slide1 l.
Download
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
NYS BOATING LAWS PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
NYS BOATING LAWS

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 18

NYS BOATING LAWS - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 383 Views
  • Uploaded on

NYS BOATING LAWS NEW YORK STATE BOATING LAWS - 4/05 Presentation by: Binghamton's Susquenango Power Squadron Current Edition 12/2004 Final exam includes NY state specific questions AGE OF LEGAL BOAT OPERATION

loader
I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
capcha
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'NYS BOATING LAWS' - MikeCarlo


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
slide1

NYS BOATING LAWS

NEW YORK STATEBOATING LAWS - 4/05

Presentation by:Binghamton's SusquenangoPower Squadron

slide2

Current Edition

12/2004

Final exam includes NY state specific questions

slide3

AGE OF LEGAL BOAT OPERATION

1. To operate a boat in NYS without adult supervision individuals must be at least 18 years of age or have successfully completed a safe boating course and be between the ages of 10 and 18.

2. Individuals less than 18 years of age who have not successfully completed a boating safety course may only operate a vessel while under the direct supervision of an individual who is 18 years of age or older.

3. The required boating safety certificate must be carried by the minor at all times while operating the boat.

Page 39

slide4

BOATING WHILE INTOXICATED …

No one may operate a vessel on the waters of New York State while impaired or intoxicated by alcohol or drugs

  • It is illegal for any person with a blood or breath alcohol of 0.08 or higher to operate a vessel
  • Zero Tolerance: for those under 21 years of age; operating privileges will be revoked if caughtdrinkingwhile operating a vessel

Page 41

slide5

SERIOUS PENALTIES

  • Boating While Intoxicated
  • New York law prescribes heavy fines, imprisonment, and the suspension of operator privileges for violators.
  • In New York, if you are stopped for the suspicion of impaired operation and refuse to voluntarily submit to a breath test, your privilege to operate may be immediately suspended, pending a hearing.

Page 41

slide6

Type I

Off Shore

Type II

Near Shore

Type III

Inland

Type IV

Throwable

Type V

Special Use

Inflatable

PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICE (PFD)

1. All vessels must have one USCG approved wearable PFD for each person on board.

2. Vessels over 16 feet in length must have one additional

throwable type IV.

3.Children under the age of 12 must wear a PFD while aboard a vessel under 65 feet that is underway, unless the child is situated within a fully enclosed cabin.

4. Type V, or hybrid inflatable PFDs, must be worn to be acceptable. They do require a minimal amount of maintenance. Not recommended for water skiing, etc.

Page 20 - 23

slide7

DIVERS DOWN FLAG

  • The official flag, Alpha, is the internationally recognized indicator for all dive operations.
  • The other flag, "diver down", which is prescribed by the state, is a red flag with a white diagonal stripe.
  • Vessels must maintain a distance of at least 100 feet of any craft or object displaying either flag.
  • Must be taken down when divers/snorkels are not in the water.

Page 54

slide8

HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

1. All registered vessels must have

a HIN permanently affixed to the

transom in such a way that

removal, alteration, or replacement

will be obvious and evident.

2. Removal of a HIN is prohibited.

3. Vessels without a HIN can be assigned one by the

NYS Department of Motor Vehicles.

Page 9

slide9

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles

Receive number NY 1234 AB

One Character space

NY

  • Registration number display:
  • 3 inches or larger, contrasting color
  • On hull, near bow on both sides
  • Renewal sticker, good for 3 years, both sides, max. of 3 inches
  • aft of registration number

USPS - dedicated to making boating safer and more fun

9 / 58

REGISTRATION AND NUMBERING

Registration in New York

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles

Receive number NY 1234 AB

Page 8

slide10

REGISTRATION

  • Registration certificates must be available for inspection
  • aboard the vessel.
  • Vessels documented exclusively for pleasure and which operate principally within NYS, must apply to Motor Vehicles for a registration certificate and are required to display validation stickers.
  • Exempt from state registration: documented vessels operating commercially; vessels legally registered in another state (up to 90 consecutive days); lifeboats; competition race boats; & non mechanically propelled vessels.

