slide1 l.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
2009 REPORT TO MEMBERS PREPARED BY BOD PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 21

2009 REPORT TO MEMBERS PREPARED BY BOD - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

2009 REPORT TO MEMBERS PREPARED BY BOD. 2009 Executive Board Members Officers Sharon A. Myers President Bill Whipple First Vice President, Co-Chair Industrial Affairs Committee Shawn Wilson Second Vice President, Co-Chair Awards/Scholarships and Membership/Member Services Committees

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about '2009 REPORT TO MEMBERS PREPARED BY BOD' - andrew

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript




2009 Executive Board Members


Sharon A. Myers President

Bill Whipple First Vice President, Co-Chair Industrial Affairs Committee

Shawn Wilson Second Vice President, Co-Chair Awards/Scholarships and Membership/Member Services Committees

Autumn Sellars Secretary, Co-Chair Awards/Scholarships Committee

Dale Brown Treasurer, Co-Chair Awards/Scholarships and Ways & Means/

Finance Committees

Committee Chairs

Rey Almodovar Co-Chair, Public Relations Committee

Phil Carey Co-Chair, Industrial Affairs Committee

Jan Eiras Past President

Dale Jobes Co-Chair, Programs Committee

Larry Lewis Co Chairs, Ways & Means/Finance Committee

Ben Lowe Co-Chair, Government Affairs

Steve May Co-Chair, Membership/Member Services Committee

Sarah Nelson Co-Chair, Programs Committee

David Phillips Co-Chair, Government Affairs Committee

Tracy Swayne Co-Chair, Public Relations Committee


2009 Programs

  • January Annual Business Meeting
  • February Ms. Jenny Hess, US Army Aviation and Missile Research Development & Engineering Center, “AMRDEC SDO”
  • March Colonel Olshefski, HQ AMC Forward and Ms. Giselle Whitfield, HQ AMC Office of Small Business Programs, “AMC HQ Involvement with Small Business”
  • April Mr. John Mayes, US Army Corps of Engineers, “US Army Engineering and Support Center and Small Business Contracting

2009 Programs

  • May Mr. Todd May, Special Assistant to the Director, MSFC, “NASA MSFC Update”
  • June BRAC panel discussion with Mr. Joe Ritch, Mr. Shar Hendrick, Dr. John Horack, Mr. Joey Skinner
  • July Annual business working luncheon for technical members
  • August Mr. Joseph Osborn, UAHuntsville PTAC/SBDC, “What We Can Do for You”

2009 Programs

  • September Awards Luncheon: Small Business Advocate Award for Excellence David Seitz $1,500 Scholarships to: Alabama A&M: Mr. Allen Manning Oakwood: Mr. Julian Waddell UAHuntsville: Mr. Corey Lee Morgan
  • October Ms. Nancy Small, Office of Small Business Programs, Army Materiel Command, “Small Business Update and Overview”

2009 Programs

  • November Ms. Valerie Hunter, Defense Acquisition University
  • December Senator Tom Butler, “Alabama and Congressional Update”











Technical Members

Honorary Members

Associate Members

Total Members

New Honorary Members

  • Women’s Business Center of North Alabama

New Technical Members

  • ALATEC, Inc.
  • APT Research
  • CoRe Solutions
  • F1 Solutions
  • Helionix
  • Interweave Technologies
  • Iron Mountain Solutions
  • KAYA Associates, Inc.
  • Leadership Strategies, Inc.
  • Metters Industries, Inc.
  • MTA, Inc.
  • MTSI, Inc.
  • nLogic
  • Trideum Corporation
  • WaveLink, Inc.

New Associate Members

  • Anglin, Reichmann, Snellgrove & Armstrong
  • Express Employment Professionals
  • First Commercial Bank
  • JANSON Communications
  • Progress Bank
  • Visium Resources
  • Warren, Averett, Kimbrough, & Marino LLC

Awards/Scholarships Committee

  • Committee Co-Chairs: Autumn Sellars and Dale Brown
  • Committee Members: Ben Cotton, Shawn Wilson
  • Key Accomplishments for 2009
  • Awarded $1,500 scholarships to one student each from Alabama A&M, Oakwood, and UAHuntsville
  • Awarded the 3rd annual Small Business Advocate Award for Excellence to David Seitz, Associate Director, Office of Small Business Programs, Aviation & Missile Life Cycle Management Command

Membership/Member Services

  • New member and renewal dues can be paid online via Paypal
  • Luncheon payments can be made online via Paypal
  • Created password-protected area of website where members in good standing (dues are current) can download luncheon speaker presentations
  • In the final stages of developing a HASBAT-sponsored Mentor Protégé Program

Programs Committee

  • Small Business Information Series
    • March 2009: Intellectual Property Issues and Government Contracting, Ann Dennen, Lanier Ford
    • May 2009: HR Trends for Small Business, Jamie Jones,Jamie Jones Consulting, and Allan Chappelle, ChappelleConsulting Group
    • July 2009: Drive Profitability by Taking Control of Your IndirectCosts, Jenny Clark, Solvability, Inc.

Programs Committee

2010 Luncheons

  • January 14 Annual Report to Members
  • February 4 National Center for Defense Manufacturing and Machining
  • Ideas for 2010 – DOE, ATF/FBI, FAA, NOAA, USACE ERDC, SBIR Panel, NASA Stennis, DCAA, TSWG, WBCNA
  • Let us know
    • Who you want to speak
    • What you want to hear at luncheons

Public Relations Committee

  • Key Accomplishments for 2009
  • 2009 Board of Directors Announcement published in the Huntsville Times
  • Seventh annual HASBAT scholarships awardees featured in Huntsville Times Pacesetters
  • Created photo galleries for monthly luncheons

Government Affairs Committee

2009 Accomplishments

  • Sharon A. Myers sent a letter introducing HASBAT to Governor Riley and all federal and state Senators and Representatives.
  • As a result of a board member meeting with Mr. Bruce Anderson, Alabama Development Office, we are compiling data on the number of prime and subcontracts held by members with various governmental agencies. Aggregated data will be presented to local, state, and federal government officials.
  • Board members met with Representative Parker Griffith to discuss items of interest to our members.
  • Board members met with Mayor Battle to discuss issues.
  • Arranged private meeting for technical member companies with Mr. Alan Chvotkin, Professional Services Council, for a briefing on small business contracting issues.

Industrial Relations Committee

  • Mission for 2009
  • Identify small business opportunities in North Alabama that members can use for economic development
  • Seek out and/or create opportunities to interface with government and industry representatives to promote HASBAT’s purpose

Industrial Relations Committee

  • Accomplishments for 2009
  • Two-pronged effort that sought to foster opportunities for HASBAT members with large businesses in the North Alabama region and to achieve leverage off regional conventions, conferences and other appropriate business events to promote HASBAT and its member companies
  • Committee members represented HASBAT at the NDIA Small Business Programs Conference (June 30—July 2, 2009)
  • Committee members conducted a campaign directed toward large business prime contractors on the AMCOM Express contract to raise awareness of HASBAT member companies’ capabilities

Industrial Relations Committee

  • Accomplishments for 2009
  • Participated in the office call with Representative Parker Griffith on November 24, 2009, in which matters of interest to small business were discussed