • Focus (WHAT DO WE WANT THEM TO KNOW?) • Co-Create and Administer Common Assessments and Lesson Plans (HOW WILL WE KNOW IF THEY KNOW IT?) • Discuss Common Assessment Results in PLC (WHAT WILL WE DO IF THEY DID NOT LEARN IT?and WHAT WILL WE DO IF THEY DID?)

  29. 7th Grade Math PLC • Protocol……………………………………..B- • Focus………..……………………………….B • Common Tests/Lessons…………..………C • Remediation………….…………………….B • Enrichment……………….…………………C

  30. 8th Grade Math PLC • Protocol……………………………………..A • Focus………..……………………………….A • Common Tests/Lessons…………..………A • Remediation………….…………………….B • Enrichment……………….…………………C

  31. Math Department Professional Development • Mrs. Nelson & Mrs. Tyler – PAR Coaching • RMS Veteran Teachers - PEER Coaching • Dr. Sharon Kramer – PLC Coaching • Jenifer Albright-Borts – SIOP Coaching • Dedra Stafford – Technology Coaching • Carole Kelley – CCSS Coaching • Jane Guffey – Best Practices Coaching

  32. Closing the Achievement Gap

  33. NEW MONITORED INTERVENTIONS • WATCH THE DATA • CHANGE ADVISORY (25 MINUTES/DAY) TO LITERACY INITIATIVES ONLY (READING STRATEGIES, JIGSAW BOOK STUDIES, COMPASS ON COWS, ETC.) • MAPS ADJUSTMENT OF LIBRARY RECONSTRUCTION • LOCATE OUR BEST READING/READING COMPREHENSION TEACHERS AND CHANGE SCHEDULES/PULL OUTS AS NEEDED • LUNCH AND LEARN • RE-ARRANGE OUR LIBRARY PROCEDURES SO THAT ALL STUDENTS ARE READING LEXILE APPROPRIATE BOOKS ONLY • COMPASS IN COMPUTER CLASS POPULATED BY READING SCORES, PRESCRIPTIVE TO STUDENT BY STANDARD • SIOP COACHING (DISTRICT AND PEARSON)

  34. Bench 1 math 8 by ed groups

  35. Data Review – Language Arts Roosevelt Middle School October 10, 2013

  36. OCCTSY2011-12 vs. SY2012-13

  37. OCCTSY2011-12 vs. SY2012-13

  38. OCCTSY2011-2 vs. SY2012-3

  39. Writing Interventions • Every test in the school is required to have at least one short answer. • Short Answer Rubric. • School-Wide Paragraph Format. • Cross-curricular collaboration. • Research writing support from computer classes.

  40. School-Wide Paragraph Format

  41. Writing Interventions • Every test in the school is required to have at least one short answer. • Short Answer Rubric. • School-Wide Paragraph Format. • Cross-curricular collaboration. • Research writing support from computer classes.

  42. Total Reading Students Tested 97% of Roosevelt Middle School reading students were tested.

  43. 7th Grade ReadingBenchmark 1, SY 2013-4

  44. 7th Grade ReadingComprehensive Benchmark 1, SY2012-13 vs. SY2013-14

  45. 8th Grade ReadingBenchmark 1, SY 2013-4

  46. 8th Grade ReadingComprehensive Benchmark 1, SY2012-13 vs. SY2013-14

  47. Interventions • Focus on Foundational Standards • Test-Taking Strategies. • Exit Assessments • ACE Paragraph • OCCT-aligned multiple choice practice • Weekly test practice. • In-class Accountable Reading. • Differentiation • Independence • 25 Book Campaign • Tracking • Scales

  48. Focus on Foundational Standards

  49. Interventions • Focus on Foundational Standards • Test-Taking Strategies. • Exit Assessments • ACE Paragraph • OCCT-aligned multiple choice practice • Weekly test practice. • In-class Accountable Reading. • Differentiation • Independence • 25 Book Campaign • Tracking • Scales

  50. Test-Taking Strategies