Page 8

slide11

REPORTABLE BOATING ACCIDENTS

If you or your vessel are involved in an accident a report must be filed with NYS Parks within 5 days if:

1. Someone is killed or missing

2. Personal injury beyond first aid is sustained

3. Total property damage exceeds $1000

Local law enforcement must be notified immediately

Failure to report an accident may result in a $100 fine

Page 39

slide12

WATER SKIING

1. All persons engaged in water skiing must wear a USCG approved Type I, II or III PFD. An impact rated Type III is preferred.

2. Vessels towing water skiers must have an observer

who is at least 10 years of age.

3. May occur between sunrise and sunset, provided visibility is not reduced.

4. Effective 2002 - anyone towed by a vessel must wear a proper PFD.

Page 53 & 54

slide13

AQUATIC NUISANCES

To help prevent the spread of the

latest plague of non-native fish and zebra mussels in our waterways, boaters should follow these simple rules:

  • Trailer boaters should remove visible mud, plants, fish or animals from boats and trailers prior to transport to another body of water.
  • Scrape any mussels from boat or outdrive, and flush hull, bilges & water holding compartments with hot water (at least 120º F).
  • Do not release plants or fish, including bait, into a body of water unless it came out of that same body of water.

Page 6

slide14

AQUATIC NUISANCES

(Cont'd)

  • Pump fresh water through engines before leaving the area.
  • Drain live-wells, bait buckets, bilge and transom wells.
  • Remove water from trailer boats by removing the drain-plug and parking on an incline to facilitate draining.
  • Empty water out of kayaks, canoes, rafts, etc.
  • Let boat, PWCs, trailer and equipment dry for at least 5 days.

Page 6

slide15

PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (PWC)

  • Personal Watercraft are boats and must adhere to allboating laws.
  • After 1/1/04 all PWC operators are required to have completed an approved safe boating course
  • Specific requirements for PWCs:
  • Everyone on board or being towed behind a PWC must wear a US Coast Guard approved Type I, II, or III PFD at all times. Inflatable PFDs are not to be worn on PWCs. Impact rated Type III preferred.
  • A PWC may be operated only between sunrise and sunset providing visibility is not restricted.
  • No one under the age of 16 years may rent / lease a PWC.
  • An engine cutoff lanyard ignition safety switch, if so equipped, must be functional and attached to the rider.
  • Required equipment: horn or whistle, visual distress equipment and fire extinguisher.

Page 59 - 63

slide16

PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (PWC)

(Cont'd)

  • A PWC must be operated in a reasonable and prudent manner. It is illegal to:
  • Weave through congested waterway traffic.
  • Swerve at the last possible moment in order to avoid a collision.
  • Jump the wake of another boat or drive unnecessarily close to that boat.

The required boating education certificate must be carried by all PWC operators while operating the PWC.

Page 59 - 63

slide17

HOMELAND SECURITY MEASURES

  • Keep your distance from all military vessels, cruise lines, or commercial shipping:
    • All vessels must proceed at a no-wake speed when within a Protection Zone (which extends 500 yards around U.S. naval vessels).
    • Non-military vessels are not allowed to enter within 100 yards of a U.S. naval vessel, whether underway or moored, unless authorized by an official patrol. The patrol may be either Coast Guard or Navy.
    • Violating the Naval Vessel Protection Zone is a felony offense, punishable by up to six years imprisonment and / or up to $250,000 in fines.
  • Observe and avoid all security zones. Avoid commercial port operation areas. Avoid restricted areas near:
    • Dams
    • Power plants
    • Naval ship yards
    • Dry docks

Know and Avoid All Security Zones

slide18

NYS BOATING LAWS

END NEW YORK STATEBOATING LAWS